The Dark side of Japan

29 56
Avatar for Lazysnail
2 years ago

If given a choice to move to any country you want, many people will choose to be in Japan. Japan is a dreamland of technology, for the said have the most advanced country all over the world the bullet train for example. They have this robot battle, and advance ai that can think of themselves. Many people want to live in Japan because of its tradition and culture, from the manga they have read and anime they watched it was shown how great japan is.

Am so sorry for being absence yesterday I was watching anime whole day long that it took one day of my life. Even me the lazysnail wanna live in Japan, for what reason? Anime! I love it very much that I'm spending my whole month for it. That's how addicted I am. Also for the technology. I'm studying electrical for how many years so Japan got my eyes to work with, and now I'm studying industrial engineering I badly wanna travel and work in Japan.

Despite Japan's nature's beauty, and it's advance technology that people was attracted to. To the point they wanna live in there. Japan like every Country has the dark side. Let's not talk about the past dark side but the present dilemma many people are facing in japan. Here are some of it that I observe while reading and watching about Japanese culture.

Don't get me wrong: this article was not made to discourage anyone or to ruin Japan's image but I just want to make people aware of because many people thought of it as a dreamland paradise.

Suicide/suicide attempts rate.

"Work over life" is one phrase that the Japanese believe in. The don't care a lot about their mental issue but just focus on the job they're having. This leads to stress and depression. Japanese people they said doesn't good in terms of communication and saying what inside their heart like problems of their life. Problem will be pile up stress will be stock in their heads that the only solution they can think of is to end their lives. The "work over life" mindset of Japanese are toxic for me because no matter what it is life is the most important. last 2019 their study shows that there are more people who died from killing themselves than in covid19

image from unsplash

Harassment

Have you heard of the story of Angel of shibuya?. He is the Australian streamer robcdee has become somewhat of an angel of Shibuya. The IRL streamer often walks around the streets around the Tokyo district, finding himself helping drunk or distressed people get home after a night out. In his stream he's saving a lot of people especially girls who was being physically and sexually harassed by other people especially Japanese citizens. In the main city or put lic transportation like train many people were harassed. In japan bullying is common as they say. It was far more than you can imagine that this is one of the reason why students commiting suicide by jumping in the school's rooftop.

Lifestyle

The reason why Japanese believe in phrase of "Work over life" is because of their lifestyle. Living in Japan is expensive that almost half of your income will going to your Government Taxes.Β Japan isΒ consistently ranked as having one of the highest average costs of living in the world. Daily expenses can easily add up to 280,000–300,000 JPY (2,500–2,700 USD) per month. The bills and Taxes is what problemazing them. Especially those who live in main city like Tokyo the expenses is too much. That they needed to double or triple their Job just to have a decent life. But that Job is taking their whole life.

Sponsors of Lazysnail
empty
empty
empty

Racism

This is the last for now, because we know that racism is running all over the world not just the country of Japan. But still racism is happening in Japan. If I'm not mistaken I think I have read something around 2017-2018 that 33% or 1 in to 3 foreigner who travel in Japan experience Racism. But we all know that people are improving and trying to remove this issues.

iimage from unsplashimage from unsplash

Japan is a great country but not a dreamland

Author's message

This article was not intended to discourage everyone or to ruin Japan's image everything are based on my observation because I love Japan too however it's sad that I saw this dark side. I know that everyone can travel to any country they want. It's just that you need to think first and research especially their cultures what are must and mustn't do and things to consider. Every country has a dark side they're trying to hide to everyone. Every place are great but it has cons and pros.

special mention to @Codename_Chikakiku for renewing your sponsorship to me

17
$ 5.70
$ 5.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 11
Avatar for Lazysnail
2 years ago

Comments

Same in Korea too, specially suicide and harassment. Nakaka lungkot lang kasi for sure yong iba dun wala talags choice and because sobrang bigat na ng problema nong iba, suicide nalang ang solution nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Suicide is never a solution are ruffa, all people is facing depression, light or heavy kelangan natin mag spread ng positivity to everyone. I can't comment on your article atee, for some reason which is I don't know blocked ako ng club1bch hahahaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it's never a solution pero yong iba yang ang tsnging escape na alam nila 😩.

