Say Hello to Our Apartment Calico Cat and More!

Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

I learned something new today. πŸ˜† Did you know there is a term for cats with tri-colored fur? Yes, calico cats have orange and black patches aside from being mostly white. Isn't that cool?

A decade or so ago my sibling fed a stray cat. (Well I only learned of it several years later when one cat became a problem. More on that later.) Since then this cute calico cat has stayed and lives within our apartment building. We are not allowed to have pets here but suddenly there was a cat hanging around. Haha. It had plenty of kitties over the years too! ❀

No we have not had it neutered since we do not own it. Not even its many children. Might sound irresponsible to those from first world countries but hey rats and mice don't get neutered even if they're pests. We have some mice coming indoors from time to time and rats seen in the streets sometimes too so no I would not get this cat neutered. πŸ˜…

Why just yesterday the glue board was able to finally catch a mouse! Hahaha!!! It just came indoors from I don't know where. Reminded me to finally take out the trash because it was probably attracted by it.

So anyway we don't even have a name for this calico cat. Maybe I will just call it Mommycat for this article's sake. Yes because it is the alpha cat around here since it is she who was first "granted" the "privilege" to live here. πŸ˜‚ I mean these animals are territorial so she holds the seat of power around here. πŸ˜†

2021 pics. Mommycat is more than 10 yrs old!

One day last month I actually thought Mommycat was dying because it was just lying around and looked like it was sick. Huhu. It was not moving at all unlike when I usually see it roaming around all the time.

This lovely and friendly feline greets me most of the time when I see it. But of course that's the reason why I got concerned that time because it was just lying on the ground for two days. Well not all the time but everytime I saw it on those days. I touched the cat before I left that day and felt relieved to know it was still breathing. ❀

Here's a picture of Mommycat back in 2016. Such a cutie. 😍

Such a well behaved cat.

Having Mommycat around is actually the first time I have encountered a Calico cat. Back in the province we only usually had the black and white tabby cats. My college classmate had a black cat and other tabbies. So when this cat arrived as a young one, I was pleasantly surprised to find it had three colors.

It's not everyday that I see this kind of colored cat. I prefer black and white tabbies though. This is why when Mommycat had that kind of kitten I grew fond of one of them. Here's the eventually spoiled daughter of Mommycat.

Pregnant and spoiled tabby cat.

I also don't have a name for this one. Actually this became a spoiled feline because I always fed it and even brought it inside the house! Mommycat wouldn't even dare go inside our house even if I open the door for it. But this cat had the guts and explored the house before I let it out. I guess that's when the problem started. πŸ˜‚

You see a few years ago we had an issue with some kind of animal pooping at our front door all the time. Eventually after a lot of months we found out it was this spoiled one that was doing the dirty deed. Ugh! From then on I stopped feeding any cat in the building. I even smeared this nuisance with it's own poop one time! Imagine cleaning up smelly poop everyday!!! 😑 What an annoying cat!!!

Since then I would threaten the culprit everytime I saw it. If it would come close to me I would shoo it away. It came to a point that I had to block parts of our floor's apartment gate openings and put a sign to always keep the gate closed otherwise it would poop on our front door everyday again!

Ugh cat shit smells so bad even the neighbors from next door apartments could smell it. I've seen all kinds from big blocky ones to wet disgusting ones. Yuck.

Do you know we always have a big plastic covering our front door area just to avoid it getting pooped on? It's like a floor diaper because some cats even pee on it! I don't know how many times I have replaced it! The culprit even taught some of its kittens to pee and poop there too!!! Grrr. Enough of this problem cat, I don't want to have bad vibes just by thinking about what it does.

Anyway I found out from the show My Cat From Hell that it was marking it's territory. It means she owns our unit or something. Ugh. My fault for bringing the cat inside our house huh? Good thing Mommycat is so well behaved that I still pet it everytime I see it around.

There has never been another calico cat around here. Even with the kittens it produced they were mostly black or orange tabby cats. Otherwise it would be solid black or just black and white.

I have never seen any calico kitten. πŸ€” Weird right? You'd think it being a calico it would produce the same kittens but no it has never happened. Or maybe I just didn't see all the kittens it made huh? πŸ€”

Even the spoiled cat produced baby tabbies and no calicos. It even had a male carbon copy black and white tabby child. That became my favourite too because it was so energetic and cute as a kitten! Here's a pic of tabby cat Jr. when it "suddenly" grew up.

Pic from 2020. This cat is missing now, like it's not coming here anymore. 😭

It became my next favourite cat because it was just full of energy always fighting with other kittens and cats. Haha. I would feed it and not it's annoying mom. Must be why it's not here anymore. Maybe when it grew up, it's mother the spoiled cat drove it away for territorial reasons. The b*tch. πŸ˜‚ I really hate that cat since I learned of its dirty deeds. Ah well...

And so Mommycat is still the queen of our apartment building. πŸ˜„ Her spoiled cat daughter is still around with its other children but I don't feed any of them anymore. I just mostly pet Mommycat because she likes to get cat massages. Haha.

I am its personal cat massager apparently. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ It would make me massage it's entire body everytime I pet it. πŸ˜‚ Sorry I don't have any video I can share because I haven't compiled any of them over the years. Hehe.

How about you, do you have any calico cat? Have you ever seen one personally? 😊

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

All images in this article are mine.

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Click here to join usΒ so you'll have some Bitcoin Cash too! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ as well!

9
$ 4.45
$ 4.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.04 from @Ayane-chan
+ 2
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

They look so adorable, I love seeing cats with a white fur, it drags my attention.... Here in west Africa cats with brown and black stripes are common and it's rae for you to see other colors... I have one too but she is still a kitten

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that's interesting to know. Maybe you will see a calico cat in the future, who knows... 😊 At least you already have a kitten.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yessy! My calico cat ako dzai at maldita maarte spoiled selosa 😹 Hindi magccr sa litterbox nila pag may bahid ng ihi litter sand. Ayaw din niya ng litter sand na walang scent. Nanabunot sa umaga at naninigaw na dapat linisin ko na ang litter box kapag di ako bumangon iihi sa foam sa gilid ko mararamdaman ko nalang maihi haha. Nasanay na ako sa amoy pero di siya kagaya ng amoy ng mga poop ng mga stray kasi cat food talaga nilalafang nila.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha kakaloka tlga mga pusa minsan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I like those calico. I have a tabby kitten. and I have a son of calico cat but he is without black spots.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh haha that's nice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang tanda na ni Mommycat...wow survive pa din hah i hate cat pee the most one of the reason why I don't have pets at home

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku jusko, ihi mapagtitiisan pa pero pag ebs na my gad nakakagalit tlga. πŸ˜‚ Kaya rin wla akong alaga kasi need pa i-train atbp. Tas d m maiwanan pag aalis ka. E di wow. Haha.

Tanda n nga ni Mommycat, buhay na buhay pa. Masaya naman ata siya tumira dito. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cu-cute naman nila sis..😍😍😍 Lalo na ying Calico cat..Hmm. Yung isa, meron ganyan marami dito sa lugar namin. Wala kaming alagang pusa, pero may pinapakain kami na alaga nang kapit-bahay namin. Hehe.(Skl)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe ganyan tlga pag ayaw mag-alaga, nagpapakain ng pusa ng iba or pusang gala. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cute ng color ng mga pusa mo sis, lalo na yun last photo...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhu iniwanan na nga ako. I feel like a parent na inabandona ng anak. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganyan talaga ang feeling,hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't imagine how much I love cats and even I own two pet cats in my own home.They are very polite and well manared

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? Good to know you have well-mannered cats. Must be dependent on the breed. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh now I know sis, you give me learning today about cats. Sadly, I'm not into about animals but Im open about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's OK if you're not into animals. You can just be friendly with other people's pets. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really love cats sis. I treat them also as my bestfriend. They are so sweet. Wherever you're going to take a nap, they will follow you and sit also beside you that's why I really love cats. I felt you sis, I cried a lot when my cats left me. It was so sad days.πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I like cats because they are cute and such stress relievers. I just miss that one cat that got away. πŸ˜†

Maybe I with cry too if Mommycat will die soon. Huhu. I don't want to think abt it yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know sis, you missed that cat already.

Yes don't think negative things sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago