Is it a Fact or a Bluff?

15 65
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
1 year ago

Although we are now in a modern word with modern practices, we can't still deny that there are still part of our daily routine or practices that we are embracing the old beliefs.

For today, I will share few but most common beliefs that I personally heard and experience that maybe some of you can relate.


Fact or Bluff?

5 seconds rule

This is common for kids, that when you dropped a food, for example on the floor then it is still safe and clean to eat as long as it doesn't exceed 5 seconds. I was once a believer of this rule when I was a kid, imagine that you have your favorite chocolate and it fell down on the floor, of course because of this 5 seconds rule I'm confident to pick it up and eat. But it is WRONG.

The moment your food hit the floor the bacteria will immediately attach to it. We may think that the floor is clean but remember that bacteria are too tiny that we cannot see with our naked eye. Is there any significant with "5 seconds"? Yes, there's a point. The longer the food stay on the floor, the more bacteria will attach to it. But then, although 5 seconds is a short time, still there's a bacteria that may lead to diarrhea.

For moms and dads outthere, maybe your kids know this, just better to remind them.

Black cat is a sign of badluck

This is from the old beliefs which is a kind of discriminating. According to my grandmother, a black cat passing the street means death. Why? Black symbolizes death, evil and darkness which people may think that black cats represents bad luck.

In the Philippines, we have this supernatural entity called Aswang. This creature can transform into animals, auch as a cat, dog and pig. Since an Aswang is made by evil with a black magic, then the story always have;

"it transform into a black cat",

"I saw a huge black dog, I know it's an Aswang",

"Inside the forest, there's a big black pig. I don't know why it was there that no one is living in that area"

So maybe, there are really bad entities copying cats but this doesn't mean that all black cats are bad or unlucky. We have black cats before, and they are so loving that I wish to have another one, I even name one of them "Lucky".

Don't take a bath when you have menstruation

This one depends on the person. How? There are ladies who have weak immune system that they get sick immediately everytime they take a bath during period. Also about "immunity", maybe some ladies didn't used to take a bath during period that their body maintain or set this habit. In my case, I always take a bath in my period even during my first day, and it's a healthy way to maintain cleanliness.

There are also some health benefits of taking a bath during period such as balancing the temperature of your body and keeping yourself away from bad bacteria.

We only use 10% of our brain

I was shocked when I first heard that we only use 10% of our brain, I guess I heard it from my classmate during first year college. Like what, my whole childhood was a lie? Because during primary, our fifth grade science teacher teach us that every part of our brain have it's own function.

If we study about nervous system, particular the central nervous system which the brain located, we can know and understand how the brain works. For some scientific evidence, let me share this one;

Neuroanatomy: The Basics | Dana Foundation

Disclaimer: The views and opinions stated in this article are based on the author's experience and knowledge. This aims to entertain and share topics in which readers can gain. All the photos above are personally made unless it was stated.

________________________

You can find me in;

Noise.app

Or contact me in;

Gmail | Telegram

My appreciation to all my subscribers, upvoters, commenters and sponsor. GOD Bless! 
  • October 20, 2022

-Ling01

21
$ 1.48
$ 0.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Unity
$ 0.10 from @Alther
+ 15
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Lol😂. All these are funny.

The five seconds pick is crazy😂. We have some of these in my region but this 5seconds is hilarious

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The 5th point you mentioned is wrong, only very intellectual people use their brains up to 8 or 10 percent. And, others use only up to 3 percent approximately. iT'S NOT ANY MYTH. When I am saying using 8-10 percent of the brain, it implies very very high intellectual beings, not any mere professional you see in your university or streets. Einstein used around 12percent of his.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Para sakin ang fact lang po dun is yung 5 seconds rule but the rest I think bluff na po yun. Pero hindi naman po masama kung susundin at maniniwala tayo dun po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The part we use 10% of our brain are just theories, there is still no apparatus can gauge that by just its appearance. Maybe its a bluff or fact we never know.

Sama mo narin yuung bawal ka hakbangan or else di ka na tatangkad haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most people thought that a black cat is a sign of bad luck, superstitious beliefs sometimes cause not good in our daily life.but I am also a believer when I was young because our grandparents were very attached to what they are believing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parietal lobe is very important in sensing temperature changes, as well as touch in the body

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your memory is too good. Else you will not remember what your teacher taught in 5th grade.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think the 5 second rule was invented to stop kids from wasting food but yeah it can actually be detrimental.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The black cat belief is same in most of the Asian countries, in India they also they are considered as bad luck and related to black magic.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here too, some people believe black cats are evil or even possessed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha, I've also believe on that 5 seconds rule when I was a kid haha. But that we only use 10% of our brain, I guess it's totally a myth since I feel like in every activity that I do, my brain is very tired seems like I used the 100% of it haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are myths but well described. Bracket cross your way when you are going to work then it is that your will not done. 5 second role is also I think it's good due to you have done discuss that bacteria will attack. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and ideas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha😅😅. Here, in my country, we were told that if our food falls on the floor, it means that the devil has eaten it. What a nonsense belief😅😅😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako sis hindi ako naliligo pag meron ako. Nakasanayan ko na rin kasi lagi ako sinasabihan ng mama ko na hindi maligo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago