Tale of the Bakunawa

30 1589
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

If you're a Filipino who enjoys watching traditional stories, you're probably familiar with the term "Bakunawa." Bakunawa is a mythical creature from Philippine folklore that is described as a large creature with the head of a dragon and the body of a snake.

This became popular during the pre-colonial period, when the Babaylan led the people of the Philippines; and this is the issue that I will discuss further.

Crdts : Owlcation
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

But first let me Flex to you my sponsors, one of those persons who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

I first learned about Bakunawa when I watched a short film about it. That according to the story;

There was a village that was gifted with a seven moons from Bathala(god). There was a young boy in the village, who like to play and prank every villagers that there is a Bakunawa. All the people know about Bakunawa, but still none of them prove if it's true. On the other hand, Bakuna was hiding in the depth of the sea, surrounded with darkness that it decided to get one of the moon to lighten the sea.

One night, when everyone was sleeping, Bakunawa came out the sea and succesfully eat one of the moon. Bakunawa go back under the sea with moon on it's tummy. But the moon was slowly dissolving on it's stomach, then the depth of the sea started to dark again. On the next night, the Bakunawa came out and successfully eat the other moon, but just like what happened to the first one, it dissolved.

On the third night, this young naughty boy can't sleep, so he decided to watch the sky. He count the moon and notice that there's only 5 left. In a moment, a Bakunawa came out in the sea, and eat another moon. He was so scared and wake up all his neighbors, shouting "Bakunawaa!", but no one believed him, as he used to do it.

Nights had passed and the Bakunawa still eat the other moons, until only one left. This naughty young boy have the courage to fight against Bakunawa, so when another night came, he tried to face it but the Bakunawa is so strong.

Fast forward..

This young boy found out that the weakness of the Bakunawa was the noise, so he asked help from other villagers, who saw the Bakunawa in action. They defeated the Bakunawa, and it go back under the sea. They save the moon and live peacefully again.

This was merely a brief story about Bakunawa, written for children, but we may draw a moral lesson from it as well as the story of Bakunawa.

When my mother was a child growing up in the province, she and her neighbors believed in Bakunawa. They used to make noise every time there was an eclipse to drive the Bakunawa away. Some of the neighbors will shout,"Bring back the moon!"

Bakunawa was known as a big serpent at the time, according to what elderly people told them. They panic every time they see the moon turn into a half or crescent because they know it's the Bakunawa trying to gobble the remaining moon.

Eclipse

Unsplash : by Jongsun Lee

Thanks to Science, we know now what an Eclipse is. As a result, the myth of Bakunawa faded into obscurity, and people were already aware of what occurred during Eclipse.

Eclipse is when the moon's shadow hits the Earth or it's the Earth's shadow hits the moon(where they thought made by the Bakunawa).

Lunar Eclipse is when the Earth is directly between the moon and the sun. Thiis happened during full moon, which most people prefer to watch.

Solar Eclipse is when the moon passes between the Earth and the sun. This block the light reaching the Earth, why the Earth became dark.

________________________

Lead image was edited using PicsArt

****

Author's love message :

Hello lovely readers! How was your day?

I just want to share this one. Yesterday, I published an article Wish of a Young One. In this, I mentioned about a video that touch my heart. So before going to sleep, I open again the Tiktok app to unwind, and the first video that pops up was this one.

Screenshot from the Tiktok App

Look how amazing life is. Someone finally gave him motorbike. GOD is so great.

Just want to share this happiness, I really meant to see this:)

November 20, 2021

-Ling

24
$ 4.97
$ 4.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.06 from @Success.1
+ 17
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

What a nice myth you shared my friend. Before reading the last part, I already thought that it's about eclipse, and I was right. This tale of Bakunawa is a great story to share.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I know what is the bakunawa all about Bff. Btw, nindot kaayo ang lunar eclipse last night.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I saw the notification of your published article, I was curious because of the title "Bakunawa" because it's so familiar to me, and until I read this. Now I know what's Bakunawa is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haven't heard about the story of bakunawa until I read your article sis.. heheheh pero medyo familiar sakin ang salitang bakunawa hndi ko lang matandaan kung ano ang bakunawa na nakilala ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owww I'm glad i found this article very good! Ngayun kolang narinig ro about sa bakunawa hehe. E pano kaya pang ang tale of bakunawa ay totoo o di kayay magka totoo nako powww! Lagot na lahat sis hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now that seems interesting. You force my brain to research more on a topic. I love that so much. Thanks dear for another amazing topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So many stories as this here too but different… there are a lot, but I hardly believe all of that… indeed your write up was intriguing it brings back old memories too..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baba Yaga, unicorns, two-headed Dragons guarding treasures... What creatures the human imagination never gave birth to! Without them, the world would not be such a fascinating and attractive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my yessssss.. this is my genre.. I loved reading about bakunawa.. Here in India, we kinda share the same but slightly different version of the story that a snake will come and swallow the moon for sometime and hence we have eclipse :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember when I was young, ganyan din ang mga stories ng mga matatanda sa amin sis. Pag may lunar eclipse or solar eclipse, sinasabi nila na kinakain daw ng Bakunawa ang buwan o araw. Pati pag lumilindol din sis, magsisigawan o di kaya gagawa ng kahit na anong ingay din ang mga matatanda sa amin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, this article made me remember my childhood in which I believe that the moon was eaten by bakunawa. This happenened during, quarter or crescent moon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This was also common in your place before Sis? It's nice that you have this kind of childhood days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was tricked by my mom Buti na lng Sis, nadiscuss to sa school

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know the story behind it. Thanks for sharing about Bakunawa. And yes, SM is really a powerful tool.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome Sis. I only know few information about this too:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diba sissy yan ung time na meron daw lumalabas na wolf or aswang hehehehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo Sis hahha, everytime naman bilog ang buwan sinasabi na lumalabas sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo kaya un sissy? Un lagi ko naririnig

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we are province before, i encounter lots of Bakunawa, it's what we called to the big red moon. We are scared of it cause there might aswang lurking around haha. It's my first time to encounter this myth this is so good, Philippines is very rich when it comes to myths and legends. I'm glad you shared this one.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahha Aswang is always top on the list. I think it is the most powerful supernatural creature in Philippine folklore :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the story sis. It's really interesting. First time ko to marinig at nabasa about bakunawa. In my whole life wala pa akong narinig na ganito. Mahilig ako magbasa ng mga ganito. Thank you so much for this.

Paano kaya kung totoo ang bakunawa sis nuh. Kakatakot naman.😰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat at nagustuhan mo Sis. Sobrang delikado if ito nag exist, consider as sea monster din kasi ito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walang anuman sis. Oo sis sobra nakakatakot at napaka delikado.😰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love these mythical creatures. I actually enjoy sci-fi movies and this genre mostly include these mythical creatures. Its so fascinating.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So nice that you like Sci-Fi, me too. It's very interesting topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto kong makakita ng Bakunawa, sis lalo pag full moon. I'd be very happy!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And don't forget to capture Sis hahha for sure sisikat ka talaga. Evidence na :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko dati psg mag eclipse may salsm8n kame tapis itapat nain ss araw para makita namin King paano nag digit ang araw at buwan pero di naman namin nakikita hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kami din Sis hahha. Nung minsan nga na nagka eclipse tapos nasa school kami, agawan sa salamin:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero wala naman nakita hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago