How I "Survived" a Week Without Internet

Avatar for LucyStephanie
1 year ago

Our internet was finallly restored yesterday. On the morning of November 1st suddenly the WiFi stopped working for some reason.

At first I thought maybe my sibling didn't pay the bills. Inquired and sent a message thru Facebook (FB) but didn't get a reply until a day after with a repeat question. Good thing there's free FB or else I wouldn't be able to communicate to the online world.

Yeah of course I have my mobile phone, I could call/text anyone to ask them for updates but why should I when I can still go online? Not entirely but it's still better than nothing. I did not even bother spending money and buying prepaid load for data. Na ah. πŸ˜†

Pffft, and then I find out even our landline phone didn't have any dial tone for god's sake. Makes me wonder how much copper wires are sold for. Why would anyone steal it for a (probably) measly sum of money? Egads.

Then again, maybe it is a synchronized attack against PLDT (one of the national telephone/internet provider). Why the heck did it happen "all over" the country then? Ok that's probably an exaggeration but a friend of mine made a comment on my FB post about it happening in their area too. And that's in Visayas! (I'm in Metro Manila.)

PLDT should report this to the police so they can do a thorough investigation. Unfortunately I won't expect much from our Third World Country. πŸ˜” I have already lost faith in it since the new president got sworn in. God have mercy on our country and the people. πŸ™

Ehermmm. As I was saying... on November 1st I only had FB working on my smartphone. All the other online apps were useless. What else was I supposed to do? My job is primarily online so I guess it was time for a vacation!? Hahaha.

No I wasn't able to go to the beach. It's pathetic when I feel like I don't have any money to spend on traveling to various provinces. I mean I could but I chose not to. Did I wallow in self pity for one week then? Of course not!

Once I got confirmation from my sibling that everything was paid on time I immediately called the PLDT hotline. Good thing it's free to call them on my mobile phone. On November 2, as mentioned, I discovered the landline was out too! Egads.

The next day I was hearing some people talking about Fiber cables and internet outside our apartment. Also heard about someone not having any online access and people stealing copper wires or something. Hmmm... πŸ€” Apparently there were technicians putting Fiber internet wires in our building. Interesting.

My sibling asked me to contact the internet company to ask for a Fiber upgrade too. Called the hotline only to be told it's already upgraded since Dec 2021. Huh??? That's weird because nobody came inside our house to change any wires. πŸ€”

Long story short, the internet technicians assigned to us came by on Friday, Nov 4. Was told our line was still made of copper. Well well well, summady was either lying or misinformed.

Eventually as I mentioned I am again back in touch with the online world since yesterday morning! Ah, happiness...?

Probably would have had it sooner if I woke up earlier on Nov 6 and if the technicians called my phone. They were supposed to upgrade our connection on Sunday but I was sound asleep until after lunch. πŸ˜‚

Wait I haven't told you what I did for an entire week! πŸ˜‚ Nah don't get excited or anything. I didn't do much actually. I just wasted 6 days doing nothing. Ah life, my precious life was spent just by staying at home. πŸ˜† 😒

I did play a mobile game most of the time. Of course I also watched some movies that I saved years ago. Well actually a series of videos of Harry Potter film specials. Hahaha. Finally I was able to watch EVERYTHING! β™₯

But of course what else could I watch on my computer afterwards? Well there's one movie I never really felt like watching at all for years for some reason. Everybody seems to be in praises after watching it but I didn't feel the same way at the ending.

Amelie is supposedly a great film but at the last scene I was like... that's it??? That's all there is to it? Goodness gracious. πŸ˜‚

No I did not read any review or watch its trailer as usual. How could I when I had no WiFi. Of course I also watched some videos on Facebook but I didn't think of checking anything about it.

I watched without expecting much aside from how great Amelie is supposed to be. Sorry but it is quite pointless imho. Yeah there were parts of it that's good but I could have spent my time rewatching a different movie instead. It's simply just not my cup of tea.

Did I spend my whole week at home? Haha, I went out only once actually. Hey it's rainy season come on. Didn't want to go out whenever it rained.

Eventually I thought I should go somewhere without any purpose whatsoever. It's not everyday that I go out for no reason. Tjen again, I haven't seen the newest LRT 2 station in Antipolo so off I went to go there.

Screenshot of a GMA News FB post from last year.

This was still on November 4th. In the afternoon I traveled to Rizal province and back. What did I see and do there? Well as I gazed outside the moving light rail train overlooking the suburbs, I saw a big cross. Oh hey look a church was very near the Antipolo train station. Awesome.

Nope didn't check the nearest mall despite it's bright holiday lightning because all malls are the same anyway. What's new. Lol. Might as well check out that church instead, it looks like a big one from up there.

Voila!

Did you know, there are even 3 sacred relics inside?! Whoaaa! Sadly I didn't take any closer look because there was some kind of mass going on. Actually I don't think it was a mass but just something like it. I didn't bother asking anyone.

Screenshot of photos I took of the church, (except bottom right square).

Anyway that's all. Nothing really exciting or life changing happened to me for a whole week. No property client contacted me or replied back. Nothing. Seemed like everybody was still on vacation mode. πŸ˜‚

That's how I spent my week offline, doing nothing. Eating, sleeping, watching, lying down and nothing. Haha. Do I feel relaxed and happier at all? Not really.

Remember I wrote about that incident where there was a storm and I slipped? Yeah I got a knee wound and right below it the flesh got swollen so I had a good week to rest too. Not bad huh?

Egads, I should hit the beach before the year ends. Huhu. I dunno. πŸ€”

How about you? Can you last a week without internet? Maybe your days would be more productive than mine eh? πŸ˜‚

XOXO,

@LucyStephanie

* * *

Lead image and uncaptioned/unwatermarked photos are from Unsplash. All other photos are mine.

Not a member of read.cash yet?Β Click here to join usΒ in earning BCH! Let's microblog or just blabber onΒ Noise appΒ too!

4
$ 0.82
$ 0.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @esmeesmith
$ 0.02 from @SuperJulalaine
+ 1
Sponsors of LucyStephanie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LucyStephanie
1 year ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

hahaha sissy ang dami mong kwento hahaha! Nakakatuwa. Nakaka stress pag walang net ano. Kasi parte na sya ng buhay natin at dyan tayo kumukuha din ng kikitain, kaya lagi din akong may ready na pang load, kasi part time ko nasa online , just in case wala si post paid.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. Pero d n lng ako nagpa-stress dahil sa tuhod kong pinapagaling haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't get rid of the smartphone and internet. my whole work and the people are connected with it. Its going to be hard.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah yes, such is life these days.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May SM and Decathlon store jan malapit sa Lrt Antipolo bhieee. Masarap mag window shopping sa Decathlon hahahha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha meron ba Decathlon dun? D ako pumasok tlga kasi mapapagastos. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yaz gorl tambay kami ng asawa ko doon ih hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay kaya pala hehehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hirap na masaya 🀣. Bakit ba dapat copper? Free pala tumawag from mobile phone to landline customer service o sa mga post paid lang?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Free un kahit prepaid ang alam ko. Try nyo 171.

Hehe ewan ko din why copper. Baka kasi maganda ang conductive properties. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay thanks sa tips. Dial 171 from mobile phone and may prompts na? Ty.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup, easy lng. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago