The Girl in the River

20 51
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Gonna share again a spooky yet mysterious story for this day/night. I was very interested about this kind of stories, so readers bear with me. Seems like I'm going to be a Lola Basyang in read.cash. But I hope you will find this story interesting.

So this story was based on the experience of my father when he was a kid.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

But first, let me Flex to you my sponsors, one of those persons who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

The Girl in the River

Unsplash - by Becca Tapert

My father has seven siblings, and each one was assigned a task. One is responsible for fetching water, another is for feeding their animals, another for assisting my grandmother in their mini sari-sari store, another for assisting my grandfather in fishing, while my father is responsible for washing the dishes. This are their morning routine while those other siblings don't have task to do yet, since they are just 5 years old and younger.

They used to wash their laundry and dishes in the river. There was an old style-water pump in their area, but because there are so many people in line, it takes so much time for their morning task that they prefer to go in the river, which is a little further away from their house. When my father turned ten, my grandmother told him he could go by himself because he already knew what to do and where to go. My father does not want to agree, but he has no choice because he does not want to be beaten by his father.

Another day has passed, and it is only my father who go in the river. He doesn't want to go alone in that river because there are a lot of big trees and no one lives there. It was a quiet spot away from the houses, so if they were washing there, they could do so alone.

Unsplash - by Jonny Gios

When he arrived in the river, he dropped his basket of dishes and clothes, and began to wash it. Then he noticed a beautiful girl(my father even said that, she is a look a like with one of the actress in that time.) My father was thinking that maybe that girl is from another part of their place, why he is unfamiliar with her. But then my father noticed that the girl was staring at him; he was confused, but he tried to ignore the girl and go home after washing.

Another morning has come, and my father went to the river with his basket of dishes once more. While washing, he noticed that the girl had returned and was staring at him from a distance. He was terrified and needed to get home as soon as possible. At night, he told my grandmother that he did not want to go back into the river. My grandmother asked him why, and he simply stated that he is not at ease in the environment. My grandmother agreed, but he would have to get up much earlier to be the first one to use the old style-water pump.

My father did not go in the river the next morning and instead washed the dishes in the water pump, which was about a 15-20-minute walk. He then returned home to assist with other household chores. But in that night, he began to feel ill, and it worsened day by day, to the point where he thought he was going to die. Then the other night, when grandma was busy preparing dinner for him in the kitchen. He is the only one in their room when he heard a lot of noise, and when he opened his eyes, he noticed a lot of people staring at him.

They are like knights in a kingdom, they are wearing golden clothes with a big belt. They have armors, just like what you have seen in tv.

And then I saw that girl in the river, staring at me in a very nice dress; I believe she is the queen or princess of their kingdom. They are attempting to get me until I begin to float. I was shouting, but I couldn't hear myself. I float until I rich the top of our ceiling, and then your grandmother enter.

-Author's father, 2021

When my grandma enter the room, she touch my father who are still lying in bed, and shout to call my grandpa, as my father was already having a high fever and start with convulsion. Hospital is not common in there, so they bring my father to a folk healer. The old woman told them that there is a strong element who wants to get my father, and this element was watching my father for a long time. The old woman told them the things that they need to do to heal my father. They made some rituals and offerings until my father get better. From that day, they didn't back in the river and didn't saw the girl in the river again.

________________________

Lead image was edited using Canva

****

Author's Love Message :

Hello lovely readers!

How was your first day of the month? Finally it's Ber-months, I'm not gonna share Christmas articles for now, saving it for a much nearer months, but I'm happy to read some articles about it.

Also I have seen and met a lot of newbies here, so welcome and I wish you luck in this wonderful platform.

GOD Bless!

Sending hugs.

September 1, 2021

-Ling

14
$ 5.63
$ 5.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 8
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Nung unang panahon madami talagang mga kababalaghang pangyayari sis..kahit tatay ko madami ding karanasang ganito,naranasan nya ding habolin ng santelmo sa probensya namin nung kabataan nya..madami din siyang kwento sa amin mga di pangkaraniwang karanasan..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ayaw ko katalaga tong santelmo at kabaong na humahabol Sis, spirit naman talaga sila pero hihimatayin ka sa takot.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaahaha oo sis.. kahit kwento nga lang ng tatay ko un eh natakot na ako..pano pa kaya pag ako ung nakakita..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

happens a lot in the provinces but sometimes even in the city, because unknown entities are everywhere.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree that they are everywhere, I even experience it :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It feels more like a movie scene though it was real and too much suspense.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

For sure, if this become a movie it will be called fictional

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg! Marami talaga nito sa amin din lalo nat probinsya. Katakot. I hope your dad's fine now.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oo nga Sis, parang common na sa kanila. He is fine now, this was during his childhood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feary and frightening!!! Loved this one. Yes, we are surrounded by mysterious thing and I guess your father is one who faced it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, he and my grandparents, they have a lot of experiences like this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just wanted to say that I also have the same story written like yours the wherein this unknown girl keep on staring not on me but my father when he's still living in a province they said that the girl wants that man to be with he

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I have read your story already and it really catch my interest:) I don't know if this kind of elements still exist in those places where our parents experience it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought this story is fictional but upon reading the comments i found out that it was true to life story..Is your father okay now,? ,I hope yes..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes Sis, this is a true story. My father is okay now, just we observe that most elements are so attracted on him.

And I'm so happy to see your name on my notification. Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This excited me more than spooked me. How come there were knights and a child queen or princess maybe? Has your father had prior knowledge about them like maybe he read about it somewhere, watched it or heard about it?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They are thinking that those are encanto, it is common in their place before. And one thing they discovered was maybe there is also a kingdom in their own world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed the story and I'm glad your dad was healed finally, I'm only wondering why the lady by the river decided to pick your dad as her next target.

Just one question.. Is this story real or fictional? Btw merry Christmas in advance.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, this is a true story experienced by my father. We don't know what's the purpose of the girl, for sure it is not a love attraction because my father was just a kid. But the only thing we know is they want to get my father.

Thank you and Merry Christmas in advance!

$ 0.00
2 years ago