Common Misconceptions in having an OFW partner.

21 49
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
1 year ago

Overseas Filipino workers, commonly known as OFW, my fellow Filipinos chose to leave our homeland and try their luck in other countries. It might be hard for them as they leave their loved ones with a heavy heart; they pursue what is planned with nothing brought with them aside from courage and skills. They hope to earn more to reach their dreams. One of those is the Family! A good life for them.

Many who doesn't know what is the real life of OFWs's. You might see on their social media post that they are happy and enjoying life, but behind those smiles, there is sorrow. Some would always say, " wow may abroad, dami pera." Ahh, if only they knew.

Honestly, even though I used to have that mindset, not until I found myself in the situation. Some of you might know already that my husband is working in Taiwan. He left before the pandemic hit worldwide. Well, it was not his first time, but rather a second contract. We were working in the same company before, but when we started our relationship, he decided to file a resignation for one reason; for our future. We didn't earn much as we were only minimum wage earners then. Since he wanted to have us married and have our own home, he left the country. That was the year 2015, I think. Congratulate me, guys, I survive a long-distance relationship!The photo was taken at the airport while waiting for his flight, the year 2015.

Photo taken at the airport while waiting for his flight, year 2015.

Back to the topic, what I am sharing now with you are usual misconceptions for those who had an OFW partner;

  • Financially Stable - Seriously, this is the most overrated. Let me be clear being an OFW was never a stable job. Yes, earnings might be more considerable than here in our country, but this person should realize that they only work by contract. Once the contract ended and I decided to go home for good, it was not that easy to find a job here. With that thought, they should have savings and investments for the future.

    Also, many think that once you work outside the country automatically, you have a lot of money! The hell where did they get that notion? Sad to say, but sometimes, family and relatives started to demand this and that—even friends. Not only once I experienced being requested by someone for a treat, donations, borrowing money, etc. When I declined and reasoned out that I didn't have an extra, most of them wouldn't believe me. 

    "Your husband is working abroad! Common Les, don't be stingy".

    See? So they expect me to spend my husband's hard-earned money on them? I am not stingy; just managing my expenses. I don't want my better half to go home seeing NOTHING from the fruit of his labor!

  • Hayahay (comfortable ) life - Am I? financially, I may am not struggling; maybe because I have work and we don't yet have a kid. Yet it doesn't mean that life is like that. Honestly, it was hard! Not all the time; it's only about money ( though it is necessary, especially not with high inflation). Most of the time, I find weekend and night blues. It was tiring to talk with myself; OMG!

  • I don't have someone to talk with when I am not emotionally okay. I opted not to share that thought as I didn't want to bother him. Even when I am sick, I still have no choice but to get my ass off the bed. See? How can I have a comfortable life if I am longing for his "comfort"? Charr. I am saying it was never okay to have an OFW better half. Now I understand why others opted to cheat. They were lonely eh, and maybe.............. aching? Lol.

There are so many things I wanted to share, actually, but I don't want to bore anyone. So I call the night quits for today. My fingers and arms are already numb from working almost the whole day.

Sponsors of Lhes
empty
empty
empty

Thank you Dearest sponsors for choosing to stay and support me! Highly appreciated.

Hey, this is my link in Noise.app, perhaps you wanted to engage with me in there?

Hello everyone from the Philippines. Time check was 07:50 PM as of the writing, and we are now at the 07 November for 2022. 

12
$ 0.48
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Jane
+ 4
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Subukan kaya kasi nila mag abroad para malaman nila kung gano kahirap. Depende pa rin naman yan sa tao e or kung ano ang work sa abroad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

many think that once you work outside the country automatically, you have a lot of money! Nako, kwento nga dito sa province, inaantay yung OFW na lumabas ng bahay nila para lang manghingi ng pangkape like wthell... Syempre hindi naman madali pera sa ibang bansa kasi. Tapos sila pa tong galit dahil hindi nabigyan haha! nako ewanss

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You did a great job as a partner and your partner lods surviving through it all, what you mentions are all true. Just keep making the right decisions and for sure, alam ko nmng mlapit n matapos ng bahay nyo lods. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, this is familiar ground I heard often some marites calls, but that not. Things was so much different from real life, its not that happened. Kaya sometimes skit isipin na may mga OFW who works hard thinking that when they go home they will live ccomfortably for they earn and saved much; but not that happeend. Madami ako nakikitang naghihirap now, why? financial misunderstanding na mayaman sila when they go abroad so they buys things and stuff, ouch.,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pero madam naiipon mo swldo mo cguro?.. Save for the future. Yun lang. Ang lungkot mag isa.. When sya uuwi?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sa akin? Hindi rin madam, may binubuhay tayo sa province 🤣. Naka support pa din ako sa parents ko.. Then siya on his side, patuition sa kapatid ng bunso at allowance ni mother niya😅. Doon napupunta sahod ko🤣. Sahod niya savings namin, pero since nagpagwa kami bahay, ayon ubos...hanep kagastos.

Nag renew siya contract😬, pero uwi siya vacation maybe March or May

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Isa talaga sa problema kapag nasa abroad ang partner mo is lungkot no, especially kapag may prob ka, like you mentioned na di naman pwede na sabihin natin lahat sa kanila kasi makakadagdag lang din sa iniisip nila yun..

Yung asawa ko dati eh kinukuha ng papa ko sa company nila abroad, sa Saudi, pero ayaw ng asawa ko, di ko na pinilit tutal di naman kami nagugutom.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo sis, kapag nasa emotional breakdown ka kahirap... hirap kasi maging dagdag isipin pa nila...

Kung kaya lng naman, mas ok magkasama

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ka sis, yung nga sabi nya sa akin noon, nagugutuman na daw ba kami, di daw ba nya nabibigay gusto namin, kaya di kp na din pinilit.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Ang hirap kasi sa totoo lng! Oo somehow financially medyo okay. Pero need then imanage well kasi kapag nag end abg contract nganga.. Saka temptations. Dapat malakas self control pareho kasi baka ending kay Tulfo...hahha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True kaya ikaw habang wala pa kayo baby eh ipon ipon na kasi dumodoble ang expenses kapag may mga anak na kayo lalo na at ang mahal magpaaral ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Expectations are ridiculous. 😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha oo sis ahhh... try nila.pag abroaded asawa nila. Ng malaman nila

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kawawa nga ofw sis pag uwi namin jobless na pero laban at pilit ipaintindi sa pamilya na hindi kami namumulot ng pera sa ibang bansa pero hindi kasi makakaintindi yung hindi naging ofw sis.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

True,.ako kahit hindi ako ofw ramdam ko sa asawa ko... Sana kasi maintindihan nila

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mga tao nga naman kasi. Akala nila tumatae na ng pera kapag nakapagabroad na

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ang dami minsan demands sis,, kaya naiirita ako minsan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We also have a lot of Nigerian men who travel overseas to work in other countries. The relationship may be one kind but it depends on their understanding God bless them all

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hay,.sad to know that there are more oppurtunities outside the country

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan talaga tingin ng mga tao sis nuh basta may member na nagtatrabaho sa ibang country. Sa Taiwan pala hubby mo sis. Same sila ng classmate ko.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo akala dami pera, jusko kung sana dami lng talaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago