Taking Advantage on Disabilities

32 70
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Did you know someone who has disabilities but is able to show that he or she can do anything?

I've seen most of these types of people on TV. They give me hope and courage to keep going in life. Because if they can do it, why can't I?

On the other hand, if there are people with disabilities who can still stand on their own, they are people who take advantage of this, not to build themselves, but to act pity then money.

Why I came up with this topic was because of this.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

But first, let me Flex to you my sponsors, one of those persons who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

The Blind Man

Unsplash - by Connor Hall

There is an old blind man in our place who goes door to door asking for money. We called him 'Tatay' (another term for Father/Grandfather), and everytime he comes into our house, we give him even a small amount.

I was visiting my bestfriend, about 10-15 minutes walk from our house, when I saw Tatay. We're inside my best friend's house when I tell her about Tatay, until our conversation goes like this.

Me: It's amazing that Tatay can remember where he is going despite the fact that he is blind.

Her: That old man?

Me: Yes, he even knows how to get back into their house.

Her: Of course, because he can see. He is not totally blind

Me: ha? He told my father that he has been blind since he was a child.

Her: Don't believe that. My parents even witnessed that he can see before. They are wealthy, but his parents are so rude that a lot of people dislike them. He only spends money on cigarettes and gambling.

So when I got home, I told my Father about what my bestfriend said, and my father responded calmly," We already did our part to help him, and it's his part to use it for good. Although we heard many bad comments about him, but as long as he didn't do bad things to us, we still need to treat him right."

My father was correct, but I couldn't deny that my trust and sympathy for the old man were fading. There's also a time when he asks for money, I only give him 10php because my parents are not there; I don't have money to give. But when I lend him the money, he says, "there's no more bigger than this?" Yes, he can feel the amount of money. Then I find out that he has an older sister who supports him, as well as the Barangay, so I'm really confused about where he spent the money.

A Boy with Different Disabilities.

Unsplash - by Annie Spratt

Our area is divided into 13 Purok, and we are on Purok 2. My younger brother went to Purok 10 for a basketball game a few months ago, when he saw a boy about 12 years old asking for money. The boy he saw was the same boy who asked for money in every sari-sari store in our neighborhood. My younger brother and our neighbors had a conversation with him; but this time the boy couldn't speak, acting like a mute.

My younger brother and his friends approached the boy and asked, "You can talk, right?" However, the boy simply shakes his head side to side. One of their friends commented, "that's his technique, in our place he can't walk properly."

If there are people who act with disabilities for money, there are also people who took advantage of his disabilities for money.

I know we all have different perspectives on this, but I personally do not approve of this type of behavior.

Everyone has problems, failures, and insecurities; no one is perfect. However, it should not motivate us to act irresponsibly. It's all about mindset, and how you take care of yourself physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.

________________________

Lead image was edited using PicsArt

****

Author's love message :

Hello lovely readers!

How was your day?

I have a rainy day, which I really like. Keep on lying in bed, eat noodles while watching videos; a kind of relaxing Sunday for me after church.

Hope everyone have a good Sunday too. Please take care everyone, do not forget to sanitize and wear your face mask.

GOD Bless!

Sending hugs.

Ps. To King_Gozie and RoshieGanda, I know this is too late, but still I want to flex the generosity that you showed to me, although I just met you both recently, but you both already surprise me. Thanks a lot!

October 3, 2021

-Ling

19
$ 2.69
$ 2.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @ewyr
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 12
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Because someone did bad to our friends doesn't mean we should be enemies to them. I love the fact you continue helping the old man just do your part and be happy

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I also feel guilt when I didn't give even I have. Just I don't want to tolerate :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I say shame on them but can we really blame them? Maybe if we point them in the right direction where they can be trained to learn something then that's better. Maybe that's the way they know how to help themselves - fooling other people but they are only fooling themselves.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh my thank you so much for the renewal of your sponsorship. GOD Bless!

But yeah, on the other side we should also teach them. But I know most of them know it already, just they choose to be in that situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's just an effort by some vigilant smarts to make a living off of others. I disagree with your father on this one. Helpers should also follow how their aid is used. Because he is a liar asking for help by pretending to be disabled. Buddha makes him a bad enough person.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes that's why I personally don't like to tolerate this kind of doings. Just my father is so kind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the subway of my city this type of people abound, one saying that he is blind, another says that he has an incurable disease, children, women, men, of all ages, it is terrible.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I do feel sad about them. But the reality is, they burden themselves in that situation wherein they can do many things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are such people everywhere but it doesn't mean people who have this kind of disability or who can not earn by themself are also not deserving. n my opinion we should still, give the deserving amount to them because you are doing this for your own good deeds and your good deeds will be written in your book and to the almighty no matter they are deserving or not.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right, I also believe on this. But sometimes we should not tolerate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's in us on how we act in the situation. As long as wala tayong tinatapakang tao , Malinis ang ating konsensya. Sila na ang managot sa Diyos

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True Buddy, nakakasad pero tama kanya-kanya din naman tayo, choice na natin kung gumawa ng tama o Hindi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dahil kaya sa hirap ng buhay kaya nila ginagawa yan? Ang dating niyan ay parang nanloloko sila ng tao nagpapakaawa mapansin sila..Pero hindi ata tama yun kung malakas at pwede pang kumita, kumita nalang sana sila ng marangal.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oo nga Sis. For sure dahil din naman yun sa hirap ng buhay. Pero sa akin lang marami naman ang mahirap but still pinili magtrabaho ng marangal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May "almost" sinuntok na akong nagpanggap na bulag, sis. Sinungaling na nga, galit pa sa 50pesos na bigay ko. Ayun, suntukan na lang haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahah natawa ako Sis, ang tapang mo talaga. Parang deserved din naman niya suntok mo:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha tumakbo, sis. nakashades pa lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron rin ganyan samin sis yung nanay nga ginagamit disability ng anak para makahingi ng pera at yung hindi makalakad hinahatid araw-araw sa palengke para mamalimos tas kukunin rin tuwing hapon lol.

Pero ang galing nong bulag at bata HAHAHAHA ang galing mag panggap 😆🤧

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kawawa naman yung bata na yan Sis, parang ginawang business. Actually Sis yung bata dito sa amin, tingin namin may matandang kasama na nagtuturo, ang galing nga kasi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku sis tama ka.. Ang iba, nagpaoanggao na pilay etc para makapanglimos. Meron pang iba ginagamit yung mga babies para makadami ng limos..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Madami din yan sa amin Sis, lalo na yung wala pa ang pandemic, ang mas nakakatakot yung iba nananakit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku po mahirap yan.. Di pa naman ako nakaencounter ng ganun.. Yung nagmumura lang kapag di mo binibigyan.. Para ka bang sinusumpa.. May naencounter ako nun.. Sinabihan ako nang mamatay kana..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, your dad is right. We just completed our work. But it’s upto him how he use his money.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I always put in my mind what he said :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's almost the same situation in my place where the blind ones sometimes sees but will pretend they dont. Also in my area, i've Also seen a lame man driving a public transport bus before and i wss like woooooow, so such things do happen?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, there's a lot of people pretending just for money. I hope this will lessen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ung na experience ko namn sis may nanglimos dto sa tindahan namin, matandang lalake, Sabi nya kahit barya Lang daw pangkain,wla pa akong binta nun pero binigyan ko pa din siya bente pesos,akalain mo un ipinangbili ng sigarilyo,ang masaklap dun pa sa kabilang tindahan bumili..hahahahah pweragaba nalng

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Woyy natawa ako Sis hahahha, nahiya pa Sis, di nalang deritsong humingi ng sigarilyo sayo:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes of course, there are people without disabilities, disguising as though they are disabled. When it comes to giving alms and or money to people who are disabled or not, personally I don’t care because I do it from my heart.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So blessed to you Sir. But still take care of giving, yung iba kasi nag tatake advantage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago