Buying a Laptop as an Investment (Personal Blog)

28 87
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago

I have been in this dilemma about whether I should buy a laptop or not. Although my money isn't enough, I am thinking if I should purchase it once I have enough savings. In the next few months, I think I will have this money if things will be better and maintain my monthly income. 

One of my financial goals this year is to have at least $2,000 in my whole portfolio but as a counter, I added buying a laptop to my personal goals. I mentioned that I want to achieve either the two or maybe both of them if I am lucky.

This image is made by the author using Canva.

But here is why I am hesitant to buy. I decided to evaluate the situation by listing the possible pros and cons of buying it including the reasons why I want to buy it.

Reasons why I want to buy it:

I can use it for my gigs, especially since I want to pursue writing by improving my skills, applying as a freelance writer, and taking online courses about writing. Is it just me who is more energetic every time I write using a laptop compared to mobile phones? The sound of the keys is relaxing and satisfying.

On the other hand, I can work using a phone but “multitasking” (even if it is not real based on science) is a lot easier if you are using a laptop.

Also, I can use it in school, especially in my studies. But here's the thing, the rumors said that having a laptop when you are in the third year is more likely a requirement because we will need to use AutoCAD. And as of now, I am still a first-year student. I still have almost two years before I get into the third year. 

We also have a laptop but it is difficult if you don't have your own because my brother always needs it since he took a computer-related course. But of course, I am allowed to use it.

As I said, I also listed the pros and cons once I bought it.

Pros

  • It can help my studies.

  • It can help me with my gigs.

  • I may have more opportunities in my side hustles (I am planning to apply for a job where a laptop is a requirement).

Cons

  • I will lose my investment.

  • I will be selling at a lower price so it's not a win for me.

  • I will start with zero money…again.

As you can see, both my pros and cons have points. I am confused so I started to open a discussion in Quora by asking if buying a laptop is considered an investment and four people shared their opinions. Here are their answers:

“Short answer NO. Buying Electronics is never considered an investment because its price is reduced every year. For example if you brought the i5 3rd gen laptop back in 2013, it would be worthless now.” Answer by: Hrishik Rudresh.

“Only if you buy it as part of your business and the use of it is to make money. But then, because the laptop is a depreciating asset the investment is actually in the business and not in the laptop. People fool themselves when buying stuff for themselves by justifying it as an investment. Unless when buying an item it can be later sold for more than you paid for it or can be used to help you make money then it is not an investment.” Answer by: Danielle.

“Laptops aren’t fine wine or real estate. Don’t expect it to go up in value, though you can potentially use one to do something else that does produce a profit.” Answer by: Eugene Chia.

“NO! Real estate is an investment, gold is an investment, and some shares may be an investment. A laptop, a desktop workstation, or a car are not investments, they lose value in time. But they are TOOLS, they may be worth buying to be able to work or learn by using them. For most businesses, you do need a computer or a laptop. For other businesses, you do need a pickup truck. These are necessary tools for the trade, I would not call them investments. A bit like everyday food, it is strictly necessary, but it is not an investment!” Answer by: Cristian Ioan.

Now, after reading their answers, it only means a laptop is not an investment because its price is decreasing over time but it is a tool that can help to generate income if you will use it for your business or work. 

In my case, it can generate income since I will use it as a writer and student but somewhat a desire because I can write using a phone and I can study without a laptop since it is not yet a requirement.

But for me, if you will ask me, I WANT to buy a laptop. I'm hesitant because of my money and I'm afraid that I am making the wrong decision again. On the other hand, I feel that this is only my desire, not my needs. 

So, if you are in my situation, are you going to buy it or not?



Published: April 13, 2022

17
$ 15.96
$ 15.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 10
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago

Comments

Hello, my friend

A computer is a purchase that will be despised over time, but it is also a formidable tool if used properly.

I admire the people who write here from their cell phones. So, my congratulations on being one of them.

However, writing in front of a computer is a more comfortable experience than on the small touch screen of your smartphone.

Maybe it's because I'm from the generation that first knew the typewriter and has seen firsthand the rise and advancement of information technology.

