Kombucha and Food Trip Weekend

8 42
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Have you ever tasted Kombucha? Do you know what it is? Well I didn't really bother knowing about it until someone gave me one. 😁

Let Me Tell You About Kombucha

Various websites online say Kombucha is basically a fermented mixture of black or green tea, sugar, yeast and bacteria. It is also said to be a health drink because of all the vitamins, probiotics and antioxidants that are produced from the fermentation. Would you believe it also has some caffeine?

This drink is believed to have originated in China around 220 B.C. and spread to Russia and other European countries. It is well known in China and was brought to Korea and Japan as well.

In the United States, it became popular during the '80s to '90s as an alternative "cure" for cancer and HIV/AIDS among other illnesses. During the 2010's it came under fire because products being sold in stores didn't indicate the alcohol content. Since then they've been able to regulate production and such so now more people are enjoying this drink.

Here in the Philippines I have not heard of any real craze about it. I do know there was some media hype several years ago. Checking online, it seems the local buzz about this ancient brew started around 2015.

Homemade kombucha.

I've also read articles from our many food and lifestyle online sites which dated back to 2017. It indicates the rise of the drink's popularity in our country around that time.

These days apparently it is easier to buy this concoction in a variety of flavors! There are several local brands of commercial kombucha drinks already being sold in selected stores and online shops.

Why Drink Kombucha?

Blame it on the pandemic but a lot of us have been buying more multivitamins and supplements now than before. We all don't want to get the Corona virus so of course we'd drink anything that can prevent us from getting sick.

On that note, the main reason people consume this ancient concoction is to have a healthier gut. Plus it is popularly touted as something that can strengthen the body's immune system. Oh hey we all know those are the magic words these days. Haha.

Even pre-COVID-19 for sure there are health buffs who swears this concoction is the best prevention and remedy for any illness. Can't argue with that even if there aren't any solid evidence of it's effectivity. Whatever works for us, right?

But of course as with anything, kombucha comes with a warning. Some people are allergic to it while others get all kinds of side effects. It really depends on our bodies so better be careful where you get this drink.

I'd rather buy those commercially sold in stores rather than make my own. Why? Some people get lead poisoning or bad bacteria/fungus by making kombucha on their own. I'm not one to experiment on my body at this age so it's better to buy the commercially produced products by trusted brands out there.

Do I Really Need To Drink Kombucha?

Since 2019 I already drink two all natural superfoods supplement: a 15-in-1 juice mix and 12-in-1 coffee. I wasn't really looking for anything new since I am a distributor of those health products. I've proven and tested both and even get each at a much lower price so why should I buy anything else? πŸ˜†

Why indeed would I need another health drink? Well why not when it supposedly has good bacteria like Yakult. I drink Yakult whenever I can so why not try another one like it, right?

No I did not go out of my way to buy kombucha. Actually I have never thought of drinking it until the opportunity arose. 😁 As mentioned, fortunately somebody gave me this can.

I did not even drink it immediately because I was on antibiotics for a week. Usually (this is common knowledge) after drinking antibiotics it is suggested to drink Yakult to get back some good bacteria in your body. You never know if they all died from the antibiotics you drank. πŸ˜‚ Of course I'm not a doctor so I'm just following what is commonly known and passed around since I don't know when.

As for you dear reader, I am not aware what kind of multivitamins or supplements you are taking. It may be enough or not, so it is your choice if you'd like to have a better one. If you decide to drink some kombucha and other health drinks after reading this then it's up to you. Hehe.

Disclaimer: I am not endorsing any kombucha products in this article so feel free to do your own research before buying anything. 😁

What Does Kombucha Taste Like?

Since I already have the can in the refrigerator I decided to finally drink it this weekend. Saturday afternoon while watching an episode of a Marvel Studios series I opened the can and tasted kombucha for the first time.

My first impression of it: kombucha tastes like a sour carbonated drink that's like ice cold beer but without the alcohol. Not sure if it's sour because of the lemon flavor or if that's really how it tastes like. I've read online that it is normally sour and carbonated because it is a fermented drink. Now I'm curious to know what the local version with the various flavors tastes like. πŸ€”

Anyway I found that I could not drink this sour concoction like beer. I usually "drink beer like water" even if it's bitter or sweetly bitter due to any added fruit flavor. Unfortunately for me kombucha needs to be paired with something in order to be consumed. I had to buy some chips even while watching a show on the computer. πŸ˜‚ It doesn't taste bad but I can't drink everything in one sitting without something to go with it.

Because one pack is not enough. Haha.

While outside I also had the chance to buy an ube (purple yam) scramble. Yummm. It's an ice scramble or local frozen dessert (street food) with shaved ice, milk, and other ingredients depending on the seller (marshmallows, chocolate syrup, sprinkles, etc.). A street vendor was near the sari-sari (variety) store where I bought the chips. Haven't eaten any scramble for months so I got myself a P20 one. Hehe.

Actually I ate that before I continued drinking the kombucha. Maybe I just had to wash the sour taste from my mouth that's why I bought it out of the blue. Hahaha.

Anyway what does the liquid inside the can look like? Well here's a picture for you. I put a bit in a glass just for illustration purposes.

No it doesn't taste like vinegar, that one can slightly burn your mouth and throat. Kombucha is just sour and tolerable. It seems like you're drinking softdrinks but it's not sweet at all.

Would I drink it again? Well I'd taste other brands and flavors, that's for sure. When I'd do that is the question though. Haha.

How about you, have you tasted any kombucha or are you a regular drinker? If yes, what do you think of it? If no, would you dare try it?

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

Sources (some article titles have been truncated/slightly altered for brevity):

Lead image and other images from Unsplash unless watermarked.

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Come join us! Let's microblog onΒ noise.cashΒ too!

5
$ 3.28
$ 3.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.03 from @Ellehcim
+ 5
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
2 years ago

Comments

I wish the drink is in my location here, and this is my first of hearing this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh maybe there's someone selling near you. Who knows? You might be surprised hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never had that drink. I didn't know it existed either. But I don't think I'll be drinking that for now. I'm really bad for strange flavors because I do the Garcia effect. Thanks for the very detailed information you mentioned in your valuable post.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I am not aware of the Garcia effect. πŸ€” It's alright there are plenty of other health drinks anyway. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love kombucha! Always think making it yourself looks a bit like you have a placenta floating in a big glass pot hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I have never tried making one. Some say it looks like a mushroom but placenta can work too. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never heard of Kombucha yet, until thus article. I think I'd rather not try that one. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha it's a sour health drink.

$ 0.00
2 years ago