The School I Teach At And The Situation In The Country

12 35
Avatar for Lucifan
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Comedy

Hello guys how are you today? Hope all is going well with you? I've been busy with life and I expect it's been the same for you too. Just try to take today to rest. I care.

Today, I'll be telling you what's been up with me and a little bit about the situation in my God forsaken and lawless country.

As you guys know, I work in a school as a teacher. I teach the English language. I was also teaching computer at some point, but I was relieved by some corp members. I work there as a part time teacher. I only go to school on days when I have work to do unlike other teachers who have to stay all day from eight in the morning till three in the afternoon.

Now, on the outside, even though the pay is small (twenty thousand naira which is less than thirty five dollars a month), all still seems peaceful. But things in this country aren't ever as peaceful as they seem. For example, we've not been paid since November last year when they paid us last. The school should have paid for January by now, but they aren't even talking about December's salary! This is absurd on so many levels and inhumane. And this is almost a norm in the country because there aren't many better options, and compared to some other places of work, we seem to be doing relatively fine. My girlfriend has had to constantly send me money so that I can feed and transport myself to the same school that doesn't pay. My parents also help too. I had written my resignation letter since the tenth of this month giving them a month's notice of my resignation. All that's happening makes me feel a lot better about my decision. I'm glad I'm going to be leaving and have a chance to do better things with my life.

I can't overstate how grateful I am too this wonderful platform for just being a ray of hope in this trying times. I am grateful also to the creators of the platform for doing such a fantastic job.

It's the situation in this country that makes me sit back some days, think about everything and you don't know when two or three bottles just get emptied in least than a few minutes. Especially in some sunny days. I tell you guys, coke is such pure joy. Especially on sunny days. Don't get me started on the sun. It threatens to roast you right where you stand. The sun here is insane!

Another thing in happy about is the people I met on read when I first came. They were so nice and it felt good to have friends in other countries. I think that's so cool. Thanks you all for being nice. It's a pleasure to have you as friends.

Thanks for always reading my articles my friends. Especially when they are this boring and don't say much about coke as you guys like to hear me talk about coke. I appreciate everything you do to support me. Thanks for always being there for me. You're awesome guys.

9
$ 0.11
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.02 from @Rezanur
+ 2
Sponsors of Lucifan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lucifan
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Comedy

Comments

Dear Lucifan, it is extremely cowardice that they haven:t given you a salary for these few months, you have made the right decision, I hope you can find a place that deserves you. You are definitely a kind and loving teacher that your students love you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww... Thanks friend Ellen... Hope life is easier in Iran???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's better you leave since there is no hope for payment. God will provide you with a better job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen.. Thanks for commenting namesake... Very much appreciated...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's bad of that school. I know things are hard and they management of the school are maybe trying to save and cover some expenses to meet up, but that doesn't warrant them to owe more than a month(if at all). So bad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah man... But you're in the country... Things are crazy everywhere... Lol... Hope your end isn't that bad though???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I Am proud of you mate. You teach the English language. it's really good job. My country Situation is bad now. My son school is closed already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww... So so sorry... When will the school resume again???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry about all you're going through, I believe things will get better for you soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah they will... I'll drink till that day,,, in they day and after that day... Cheers mate!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can understand this, teaching can be difficult but society doesn't place enough value on education especially in private schools. Most people don't realize the blessings that come with this platform, I'm glad you have and are making good use of the opportunity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks greatwolfman... You're really nice... Thanks for commenting too...

$ 0.00
2 years ago