(Not) A List Of Things To Do To Become A Successful Guitarist

13 31
Avatar for Lucifan
2 years ago
Topics: Life

Hello guys how have you been doing? Hope it's still fun wherever you are? Do take care of yourselves how you know to do. I'm grateful to ask who have renewed their sponsorships. I wish you best of luck in all your endeavors you're all awesome.

Today I'll be teaching you what to do to become a successful guitarist... Or would I??? Nah. It's much more fun to tell you what not to do first. If you eliminate all the wrong things, all you have left is right (yes, all puns intended).

Let's get to it guys.

1) Tell yourself you can't do it

You should never ever do this. This is the singular biggest step to failing at playing the guitar or even at anything. Overcoming many challenges in life usually starts with a battle of the mind. The moment you start believing you can't do a thing, then you start failing. If you go into a practice session bearing in mind that you can't accomplish a particular thing, then you would see every normal difficulty as further proof that you're no good. This will discourage you until you start asking yourself "why bother"and after this you fall hopelessly into despair and give up. This is not all there is too this, but I'll need infinite time just to explain everything about telling yourself you can't do something. That being said, just trust me, and don't do this -at least not before trying long enough. If you can hold the guitar, then you can do it. The only people that can say they can't do it are the handicapped, and even they are wrong! So you have no excuse at all. Week had disabled guitarists throughout history. The most notable being Django Reinhardt. You can check him up.

2) Get sloppy with practice

You should also never do this of you can help it. Nothing is ever too simple. There's no minimum standard, so you must practice every song or technique -anything at all- till you're perfect at it and can deliver it a thousand percent of the time. You must put in diligently your ten thousand hours and more (for a guitarist to reach world class, you may need twenty five thousand hours). Always, always practice with our without a guitar.

3) Grow fingernails on the left hand

This is so obvious you'd think. But you'd be surprised at how many people try to pull this off. It's like telling an astronaut not to wear just singlet and pants to space! How do you want to fret the strings properly? Please, desist from these kind of acts that could easily get you a knock on the head when I'm around. I'm just joking. I don't knock people, but I get heavily tempted when I feel that are forcing me to state the obvious.

4) Compare yourself to others

You can do this if you want to die of a heart attack!!! That your friend gets it in one try doesn't mean you're slow. It doesn't even mean he has more talent than you or even that he put in more work.

The guitar is so wide, that some people are more attuned to certain aspects. You may get a jazz concept faster than your friend who appears to be a fingerstyle wiz! Sit back, study yourself, practice as much as you can, and focus on your strengths and you passion.

Maybe tomorrow, I'll tell you what to do ... Or not...lol...

Thanks for reading guys. You're awesome! Much love!

6
$ 0.99
$ 0.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Mazekin
+ 2
Sponsors of Lucifan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Lucifan
2 years ago
Topics: Life

Comments

At one point of my life I wanted to know how to play a musical instruments but there wasn't time immediately I finished secondary school I gained admission

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's never too late my friend... You'd be surprised what ten minutes a day could do for you...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Lucifan, you have mentioned some interesting points, one question, do you mean that nails don't need to be trimmed, or should they be trimmed?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right nails can be left to grow... But left nails should be trimmed..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I got it, and if we are left-handed, we should do the opposite...?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah!!!!! Sorry... I didn't consider left handed people... But my advice is to always play like a right handed...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, your advice was very good, thank you dear friend...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My hobby since childhood was to be a good guitarist. That didn't happen. It would be better if I could. Because you explained that you would be beautiful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's never too late!!! Thanks for reading and commenting Maze!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 As usual, I love your articles!! And these are very good tips. I learnt the part about nails the hard way (you'd think it should have been obvious). I still can't play though haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol... I'm happy you liked my article!!! Thanks for reading and commenting!!!! You're incredible!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always had a passion for that. But somehow gave up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww... I guess life happens... Sorry about that...

$ 0.00
2 years ago