Which should come first; a house or a car?

28 55
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Car, House, Life, Ambition

Howdy folks, how are y'all today? Sunday is almost over and Monday will soon be here, it kinda feels like this weekend was too fast and it ended quickly, probably because I spent half of my Saturday watching movies. I was excited this evening when I saw that binance has removed the suspension they placed on hive some weeks back; I can now deposit hive on binance!

I tried to do so about 2 weeks ago but I got the above message. I later found out that binance suspended the deposit and withdrawal of hive because of the upgrade that hive did at the beginning of this month, binance had to make sure that everything was stable before they started accepting deposits again. I'm just glad it's over but unfortunately, I already sold some of my BCH because I was running out of cash.

Model Source

Today's topic is born out of an argument I had with some of my friends a couple of months ago about which is more important; a house or a car. In my country, it's not surprising to see young people driving very expensive cars which are sometimes a product of their criminal activities (mostly internet frauds), and over the years, it has turned into a competition.

A lot of these young people run off to buy a new car as soon as they have enough money for one, even though it means they have to use all their money to get it. The funny thing with cars is that you have to always buy petrol if you intend to use it all the time and over here in my country; petrol ain't cheap. Some of those youths don't even have a good reason for buying a car, they just don't want to be intimated by their peers who own a car, so they give in to the pressure.

My initial opinion was that it's best to build a house first before owning a car. My reason was that if you have a house, it will be easier to save for a car because you're no longer paying rent, in fact, if you built a big house and rent some parts of it out to people, you will be making more money from it. As for owning a car first, you won't be able to save more for a house because you will be spending money on petrol and also on car repairs (it's inevitable).

Source

That was my initial opinion but after thinking about the whole thing for a while, I finally came to the conclusion that the choice of buying a car or building a house first totally depends on the individual. It depends on what the person takes as the top priority; for some people, it's a house, for others it's a car and none of the two options is right or wrong.

A car can be very convenient and in some ways, it can really help a person to be more efficient in their work (depending on the nature of their job). Some people might argue that owning a car will save you some money from not having to take public transportation but technically you're going to be buying fuel for the car, which of the options will be cheaper? I really don't know or maybe they might be the same (or slightly different).

I personally would love to own a house first before buying a car and a lot of people will prefer to buy a car first, it's totally up to you and what you really want at that point. I believe there are some scenarios where it becomes stupid to buy a car first and believe me when I say I have seen a lot of that scenarios here in my country, but who am I to judge, right? We all have different perspectives when it comes to life and my way of thinking might be different from yours, doesn't mean we can't both be right ๐Ÿ˜‰

Source

So, which comes first; a house or a car? It totally depends on you. But in your personal opinion, which of them will you aim for first? Do let me know in the comment section below.

Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–

Sunday October 30, 2022

15
$ 3.86
$ 3.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 12
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Car, House, Life, Ambition

Comments

It took a while for Binance to reenable the deposit and withdrawal of HIVE but glad it's open now.

As to car or house? For us, house first and the other things follow. Like you said, it depends on individual preferences or priorities.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I also will like to own a house first before buying a car, other people have a reason why they prefer buying a car first and theys totally up to them

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I noticed that too with the deposit and someone hinted me about it being available again and I tried it on Friday and it worked well. Yes, the upgrade caused it and glad to see everything normalized.

I love how you are open with your argument and how you balanced both sides. It's true, it depends on the individual. For some, it's a show off which I found pointless and for others it's for efficiency. Understanding what you need per time helps to make a good choice. No doubt, house is a great asset but car to some extent can be a asset too depending on what the person is using it for and why... We need to understand the need of the hour and act accordingly.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, both options aren't bad and totally depends on what the person needs at that point. Sometimes what a person needs may not necessarily be a house but a car to help facilitate their movement to and from their business and also make their life less stressful, that's totally understandable. But it becomes a problem when a person have no valid reason to buy a car but to show off their financial status

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly... When it's for a show off then it becomes a liability. God help people like that. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I saw your title and I was like" which kind of question this one dey ask laidis"๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ House should defo come first..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

๐Ÿ˜† but instead we see a lot of people parking their cars in someone's house and paying rent without even owning a land, it's their business sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me house should come first because you can't go rent a house to park car in someone's compound but sometimes it depends,

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sometimes it might be more convenient to own a car first but some people do it to show off that they are rich and that to me is foolishness

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me, both depend on the individual just as you have said and in another way, if there is a genuine reason for that, then, owning one of them wouldnยดt be any problem. At least, it will be stupid for someone to give me a reason for owning a car just because they are intimidated. As for me, if buying a car first is what will give me back in return more money to get or own a house, it is good but without any reason of owning a car, then I will go for a house if I have the money. At least, a house appreciates more than a car.

I am really happy that Binance has removed the suspension. It makes it easier for me to trade Hive there than any other exchange. Thanks for the update.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, that's what many people fail to understand; a house appreciates more than a car. Some people buy a car on impulse just to show off that they are "rich" and they can't do that with a house because you can't move around with it to show everybody that you own one, but a Benz that costs millions can be driven around for people to see and say "this guy has money", that's what pushes a lot of those yahoo boys into buying cars coz most of them stay home all the time, so what else do they need a car for? Anyway sha, it's their business

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The stress of using other method to get hive is another thing, although it won't look complicated when you understand the process. Thank God Hive deposit on binance is back...it made me to learn the tough way๐Ÿ™ˆ

This argument of car and house๐Ÿค—, it all depends on the situation of things. Someone that needs car to ease movement for work should get it first. But it's now bad how the priorities are misplaced. People buy cars first these days when they don't have any good reasons for it...just for show off

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You see all those yahoo boys, most of them stay home all the time because that's where they basically work, the only time they go out is to go buy food or to go parties, but once they pick a reasonable amount of money, they run to go and buy a car because they want to start intimidating their fellow hustlers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

House is always the priority to most people but it should be on a case-to-case basis. One may plan to put up a business then a car may come in handy, for employees' house is the priority so they don't have to waste money on rent.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's mostly why I said it depends on the individual. For some people, a car makes their business more convenient and flow easily, so they decide to buy a car first

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In our culture, no matter the number of exotic cars a man has, if he doesn't own even half plot of land, he ain't considered rich

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That one no even concern yahoo boys, their own is to just keep buying Benz and Lexus up and down ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As for me, save up, buy a lot and build my own house. Seems easy, but totally hard to do. Anyways, whatever others chose, it's their decision, so Good Luck to them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's what I intend to do as well; save up a lot and build a house, although it won't be easy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would go with house. I can travel in public transport anyway ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, I don't mind travelling in public transport if it means I will own a house

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are a lot of factors to consider when it comes to buying those two things. The capability to buy one is one thing to "maintain" either one is another. There's insurance for both as well.

I bought a house before I bought a car. Both out of need more than a want. I needed a house to start independent living .. i needed the car so i can get to my house (half pun there) hehhehe.

But really. both have spending that stretches BEYOND just buying the thing itself, the utilities and the petrol that keeps it going.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're totally correct, this is mostly why I said it depends on the individual and what they need at that moment. Each of them have different factors to be considered and the most important factor is the availability of money; a house is generally more expensive than a car (on an average)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is one reason many folks falls back into the poverty lane after squandering the ones they have on less materialistic things

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, they end up misusing their money and squandering it on frivolities

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have both and my priority is always the house because the house provides income and the car is an expense.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Totally, house is an asset but a car is as liability; we still have to fuel it and do maintenance once in a while

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me sir, the house should be at first before anything else.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's what I choose as well; a house

$ 0.00
1 year ago