What keeps you motivated?

32 64
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

I don't know about you but I have discovered it's very difficult to stay consistent if you don't have something (or someone) that's keeping you motivated. It might be a colleague or your dreams, but there's usually a driving force that pushes us to keep going.

I have mentioned before now that one of my dreams is to become a successful programmer (specifically in web development) and I picked up that skill back in 2020 when COVID-19 was seriously ravaging the world. I was so hellbent on becoming a programmer that I practically had no social life, I froze all my social media apps and I practiced coding for more than 8 hours every day.

Image source

But suddenly, COVID relaxed a bit and it was time to go back to school. I tried learning programming while at the same time studying at the university but that was very difficult! I had to pause my programming journey so I could focus on school work, and it has been on pause since then.

I was browsing through nairaland yesterday and I saw a thread titled "My Job Hunting Experiences As A Junior Developer" and I immediately opened it because I love reading anything that's programming related. The poster talked about his journey so far in the world of programming and it's very similar to mine.

Other programmers as well as aspiring programmers dropped their comments and also talked about their experiences, which also included what their salary looked like, those amounts I saw were mind-blowing! 🀯 Someone was comfortably earning $1500 monthly (around NGN900k), and I was instantly feeling motivated to resume my journey.

What I love about that thread was that most people that talked about the good experiences also talked about the nasty side of it and how it's very difficult to get to where they are, so it's left for you to decide if you still have the will to venture down that road.

Image source

But I already knew all that before I decided to learn programming, I knew it was not going to be a smooth ride and at some point, I will feel like giving up (maybe I even did!). After reading all of those experiences, I suddenly realized I have actually lost sight of my dreams and I have gotten too comfortable in my shell.

Right now, I am home doing nothing because universities all around my country have been on strike for over 3 months, but still I didn't use that opportunity to go back to programming and that's because I couldn't find the right motivation to latch on to, but now I have gotten one (or even more than one πŸ˜†).

It's very easy to fall from consistency and lose focus on your dreams. Your brain is always looking for ways to escape and switch things up from the usual routine it follows, and what better way to escape than to come up with distractions? That's the reason you always tend to procrastinate on that important task you're supposed to be doing right now (yes I am talking to you πŸ˜‰).

Image source

Finding the right motivation is also difficult, sometimes the timing might be wrong and the usual things that keep you motivated might fail at that point. I remember when I was new on this platform, my biggest motivation was my goal of getting a new phone and a laptop, that made me work very hard and I spent most of the day on readcash.

But what happened after I bought a new phone? I suddenly lost the zeal for grinding daily here. Sometimes I won't come online for days and I didn't seem to find the right motivation to help me do so. When I noticed what was happening, I figured I needed to come up with another goal to help me stay motivated, that was when I remember I still need to buy a laptop, but it seems that alone wasn't enough.

Then I came up with something new; my final year project. Right now I am in my penultimate year at the university and very soon I will get to the final year which requires me to work on a project, and it's going to be very expensive. Right now I am using that as a motivation to stay focused and keep grinding every day, I am going to need a lot of money for both the laptop and my final year project.

I have gotten back my zeal for programming and I am now motivated more than before. I took a test to know how much I can still remember from the tutorials I took in the past and I was surprised to get 80% of the questions right πŸ˜† not bad for someone who hasn't done any coding for more than a year.

So let me hear from you, what helps you to stay motivated and keep focusing on your goal/dream? It might be a person, a thing, or even a memory, do let me know in the comment section

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Saturday May 7th, 2022

15
$ 4.03
$ 3.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Bilqees
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 14
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

It's always be my family who keeps me motivated and inspired. I know it's hard to tell our parents that we're not doing good because all they can see is that "we're doing great" . So I keep in my mind that whenever I have a problem at school my parents are there to support me and give courage to face all that problems.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You're definitely right on that, most of the time we wouldn't want to disappoint our family and that motivates us to keep pushing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It might be weird though but I get motivated when I sleep and then I wake up with an energy to do something that's productive

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Most of the time we are unmotivated to so something because we lack the energy to do so, but a sound sleep can help to put us back on track

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sometimes I was thinking why programming didn't crossed in my mind when I was studying? It was one of high paying jobs.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

There's a reason it's a high paying job, it's mentally tasking! 😩 But sometimes it's very easy when you're dealing with someone that doesn't know much about tech, the amount of money they will offer you just to fix a bug in their app will leave you speechless πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeah I agree, it was indeed a hard job. hahaha saw it how stressful it was seeing the IT in our office

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seriously, I so agree that for you to be morw motivated you need to have someone or even maybe even just a goals for you to continue what your doing. It's hard to move sometime if you're whole system is being eaten by your laziness and all. As for me, because I want save more using read, I make Rusty as one of my motivation for me to go on and to stirve hard. It's effective naman.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah youree right, rusty is also part of my motivation and I think he is the biggest motivation for most of us here because without him, we would have stopped writing πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a programming knowledge in python there comes a time that I question myself What am I doing? to the point that I lost all interest in programming and then I realize in order to achieve your goals and dreams in life you must like/love what you are doing in your current situation if you don't like it the fruit will be unripe and unbearable to consume.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I have also gotten to the point where I lost interest in programming because ut was too hard, but I figured nothing good comes easy so I just had to keep pushing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Once you tackle a task that to difficult to you just create a program using only the basic concept that you know like string, variable, conditional. And when you feel that you can advance your programming just get back to the task you find difficult at first.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, you got it right. Everything starts by mastering the basics of any language, with that you can move on to complex tasks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I see my kids and my mom face I got motivated. I forget about all tension and my sickness.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You're definitely right, my family are part of what keeps me motivated

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everyone has inside of him a piece of good news. The good news is that you don’t know how great you can be! How much you can love! What you can accomplish! And what your potential is!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You don't know what you're truly capable of until you try ✌️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Depends on what the task is. Academically, I think of all the people who have expectations of me and picture my name in the convocation brochure with a third-class degree after 5 years. I don't want that scenario. Money wise, I look garri and aal the ones I have drank in school, also don't want that. LMAO

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🀣🀣🀣 anytime you feel demotivated, just look at a picture of garri, no be person go tell you to keep on grinding πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The hustle is real

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The hustle is real

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just like you said earlier, it's difficult to stay on track if you're not constantly motivated or you don't have something pushing you 'constantly'.

Even in this platform, if your motivation is on the OFF and ON track, you'll feel demovated most times to engage here... especially when you're motivated by Rusty's visitation, the day it tends to forget you, you won't engage 🀦.

Well, what motivate me most times is a bell in my head, ringing always to remind me of the tasks I have ahead...but sometimes the bell refuses to ring when the head is buggy 😴😴😴

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It will get to a stage that our responsibilities will always keep us motivated and I think that's the stage you're right now πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I saw this somewhere recently, " Discipline is more important then motivation"....... I kept thinking about it for a longtime.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's true o, if you can discipline yourself enough to stick to your goals, you don't necessarily need motivation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Motivation come in our life day after day if we can catch it we can be successful

$ 0.02
1 year ago

We just have to stay motivated 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Many people said that motivation doesn't last, just like bathing which is why we recommend it every day. It's easier to allow mediocrity to set in after we have achieved initial set plan. This is why we need to keep setting new goals...

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's what I have observed, meeting our set goals usually makes us feel relaxed, hence the need for more goals

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly, bro

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, for me, I do look in the mirror most times and I know that can be better and greater than how I am nowπŸ–€

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That also helps some people to stay motivated, it's a good way to remain focused

$ 0.00
1 year ago