(now) A List Of Things To Do To Become A Better Guitarist

17 30
Avatar for Lucifan
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Guitar

Hello guys. How are you doing? Hope you're fine. I hope your days have been better than mine. These days, since the relapse, I've found myself taking drugs (prescribed drugs) that have highly sedative contents. I've lost interest in almost everything that used to interest me. This includes food, drinks, games, novels, etc. So I think what I'm trying to do is basically sleep myself to health.

I probably should be bothered about this, but the truth is every year for the past four years have been like this. Everything I'm experiencing now is familiar. The cold weather, the euphoria, and the loss of interest in almost everything, the irrational fear that prevents me from even practicing. Everything is familiar.

Anyways, the title promised you something. Tips on how to be a better guitar player. Let's get right to it.

1) Practice At All Times

This is the singular greatest advice anyone can give you. There's no such thing as too much practice. Don't be deceived, every great guitarist became what they are by power of sheer practice. There's no such thing as talent in guitaring, only practice. I'll start mentioning a few familiar names now.

I) Jimi Hendrix.

This guy to some people is considered the ultimate rockstar. But what you won't know is that he practiced 8 hours every day, and took his guitar wherever he went. I'll throw in a little fun fact here. He had perfect pitch. So the first time he bought a guitar and wanted to tune it, he just walked into the guitar shop, played all the strings, and went home to tune it. Also, he did this because he didn't have money for a tuner, so even Hendrix was broke at some point in his short life.

2) Tommy Emmanuel

You never see any records of school in this guy's biography. What we know about him are the stories he tells all the time. When he was six, he heard Chet Atkins play on the radio and he knew chet Atkins was doing everything on one guitar at once. He heard Chet play a song called windy and warm. He went to figure out things for himself and only decided to meet Chet when he was twenty years old!!! He practiced for fourteen good years!!!! And it wasn't until he was around forty years or so that he decided to go everywhere alone with an acoustic guitar as a solo player.

3 George Harrison of The Beatles!!!

This guy prescribed till his hands bled. I personally don't think it's achievable based on the fact that at some point when I was starting, I practiced eight to twelve hours a day and my hands would hurt, but would not look like they were anywhere near close to breathing. So this guy basically practiced till the impossible happened! This is the story I'm least sure of. It happened with a beatle, that much in sure of, but I'm just about seventy percent sure it was George Harrison. But the point is still the same. Practice!!!!

4 Every other good guitarist that has amounted to anything!!!

The point is just practice!!

The ten thousand hour rule says that to be proficient at anything, do it for ten thousand hours. This is three hours a day for a little over nine years. For guitarists to get to works standard, they usually have put in twenty five thousand hours!!!

So guitar requires time, dedication, devotion, passion, and pretty much every other thing that's not your soul! In fact people who got very good have been rumored to have sold their souls to the devil just to get good (you can try checking out a guitarist called Robert Johnson). The guitar is simply that hard!!!

6
$ 0.73
$ 0.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.02 from @Kristofferquincy
+ 3
Sponsors of Lucifan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lucifan
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Guitar

Comments

Wow I can see you want to be a guitarist anyway I am not good with guitar I want to be a saxophone player I know more about saxophone may we all achieve our musical dreams 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What country are you though???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am from Nigeria

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also from Nigeria!!! What state are you at???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am from ekiti state but I stay in ogu State

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also in Ogun state!!!! Should we meet??? I may be able to learn one or two from my boss!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay where do you live

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I stay at rounder... After lafenwa... You???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I stayed in oyero road may be you should WhatsApp me : 08157741728

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen to that brother!!!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are absolutely right, dear Lucifan, I have also heard that playing the guitar is very difficult, and it really takes time and practice...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Playing the guitar is not my thing and it never will.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then what is????

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah, this is insane! Guitarists really do put a lot of work to hone their skills. You also did 8 to 12hrs a day? That's very impressive, I can't wait till you're just as big as these guy!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks!!!! I hope I'll get there one day... And I hope you'll get to the top of whatever you do too my friend...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago