There is always going to be someone better

33 41
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Howdy folks 🤠 how was your day? I didn't publish an article yesterday because I didn't really have a topic to write on and instead of racking my brain to come up with something to write, I just said; "f*ck it, I will just take the day off".

I went off to play a mobile game (call of duty) and while playing, a friend of mine messaged me on whatsapp that he is watching my gameplay (you can spectate a friend's gameplay on call of duty, as long as the person turned on that feature) and he said I was playing against bots, which means not real players.

Then he went ahead to show me videos of him playing against real hardcore players, and I was impressed with the way he played. I could tell that he is very much better than me, he has years of experience while I have been playing for just a few months.

Image source

He started listing all his achievements and telling me how he fought hard (or played hard 😆) to get to where he is now. Then he suggested we played together as a team, and I agreed. He started a game and invited me, as usual a team is made up of 4 players so there were 2 other random players on my team.

Now the way the game works is that everyone is dropped on an island and we all go around gathering weapons and supplies, then we try to kill each other, the last team standing wins the game. So the game began and my team started gathering supplies, but suddenly my friend was gunned down 😀 I mean the same friend that was bragging earlier that he is a god 😂.

When I saw what happened, I suddenly thought; "if my friend that is so good at this turned out to be the first player that was killed, what chance do I even have?". Within seconds of processing that thought, I was killed as well by the same player, and he proceeded to wipe out the rest of the team.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

I went back to Whatsapp to chat with him and he was already laughing at how we were wiped out within the first few minutes of the game. One thing I observed was that he didn't give silly excuses for his failure, something like; "my internet was bad", or "I didn't know someone was there", he owned up to the fact that there are people better than him.

The thing is, my friend is in a higher rank than me (he is in the highest rank in the game), which means he is going to be fighting against players in the same rank, and those guys are no joke. So certainly, he is going to come across people that are even more deadly than him 😆.

This principle also applies in our everyday life, there's always going to be someone much better, richer, more beautiful, more intelligent, smarter, more creative, more skilled than us. Take for instance the world's richest men, for some years it was Bill Gates that was at the top of the table (he was at the top for over 24 years!), then later it was Jeff Bezos, and right now it's Elon Musk. Will there be anyone that will surpass Elon Musk on that table? Your guess is as good as mine 😉

Image source

Albert Einstein has always been thought of as the person with the highest possible IQ (said to be between 160 and 190), he is a true genius but someone else now holds the record for having the highest recorded IQ: Ainan Celeste Cawley, with an IQ of 263! 😲 Someone else might be able to break that record in the future.

This reminds me of when I was in high school, for about four years I was the top student in my class and nobody contested that position, until one day a new student arrived and I got booted into the second position by him but that didn't make me angry or jealous, I got close to him and we became very good friends.

And that brings me to the problem associated with the topic for this article; a lot of people react negatively when they meet someone better than them. The usual reaction most people exhibit in situations such as these is that they become toxic, jealous, and angry. Some will even go as far as trying to bring down the other person, they see them as a competition.

Healthy competition isn't bad and it even helps a person to become better, but doing it in a way that looks like a do-or-die affair isn't the answer. Instead of trying to bring down your "opponent", why not become humble enough to learn from them and see how you can improve?

Image source

That's what I usually do when I see someone better, I ask questions or simply watch how they do things so that I can improve my skills and abilities. I don't do it so I can beat the person and have a feeling that I have triumphed over them, I do it so I can improve and become better.

That's another thing some people do; they hide under the pretense of wanting to learn from the better person so they can improve their skills, become better and rub it in the face of their mentor but they forget one very important thing: there is always going to be someone better.

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Friday February 18, 2022

17
$ 3.37
$ 2.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 14
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

Reminds me of when I was in high school too. As soon as I was displaced for the second position, I didn't stress my self too as I can't kill my self too. I just accepted that the guy is better than I am... There's this particular girl in class B who lost her first position to another guy too, the way she was crying ,you would think her mother just died, making the class teacher feel bad

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣 Omo! Crying because of first position? Now that's extreme. Maybe she has strict parents that have told her; "first or nothing". But it's still funny sha, crying like who don lose her birthright

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think her parents are that strict... She's just one of a kind, there are people like that you know

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I need to take one day off from time to time :( 🤯

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's very necessary to do so 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me no one is the best we can only bring the best out of us that makes us special . The almighty God is the best of the best not the tribal chief 😂😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, exactly bro...nobody is the best

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can't always be the best at something there's always some part we will always struggle but we can be better but not be the best

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, we can strive to be good at what we do but always have it in mind that someone else will always be better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I just can't help myself from laughing, lol. I mean, he just brag about it and then, kaboom lol. But well, yeah there's always those people who's much ahead to us. When we thought that we're already good at it but then you face that God of the God lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂 that's right Ruffa, we shouldn't make the mistake of thinking we're the best because there's certainly going to be someone better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't chances at all when it comes to crypto matters, when I know that any small mistake I'm gone. I'm always submissive and ears opened to learn not regarding the standard of the person so long the person has the knowledge. But some of these gurus will now be doing shakara

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No mind them, they forget it's someone that created the Blockchain they are using 😆 but it might be that some of them don't have time sha, hence the shakara

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it's true. But some of them of, their own dey their body

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True enough that there will be someone who is better than us, but I think whats important is we enjoy the process or the journey no matter what the outcome says.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes you're right, it doesn't always have to be a competition to see who's better, we should just enjoy the process

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We don't need to be jealous to the person we knows who is better than us. Instead use it as a motivation to improve ourselves. We should always choose the good ways. Stay in kind and respect each other.

If you beating them then you are the one who make a problem to yourself. Don't let this kind of behavior will eaten you because it's not good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Obsessing over taking down someone better than us will make it hard for us to focus on improving ourselves, it will create even more problems for us, so it's much better to just learn from the person

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's true Kushyzee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true there is always someone better than us. That's what life is, sometimes we are ahead from others and sometimes there are others who are ahead of us. Instead of feeling jealous to someone who is ahead of us, let's learn from them and make them an inspiration. In that way we can also inspire those others who are behind us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, I love this comment, your perfectly captured the idea around this article. There's always someone that is going to be ahead and instead of trying to take them down, we can see them as a source of inspiration to improve ourselves

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, we should make them as an inspiration not the other way around because it's the best thing to do for ourselves and for them too. When we make them as an inspiration, we bring out the positivity in our ourselves and with that, we avoid breaking those who are ahead of us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks like you have thought about these things in the past, you have certainly given me new things to think about, thanks ma'am 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was once a someone who think negatively to what others have achieved but I didn't came to the point that I destroyed them. Having those negative thoughts ruins my peace and from it i learned a lot of lessons. I learned to be happy to what others have achieved and make them my inspiration to be better everyday..In short my experiences in this kind of things, taught me many lessons..You're welcome Kushy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we just really need a break, of course there is always someone better than us, we must always remember that, don't be mad or be jealous when you found that someone but instead make them your inspiration to do better.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can take them as a mentor and it will go a long way in helping to improve your skills

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you find someone better than you, learn from them rather than scorn them for being better than you. It isn't their fault that they are better, you too can become better. I despise the idea that life is a race, if it has anything to do with a race, then it has to be a relay race haha. We are together in this oo whether we like it or not.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Life isn't a race, it's a journey, so it doesn't matter if you arrive late or early, what matters is that you get to your destination, and most times we will need the help of others to help us gettm there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's indeed correct. The goal is to reach the destination, the pleasure is in the journey

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every human being created in this world is not perfect and has its own limitations and has advantages and disadvantages.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And that's the reason why we are always going to have someone better, everybody has different strengths and weaknesses

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perfectly said...there's always someone who is better than us,we shouldn't think that the position we are the overall best in the world there's always someone who would break that record,we shouldn't be jealous when someone does but learn from them and improve our skills.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Being humble enough to learn from someone better is something a lot of people lack, but learning will help to improve our skills

$ 0.00
2 years ago