Yes, you ask me, I would tell you to buy it, not as an investment, but as a tool to achieve your goals as a writer.

It all depends on how you feel behind any keyboard.

For example, the laptop I write with right now is from mid-2011, and although it is no longer worth the $1,600 of yesteryear. In the last three years has generated much more.

Compare the book value, which is 0, with the use-value, which depends on your skill.

Also, I recommend you look for the right laptop for you. That yes, that it is good, nice and cheap.

These days there are many options. Take your time and tame your desires.

Best regards.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a laptop, although its features are not enough, it works for me. But in addition to that, I want to buy a desktop pc for my other work. I think you should definitely buy it because it will bring you benefits. Earn amounts worth your investment in, it you can get.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope so, I'm still thinking about it. I also prefer buying a pc because it is cheaper than the laptop but I need the latter because I will use it in school when face-to-face classes is back.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

From my point of view, you need to delay gratification because you don't need the laptop now since you've been working with your phone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm thinking about it, but yeah agree with you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love how they answered your questions. Pati ako na convinced nila sa sagot nila. Ang galing, may substance. They have their points pero yun nga, based sa sinabi nila, depende din if it will help you generate more money. And if I were in your situation, buy it. Na eearn naman ulit ang pera. And madami kang puwedeng pasukan na work for having a laptop. ;")))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you sa idea! I'm still thinking about it pero base sa situation ng market pass muna but maybe before the year ends bibili ako haha bahala na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same sentiments. If you sell now, parang babaliwalain mo na lang din yung ilang months nang pag hihirap para maka accumulate BCH.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Plan ko din bumili pero after na pag tumaas na talaga si BCH kasi nakakapanghinayang ngayon eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sobra nga haha baka tumaas na next time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think para sakin pag bibili ako ng gadge dapat ma anticipate ko kelan yun ROI. Hahaha like for examp sa phone ko, 12k bili sa phone ko at expect ko na mababalik ko in a few months of hustling in the internet gamit nun. Di ako bumili ng gamit na walang return sakin haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice idea at makes sense naman. Baka isabuhay ko din yan thank you sa tip hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's why di pa mandin ako nabili ng laptop. Iniisip ko if mababawi ko ba agad ung niinvest ko if I work hard on read. Pero sayo, if need na talaga for studies mo then why not. Pero id di pa naman at naari pa yang phone mo then wag nalang ngabmuna. Saka na if need na need na. For sure may ipon kana na malaki that timr. Sana lang andito pa si read if that happen

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga nag-aalanganin ako baka mamaya mawala si read.cash ng biglaan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wag namsn sana aguyy, pero habang andito pa hapit na tayo sa pag grind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also have a goal of getting a laptop this year too....may the both of us get what we want..fighting!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hopefully!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I probably would, at a time when I know I won't be starting from zero again

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Both goals are quite possible and realistic ones. $2k and a laptop , may Almighty God helps you to raise up both.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Manifesting about this😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Laptop is always a good investment, you're not losing your money if it's your need in study

Hopefully you'll learn something in laptop which will not waste your investment and starting with the zero is one of best motivation for yourself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, I'm gonna think about this. Thanks for your opinion!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eto ang mahirap, kaya dapat sana nung mga mataas pa si BCH nagtabi tayo just in case kakailanganin natin soon 🥲 yung tipong nasa Gsave ba huhuhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ano. Dapat nagbenta na ako nung umabot ng 1k

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have articles about buying my laptop journey. It might help you.

Laptop is an investment for me as well. Di ka magsisisi once you have your own na. It's so much more better than nanghihiram or nakiki-share lagi sa iba. Haha. Naexperience ko na yun eh ng ilang years. Buy ka na!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe you can share the link of your article 😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too ,I'm planning to buy a laptop,I have think of it since last year but until now I didn't achieve it already because I often used my earnings for our expenses .For me,I need laptop because I know that I can do more than just celphone alone. As for you,it's really a sacrifice when you can make your wallet on zero level.Its so hard to earn lately,consider every aspects,if this is really important,or needs.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's hard if you are the main provider in the family, I hope we can buy our own soon. Thanks for your opinion!

$ 0.00
1 year ago