A Day in the Hospital with Mama

17 64
Avatar for LeonaReed
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Health, Adventure, Facts, Education, ...

Sickness and Illness is a part of life. I am not sure there will be someone who has spent their life without being suffered from any sort of disease/sickness/illness. It is a part of life, and everyone will have to go though it. However, some would have suffered or will have to suffer from more, other less, some from multiple diseases/sicknesses and other single.

Mama (my mother) is diabetes and a heart patient. Yesterday we went to government hospital. Actually, for the last two days, she has been feeling a minor pain in her lower-left side of abdomen (maybe kidney 🤔) and in the same are in the back. Since the Medical Complex has almost all facilities available, so we decided to go for a checkup there.

Unfortunately, brother was not home as he was in a workshop for the last few days and will be home tomorrow. So I went with Mama. It was a very bad experience 😔.

Photo by kelvin balingit on Unsplash

First, we entered in hospital. It is a very beautiful, facilitated and a big, in terms in covering area, hospital in our area. I asked Mama to set down in waiting area.

The waiting area was so clean, big, and has lots of chairs, and a big TV screen on the wall. There were two counters for females, so I stand in a queue to get OPD chit. The lady asked some questions, like patient name, husband name, age, medical problem etc. I provided the details, she asked me for provide PKR.10/-.

Seriously, why we blame government, PKR 10 is a very small amount (around $0.04) where our children won't take it, and still in hospital a senior surgeon and expert doctor will checkup and so many other facilities...

Anyways, the lady was so kind, I asked her where I will find the doctor. She directed me to go this and that way, Room # 22, there will a person standing in front of doctors room, give him this chit, wait for your turn and the doctor will prescribe and advice you what will we need further.

We went there, and saw another waiting area, it was also so clean and big and has a big TV there too on the wall.

Photo by Lucas Vasques on Unsplash

We waited for our turn. The doctor checked up Mama and advised us some tests, e. g. CBC (some blood test), Urine Test and an Ultrasound.

We first went to the Laboratory for the tests. There I have been asked to deposit and get a receipt for the tests, again asked Mama to set in the waiting, it was not as big as the previous ones, but was clean. The lady asked me for PKR. 450/- (around $2) for the said tests. I handed over and a collected two computerized receipts, with tests name and deposited amount, Mama name an rest of details asked by the very first female in the entrance, written over these receipts. She asked to go this way, there they will collect samples for the tests.

A boy collected some blood samples and given a small bottle for urine sample (pee). Mama went to a lady toilet for urine sample. Aftwr sometimes, we handed over both samples, urine and blood to another person, he wrote details and asked us to collect result from that place (pointed us the place) after 45-60 minutes. I asked that person what about the ultrasound, he said it is a building behind this one, Radiology written in front of it.

Photo by Mick Haupt on Unsplash

We went there, there were again a waiting area, it was also normal in size, not bit not small. Some of fans were malfunctioning. It was crowded. I asked Mama to wait there and sit-down in chair. Again, I saw the counter saying female counter for collection and I had to go to the counter and deposit some amount...

I thought, why not they collected the amount at once (in one window) for all three test advised by the doctor. Later it came in my mind, that is because there are many people they don't know and they would think it is all. So the amount they deposit for the test it is in other place will be for nothing, so it's good.

Anyways, I stand in a queue and deposited PKR. 200/- (around $ 0.9). I handed over the printed receipt to a ward-boy standing in front of Ultrasound room. He was holding lots of chits he wrote 24 on our chit. He said it's # 8 inside the room with doctor, and we will have to wait for out turn, (which will take more or less 1 hour, I guessed) as our # was 24th. Anyways waited...

I saw a police with two ladies, went inside the doctor room, I guessed he was in the queue (receipts the ward-boy holdings). Anyways, I just watched him silently. After 15-20 again he with another lady went... After sometimes a person from hospital (because he had a badge) went to doctor room with a lady. After 40-45 minutes wait another police came with a lady and went inside the doctor's room. I became sad and angry...

I went and ask the ward boy what the h*ll... Why is he breaking the queue and allowing them to go, if so we should be passed otherwise I am going to stand here and no one will pass.

Photo by Fred Moon on Unsplash

Suddenly, the police who was responsible to maintain the decorum asked me, what's going on my child. I asked him as to why this and that happening, he said if I could go and wait for my turn. So that you could go with another lady, I asked him. He replied am I mad. He didn't do that, a few replied why are you telling a lie they have seen him twice and some told many time. Then he said, oh I see, we have been talking about those two times, they were serious patients. I saw how serious they were, I pointing my fingers to a very old lady in stretcher, doesn't she look like serious to you? He said they were relatives. I replied dam, you should have said they were relatives instead saying this and that, bloody lier.... He said, "You are lady, and don't make angry". Mind your own business and start fighting, loudly and asked him I'm standing here. Let me see how you do it again.

The doctor, while listening me crying, came and asked me why am I fighting and what's the reason? I told her all, we have been waiting for hours and police comes and go inside with one or two ladies, is it justice? Or our patients are not patients?

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

She excused us, that she really didn't know it wasn't their turn and she checked up, and asked the ward-boy to give each person the receipt once she enters my room, I will see the number and note myself, also he will have to say the number and name loudly. She also said the policeman, "Shame on you and your duty. We don't need your duty". She assured us there will be no more such happening. I then waited our turn.

Once we get inside for checkup, she was like feeling ashamedly of doing the wrongs or she was a part of it. She again said, "I am really sorry for earlier, as she didn't know." I said no problem madam, that wasn't your fault. I start fighting because later we blame our system.

Anyways, she checked up Mama, she said there is a small issue in her gallbladder, and asked her to meet the surgeon again, showing these results. We would have waited more than two hours for ultrasound.

On the way back collected the tests result (CBC and Urine). Shown the doctor, all test results. He said there is nothing serious only small issue which the medicine can cover. He wrote medicine and we start hitting back home.


Closing Arguments

Government has been trying to provide us facilities and ease. The system they provide us is always good, pure and facilitated. However, we make them wrong, use it wrongly, doing wrongs, and blaming the system is wrong. Another thing, we, the bad and wrong people let corrupt the system, standing aside silently even can't say, are wrong. We may not be considering ourselves making the system corrupt, but seeing bad people making the system corrupt and we remain silent is same as taking part it making corrupt. Stand against corruption and wrongs.


Thank you for stopping by and reading my article and Sorry for so lengthy article but all I wanted to show the reality and what makes the system corrupt and wrong.


Find me

|- Torum -|- noise.cash -|- noise.app -|

Have a great weekend. Enjoy your life 😊


Lead Photo by Hush Naidoo Jade Photography on Unsplash

12
$ 1.85
$ 1.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
+ 6
Sponsors of LeonaReed
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LeonaReed
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Health, Adventure, Facts, Education, ...

Comments

Some people take advantage of the situation. Good for you though for speaking up. If that happened to me, I'd be silent af because I'm really shy in person. Anyway, I hope she gets better very soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Stand for my right and tell the truth that's what I do. And don't shy about these. She is good, super good. Thankyou my lovely sister

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish your mother the best Leona. Sorry you had to go through what you did but am proud of you speaking up. I will pray 🙏 for you!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am honored. I always speaks even if you go though the articles lists. You will find one wherein I said I fought with a students who were laughing my teachers and then the principal fined me, later I went and said the principal what was correct and true and left the the office. Next morning she took a class of all school ..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I admire the guts you have shown. I had the same experienced as yours, what happened was my blood pressure rise up and I was rushed to the emergency and treated at once. I had no companion at that time and had to be treated to lower down my blood pressure before leaving the hospital.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am honored. Then we blame the system and we abuse the system. I can't remain silent. I don't afraid of anyone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope your mum gets well soon. God bless!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She feeling well .. I am glad you stopped by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is always sad to see the behavior of the people holding this responsibility in government hospitals. They should follow the rules, and should allow everyone go at their turn. Anyway, I hope your mom is better now.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not only in hospitals my sister, it is everywhere. Yes yes Alhamdolillah she is feeling good. Thankyou so much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish your mother a speedy recovery. yes, the state is responsible for promoting and protecting the welfare of its citizens. some abuse it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am so pleased, thanks so much my dear friend. Exactly the citizens abuse the system and then we say it the system.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rica ederim. Instead of blaming the state, we should warn those who abuse it and prevent them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually, we also stay silent. It not only the fault of abusers but those they see the person(s) abusing it silently are also a part of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

definitely Whoever is silent on this situation is a partner in crime.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes we think that 10 ruppee are low amount and our children refuse to take them but in hospital and on many other places we have so many facilities and I will pray for your mother's health may Allah your mother enjoy the health

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Jazakallah Khairan kaseera... Though she is Alhamdolillah feeling so good

$ 0.00
1 year ago