What's the Hardest Battle Comes in Our Mind

40 89
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

I was watching some videos online when I came to a very short horror story wherein the protagonist seeing the picture in her room moving. I was in primary when I also encounter this one, I even dream about it at night and since my parents ignore what I am saying, then I usually share it to my friends and favorite uncle. According to them, maybe it's just my guardian angel or just a spirit wants to ask for help.

As of now, I still don't know the answer since after we change the position of our house it fades; maybe it's just my imagination or trick of the eyes.

________________________

I have read the story The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman, it is all about a woman who's name is Jane and his husband named John.

This couple when to a mansion for vacation, the view outside was really good; there are beautiful flowers and trees. But then, John chose the room upstairs where they can stay.

Jane was aware that there was a problem about her, she told her husband about it which is a doctor, but he didn't believe her because he doesn't see any symptoms. John concludes that Jane is just going through a phase of despair, or a temporary depression. Because John is a manipulative husband, he forbade Jane from doing any job and just allowed her to stay in the room as her medication.

Unsplash - Bekky Bekks

Inside the room there was a yellow paper that gives irritation to Jane. She told his husband to remove it, but since John is thinking that it's just waste of time, then he told Jane to ignore it. Jane keeps on staring at the yellow wallpaper, until she saw a woman standing inside it when the lights hit it. She again told his husband on what she saw, telling him that it's haunted but still her husband ignore it.

Days passes by, Jane still keeps on looking at the wallpaper wondering what the woman is doing there. When she go downstairs she can still smell the scent of the wallpaper, thinking that the woman is following her.

The medication made by John isn't helping Jane's mental health; she's already hallucinating, but John chose to ignore it. At last, it just worsen Jane's situation.

Fast forward..

On their last day in the mansion, Jane's husband was attempting to enter the room while Jane locked herself inside. She throws the key outdoors, but still tells her husband, John, where he can find it. Jane was already creeping when her husband finally opened the door, she already crumpled and torn the wallpaper believing that the girl on it will be set free. Jane now is completely insane, while her husband is became unconscious.


The story of The Yellow Paper represents a lot of symbolism, if we are going to critique the whole piece we can understand that it doesn't only depicts a normal scenario or a horror story but freedom, face of society and many more. But if we look on the literal outcome of it, the story shows that the more we ignore the condition, the more it worst.

What I want to convey here is that we have the capacity to know whether we are doing good or not. Why I understand some teenagers who prefer to run in their friends than family because, usually the family ignore while the friends listen and give some advice. To experience stress is hard, how much more the depression; it involves hallucination and bad habits.

At last, we should know how to observed on the people around us especially our love ones. Most people don't need some advices but just a person who knows how to listen. Mental health is very important, let's choose to have and help to spread mental health awareness than ignoring it's importance.

________________________

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

Flexing my sponsors, people who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)


Images were edited using Canva/PicsArt

read.cash|Telegram|gmail

March 26, 2022

-Ling

29
$ 6.85
$ 5.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.06 from @TheGuy
+ 22
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Depression is really a serious thing. I am saddened to hear and to know that there are lots of people who has depression. My heart is for them. I hope them all to be healed.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Hap
2 years ago

How thoughtful you are, you even brought a lesson from a horror story. I like horrors.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad that you like it:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Communication is indeed very important, it saves or kills lives depending on how well and not well we use

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also think of that why some people prefer to expose their sentiment cause they know that real friends will embrace them and comfort. Parents, sometimes they are protagonist to children and that child hesitate to expose their problem cause they know they'll be scolded.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we have to listen and somehow believe them for sometime specially if we knew that they are suffering something, like depression. Ignoring them makes them sick more and the thoughts that we think that was best for them isn't actually the best choice for them, and so we should listen and understand.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Right Sis, this is what happened in the story. Getting the situation worst.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We keep preaching about mental health and people still ignoring. Little checks, observation and attention to that little signal can go a long way to curb such problem. Everyone should be Keen to this, it doesn't only means parents to children or husband to wife, we can be a good listener to anybody around us and put a check on any weird situation

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree on you. There's a lot of program, symposium, books, shows, etc. talking about mental health but still most people ignore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just moved my head left to right. You memorized me my some old moments.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh really? What's all about it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having an open and constant communication is a must and should be encouraged. Also it should be effective where both sides are heard.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I watch such movies I will have a tough time moving around dear friend. But it is for sure that if family ignore what we say we take the help of friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sangat menarik, kesehatan mental memanglah penting, ketika seseorang memiliki keluhan namun tidak ditanggapi oleh orang terdekatnya rasa kesendirian dan tertekan itu datang. Itu sangat berpengaruh sekali untuk kesehatan jiwa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great story! Not in my mind but in my life. The hardest battle I've been in my life is when my family was broke and then sadly I got positive in covid 19. But I'm thankful cuz I'm okay now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm happy to know that you are able to overcome it. Have a good day Ionic:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks! You too, Ling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing, sis. Mental health is an awkward topic, especially for the old generation that is why they usually dismiss their kids when they talk about some issues. Anyways, that wasn't a horror movie but I didn't really wanna imagine it lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I actually didn't narrate it well Sis, that's why it's not that scary, but the original piece is scary haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was scary na for me lol :) Maganda naman ang pagkanarrate mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every time I heard of a fierce battle, I thought of 1965 and the 1971 war and this is what happened in Pakistan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

--Why I understand some teenagers who prefer to run in their friends than family because, usually the family ignore while the friends listen and give some advice--- The feels, as if your family didn't go through teenage years. And just as you thought that you are okay, trauma built over the years, hatred built over the times that family didn't listen... haaaaaaaay.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sinabi mo pa, sobrang hayy talaga. Lucky for those who are able to cope up, but if not mental problems talaga kalalabasan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Boo! I'm actually a ghost wandering in this platform. I will haunt you all in your every posts and dreams reading this comment. Don't believe me, wait for the night. Today I will come for you:) all. Yeah with today's busy life we tend to ignore our mental health and and we don't check or try to remove the small things disturbing us which later on blow us like a disaster.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gosh, you shouldn't be TheGuy but TheGhost haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree sis. Mahirap pag stress pano pa kaya kung depress ka. Mas malala yun. Dapat ingat natin self natin if pababayaan natin lalala ang sitwasyon kaya bigyan pansin ang condition natin. Mental health is really important talaga sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True, habang may chance pang agapan dapat pagtuunan na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The warning signs are always there but most times, parents and spouse like John do ignore it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, that's the usual thing most people do, that's why end up suffering mental problems.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No or wants to be ignored, especially by those who claim to love us. Loneliness is a disease, which can cause anything including suicide.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True, those who commit suicide, are those who just want to end their loneliness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, I completely agree with you. Maybe that's why people are more attracted to their friends than their family, which is why they are less ignored by their friends. The more the psychological problems are ignored, the more severe they become.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me make family together. Now a days its too hard

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Especially when you came to a family who doesn't used to show love:(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am talking about after married life. After marriage mostly wife doesn't like to stay in join family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mental health is on my top list, sis. I know how dark to live in there. Been there to hell and back myself. It was real.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Congrats for defeating it Sis, I know that you're a strong woman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The closest people can take care of themselves, take care of everything. That is why we should take good care of our loved ones. If we can't bind ourselves to love from very close, then all the failures are to make ourselves beautiful if we want to make life beautiful.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think you're pointing about taking care of our love ones as a priority, and yes you're right; not just a family by name but by actions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I say in caring for our loved ones, because we spend time with our loved ones all the time. If the people we love are healthy, we will be healthy too. Many happy times in life can be spent if the people in love become caring for each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago