Philippine Divinities : My Top Three Favorites

47 67
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Mythology is the collection of stories about deities (god and goddesses). It talks about supernatural powers and , that our ancestors believed that it happened when the world was created.

Zeus, Hera, Aphrodite, Athena and Poseiden, are just the few names in Greek mythology. If you can still remember your lessons about mythology, and read or watch stories about this then you might already know why they are called as the gods and goddesses.

UUnsplash - by Arto Marttinen

If the Romans and Greeks have this Mythology, the Philippines also has divinities with similar characteristics to those popular deities. I'm not sure if my fellow Filipino writers are aware of this, but this is just a brief sharing of the goddesses I admire the most.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

But first, let me Flex to you my sponsors, one of those persons who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

Dian Masalanta

Crdts : Pinoy-Culture Tumblr

She is the goddess of love and childbirth. She has a brother named Apolaki, the god of the sun.

Among all the dieties, Venus in Roman mythology or Aphrodite in Greek mythology, is my top favorite next to Hera. Imagine having the power of love; you are not going to be broken hearted. You can just give love to the person you like, and you are going to live happily ever after(charr!)

Mayari

Crdts : Philippine myths and folklore

She is the goddess of the moon. A guardian of the night, so if you are looking at the moon, you are looking at Mayari. For those Selenophile out there, this goddess suits for you.

Imagine you are the goddess of the moon, and you have the control over the high and low tides. Of course, you can see those people who are still out late at night, despite of curfew.

Hana

Crdts : DeviantArt

She is the morning goddess and Mayari's sister. If there is a goddess for the night, there is also a goddess for the day.

Imagine being the goddess of the morning, people will thank you for coming into their lives. Hearing people say , "What a beautiful morning" to "What a beautiful Hana"

So this is my top favorites, while we also have other Philippine divinities like;

Bathala

The most powerful of the gods and goddesses. He was referred to as the 'Creator of Everything'. Filipinos used to say "Bahala na," which is derived from the word "Bathala na," which means "whatever happens; give it all to Bathala."

Sitan

He is the god of the darkness. Filipino ancestors believed that if you do good deeds in this world, you will go to Maca, a place of 'eternal peace and happiness,' but if you do bad deeds, you will go to Kasanaan/Kasamaan, a place of 'grief and affliction', where you will see Sitan as the King.

Dumangan

The god of a bountiful harvest. If you want a good harvest, you must pray to Dumangan and offer him foods, and he will guard all your crops until they are ready for harvest.

Anagolay

The goddess of the missing stuff. It was a belief that if you lost something or looking for your stuffs, then must pray to Anagolay and she will help you to find it.

And many more.

Did you get interested to one of these Philippine divinities that I've mentioned? If you do let me know it by sharing your thoughts :)

The above information is based on our previous lesson, Mythology and Folklore: Philippine Divinities, as well as my own interpretation.

________________________

Lead image was edited using PicsArt

****

Author's love message :

Hello lovely readers!

How was your day?

I'm still busy with my examination, but still trying my best to published every other day. To those who always support me, thank you so much. Sorry if I haven't visit your recent article due to my busy schedule, but I'll read your articles during my vacant time:*

GOD Bless.

Sending hugs.

October 7, 2021

-Ling

22
$ 6.36
$ 5.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 15
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

weeks ago I have a performance task in english. to create your own God and Goddesses with unique special power. and my head aches because we are not allowed to copy from Google it should be on our own from the name, dress up to their personal information.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had a mythology subject way back in college. Of all the characters in their, two catches my attention. Its Helen and Medusa. Their stories was actually sad,

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh this was in Greek Mythology. Yeah their experiences was sad but interesting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, i almost cried when i watched the movie "helen of troy"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have yet to research if we have these gods in our own culture. I know Kabunyan is what we call Bathala but I am not sure about the others.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I only know them recently :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice one 👍 I wanna add in each religious shitan or evil are very clear. They lead us in wrong ways thats why we hate sitan . Btw you give me good knowledge about by writing productive article.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If there are dieties for good, there is always diety for bad:D And really? You are already good in writing :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Filipino Mythology is classic. Walang makakatalo sa sariling atin. Hehe! I just missed how these characters are included in the story and our teacher would let us read and retell what we understood based from what we read.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

How about roleplaying? Parang nakaka excite ito iroleplay ah. Lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha totoo tapos yung costume mga dahon2 lang hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na erase najud sakong hunahuna sis HAHA. 1 week lg gi klase gi memorize pa nako. Paghuman sa exam nawala najud HAHAAH kay lahi nasad na topic efocus ba hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Relate! Lol Makatawa man ko uy, tinuod kaayo ay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very nice, Ling! Thanks for letting us remember all of these. Napa throwback ako sa isa sa mga mythology class namin

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Napa throwback din ako Sis, kaya na share ko dito:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung bathala at dumangan lang yung alam ko sa lahat ng binanggit mo sis. Thank you for this sis, dagdag kaalaman to sa akin.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No problem Sis, famous lang kasi saatin si Bathala kaya yun lang madalas mapansin:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn’t know about it! You guys have mythology too? Let me know more.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes we have, this are just few among those dieties we have. But it's not that popular unlike Roman/Greek

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very interesting! Our culture really is very rich. I remember seeing a post from a school yata selling volumes of books about Philippine mythology and folklore. I'd have to find it again Para makabili kapag may pera 😄

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mabuti pa sa inyo may nagbebenta, guro need ko pa pumunta sa National Book Store para makabili:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just now read this thanks for sharing at least I learn something new,only I know is bathala

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kahit ako Sis, pero meron palang marami pa:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Namiss ko tuloy yung binabasa kong libro mga name ng character doon ay kapangalan ng goddesses hehe
Ngayon ko lang nalaman yung kung saan derived yung Bathala..hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mga new mom ngayon Sis, gusto ng unique names for babies. Mabuti pa't name sa mga dieties gamitin nila:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know about these that's why I didn't get it. But it was somehow interesting in reading. Have a good night.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If you have read Roman/Greek mythology, it is same with this. Good morning:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love mythological stories they are really fascinating. I don't know much about Philippine mythology, but about Greek I have read a lot.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh really? That was so cool, there's a lot of characters and their family tree is so complicated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dian looks like the Diana in the African Tekno song. Pretty

$ 0.02
2 years ago

An imagination made by our artists:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The artist must have seen Diana before... Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow. I never knew this many amazing characters exist. The writer in me is getting excited. Lol 😆

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I only discovered this recently, then I share it here:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. .you have too many gods in your land with different specific functions. Hope they all bring good lucky despite their different functions

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Actually what I have shared is just few:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My goodness! Did you say few?. Hahahahahahaha😂😂😂😂. Ok i'd like to see you share the rest others

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I like Hana... she looks beautiful in the picture.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You like beautiful huh:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I genuinely loved reading it, beautiful Culture and Namaste to all the Gods 🙏🙏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

For sure Sis, as it's a mystery too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The three goddesses got me interested sis. I remember again my college subject when we tackled about goddesses then my instructor let us watched a movie about goddesses and it was a great movie. One of my memorable memories too with this kind of topic.🥰❤️

It hits me also the Dumangan and Anagolay it's my first time hearing with this two. I got interested with this also since it's about the bountiful harvest. It is awesome and great and the other is if you lost something. Thank you for this sis. I learn a new one.🥰❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yey! You're welcome Sis. Watching this kind of movie is our favorite too, because it means no class. Lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel interested with the sisters goddess, i haven't heard about them yet. I imagine how beautiful they are.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Even me Sis, natuwa nga ako meron din pala Philippine mythology na ganito

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have to research on these, sis. Mejo very minimal knowledge ko dito hehe. Thank you for sharing. Good evening.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're welcome, bagay ka dito kay Mayari Sis:) Good morning!

$ 0.00
2 years ago