Luhh, bakit kaya ano ginawa no? Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko din alam ate rufaaaa hahaha. I suspected someone pero no need to brag her name wala din namann po akong enough evidence para don

$ 0.00
2 years ago

all places around the world have their darkest side. But honestly, I'm not into cities and crowded streets, I'm more into mountain and country areas in japan. that's what I've been longing to visit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every country has a dark side including Japan. But still, it is on top of my list of countries to visit. As a tourist, I just need to be double extra because they might take advantage of me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang lahat ata ng bansa may dark side, pero ako man gusto ko ding makapunta Ng Japan,pro bka in my dreams nalang..πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay, everyone tells their own experience in their travels. I had heard about racism and suicide. That's how it is in countries where too much is demanded of the citizens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The pressure on their life everyday to achieve the daily quota to survive a month is what giving them depression that might lead to suicidal and that's the thing they must fix. The government should also focus on its citizens health

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great publication you have given us, my friend. You do well to be impartial and point out the reality, and these points to which you make references are easily demonstrable because they have always been talked about everywhere, but also by those people who live inside Japan, but by those who come being descendants of Japanese who decide to live in that country for economic reasons also relate the same (their experiences are available on Youtube). Greetings and blessings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No need to add something not needed just straight to the point is what an informative text must do. It us who must spread awareness about the current issue so that the future generations will not gonna face the same problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Japanese people are really hardworking person. Japan is one of the productive country and it's because of the people living there.

Soon I want to visit Japan snail especially in Tokyo..☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what I love in japanese people poz napaka hardworking nila kala po sobra sobra po MInsan at nalilimutan hola yung health nila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Japan was always my dream country but I never heard about its dark side.Suicide rate, racism and harassment are major problems there.I hope it can get rid of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They're trying to hide it by the beauty of their technology and anime yet it still visible to other countries. Let's just wish all the problems in the world like that get rid off

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May napanood akong movie nun yung Suicide Forest ata yun. Japan din yun, lodi snail!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gonna give it a try po, san ameron sa netflix po yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dik sure, lods snail. pero eto trailer https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hW8hUcXR-A

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Japan is on my bucket list. Every country has its negative side but Japan is really a beautiful country. One day hopefully I can visit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I think most countries have dark sides. Racism is a worldwide dilemma. Work over life mentality is also present in our country. Even with all of those, I still want to go to my promised land 😁 Someone promised me to bring me cherry blossoms, but as you know, promises are meant to be broken, it did not realize and all his other promises to me. So I promised to myself to see that cherry blossoms 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the saddest truth, promises are meant to be broken. JAPAN Is a great country even with that things I have said on japan k still aiming to travel to that country. Hoping our wishes to be come true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's see each other there someday 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is good and not so good in every country. I have been to Tokyo quite some years ago and whilst I enjoyed the culture, I would not live there. Perhaps other areas of Japan might be better, and racism is everywhere, unfortunately.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wooawww, you did? I wished I could travel in Japan too. Not all places in Japan are bad just like every country is Let's just wish for racism to be eradicate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes wish it could be eradicated, and it was a fun time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Japan. I just want to visit the country some time in the future. I wanted to see the cherry blossoms not just the one in surf🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesss the cherry blossom. But as I remember there's a cherry blossom here n the Philippines not sure if it's real

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm...it seems that work over life mentality is common to Oriental countries. Racism is also something that's being battled worldwide. The fight against it seems not to have any prospects of being won for now .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what makes things sadder that those two important things in life still hasn't been resolved. Living a life the way we want is what we all must do and also the racism part must be eradicate as soon as possible

$ 0.00
2 years ago