Sugar

26 57
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Sugar, Childhood

"Haven't you had enough sugar for today?". That was the question I asked my girlfriend yesterday when she asked for a can of Coca-Cola. Earlier that evening, we went out to look for a burger but we couldn't find any shop around us that sells it, so we bought barbecued beef instead (suya) and a can of malt drink.

I wasn't in the mood for drinks that night so I didn't buy any for myself. My girlfriend finished the malt drink even before we got home and she bought another one when we arrived him, which she also drank. We were sitting outside with @Talon and having some random discussions when she suddenly said she wants a can of Coca-Cola.

"It's almost 11pm and no store will be opened by now, where exactly do you want to buy the coke from? And besides, haven't you had enough sugar for today?", I asked. Talon and I went on to tell her that she takes sugar a lot and excess sugar in the body is a bomb waiting to explode.

Image source

I have warned her severally in the past about her intake of sugar and I have also stopped her from taking too much whenever I am around, but she still wouldn't listen. This is someone that uses 6 cubes of sugar just to take cornflakes, meanwhile I use only one cube and some people don't even add sugar at all.

When she's making chocolate beverage, she adds up to 3 cubes of sugar, and I am talking about those 3-in-1 chocolate beverages that already have sugar in them. There was a day she prepared golden morn (a form of corn cereal) and when I tasted it, it was a bit bitter, and why was that? Because there was too much sugar in it!

There's a certain level you will add sugar to something and it will become too much to the extent that you will start getting a bitter aftertaste. It reminds me of the day my sister made custard for me but I didn't know she already added sugar, so I added the usual amount of sugar I use for custards and when I tasted it, I had no option than to throw the whole thing away.

Image source

I used to love sugar a lot back when I was a kid and I took a lot of it back then. I told my girlfriend last night that I have already taken all the sugar I needed in this life back when I was a kid πŸ˜† I ate sugar a lot back then and I became very fat that my skin looked like it had water in it and is about to burst.

I conquered my love for sugar after a while and I slimmed down very much, but I got hooked to sugar again after a couple of years, specifically after high school. I was working during that period, so I had a lot of money to indulge myself in all the sugary stuff I wanted but I picked one poison; Coca-Cola

I was so addicted to Coca-Cola drink that I took nothing less than five cans of it in a day (sometimes 6) and I did that from Monday to Saturday. I also took some Coke on Sundays but at a lower frequency (once or twice). I knew what I was doing was bad but I couldn't just stop myself, like I said I was already addicted.

Image source

I continued that way until I got admission into the university and even at that you can never see me walking without a can of coke in my hand. But how did I finally stop my addiction? I ran out of cash πŸ˜‚ I guess life in the university humbled me and I started thinking about my priorities, of which Coca-Cola isn't one of them.

Now you might ask, why is taking in excess sugar so bad? Honestly speaking, is there anything that is good when taken in excess? Apart from the fact that too much sugar in the body can lead to obesity, it can also lead to a high risk of heart disease but I won't be going into the technicality of this one πŸ˜‰

Excess sugar can also lead to diabetes, specifically type-2 diabetes (this shouldn't be too surprising). Too much sugar intake can lead to something called insulin resistance (insulin is the hormone that regulates blood sugar levels) and this in turn will lead to a high blood sugar level and subsequent increase in the risk of diabetes.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

Excess sugar can also lead to a high risk of kidney disease, depression, and cancer, it has been linked to acne, may accelerate the aging process of your skin, increases cellular aging (translation; you age faster on a cellular level, and trust me it's not a good thing) and it also drains your energy. The funny thing is that the usual culprit in all these I have mentioned is not glucose, it is another form of sugar which is called fructose and it's what is majorly used in soft drinks or sodas.

According to something I found on Healthline;

Just one 16-ounce (473-ml) can of soda contains 52 grams of sugar, which equates to more than 10% of your daily calorie consumption, based on a 2,000-calorie diet.

This means that one sugary drink a day can put you over the recommended daily limit for added sugar, and I used to take 5 a day and my girlfriend wanted to take more than two just yesterday πŸ˜€ I found out about all these effects a couple of years ago and since then, I have been trying to reduce my sugar intake (although it's a very difficult battle).

Image source

So, whenever you have the urge to take more than a bottle of soft drink in a day, just remember all these negative effects I have talked about in this article and grab a bottle of water instead, it will do you a lot of good πŸ˜‰ if you must take soft drinks, then I will recommend not more than two in a week. We should all start telling ourselves the truth and try to cut down on our sugar intake.

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Wednesday March 23, 2022

16
$ 6.41
$ 5.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 16
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Sugar, Childhood

Comments

I remember when I was a kid. My mother's St. Loius sugar really suffered for my side. I could stuff as many as five cubes inside my bag and relish them during break, sometimes I cut small for my friends if they get come to beg me.... But today,I don't even remember the last time I took garri with sugar talkmore of Pepsi, except if I were served in a ceremony. But me using my money to buy it, I rather buy zobo which is not only cheaper but also healthier... Na only one thing I go tell your partner and believe me, she would hate sugar forever, I have a friend like her 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Me that used to tend my mom's provision store when I was a kid, it's an avenue to eat all the sugary stuffs life has to offer πŸ˜† it's a miracle that I don't have diabetes right now, God saved me sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. There's no how you would have gotten diabetes. As children, we had more neutrophils ( innate immunity) than adults. That's why some toddlers could even eat sand and rubblish why crawling but would not fall ill. But same cannot be said of an adult... That's why it's advisable for us to watch what we put in our mouth as we grow up and adapt healthy lifestyle choices cause the body defense system gets weaker as we grow older

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I just learnt something new from you today; neutrophils 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, that is quite too much indeed. It is a bit okay if she drinks a lot of water but if not, she is not doing herself any good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sugar is necessary for our body but too much of it is bad, it is definitely going to have a negative effect on the long run

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right Kush, too much of everything isn't good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was an addict to sugary things back then when i was still in secondary school,taking too much of sugar into the body isn’t good as there are side effects of it and also the good part but the side effects are much more than the advantage.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly bro, taking sugar isn't bad and it's infact necessary for our brain to function, but too much of it becomes toxic to our body

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sugar? I really loved sugar way back to secondary school levels. But the educative information about the deadlines of excess sugar humbled my intake. Also, there are people that are adamant to this because they feel that the effect is not there now. Excess sugar effects manifest the more when someone is catching up with old age.

But I still like sugar though, but once in a while🀦

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's just the thing, it's because we are not seeing the effects of excess sugar now that's why most people are adamant, but the effects we definitely show up when we are older

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like sugary foods very much. But sometimes it is necessary to suppress hunger.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sugary foods actually increases your urge for hunger, you can read more about it online

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahh! What to do I really have sweet tooth though. But this time I am really trying to minimize my sugar intake because I am gaining weight.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aside from gaining weight, there are still a lot of other health factors but they all begins with the addition of weight. You should try to reduce your sugar intake ma'am πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was indeed a sweet tooth when I was youngπŸ˜‚. And coke? I can drink it straightπŸ˜‚.

It changes when I reached mid twentiesπŸ˜‚. Now can't even drink even a glass of it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess we realise we need to reduce our sugar intake as we grow older 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣 I just wrote about sugar and I saw your article! Too much sugar is really bad and I need to cut my intake especially with Coca Cola

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Looks like we had the same epiphany and ended up writing on the same topic πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhhmyy, I already ignore this soda. I don't want to experience again with acid reflux. It's so painful and annoying. Careful taking all those soda because it is truly unhealthy instead just take water.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly Kleah, water is more healthy and it's even cheaper 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha true. Stay hydrated kushy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You too Kleah πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm having hypoglycemia if I'm hungry. That's why I always have a candy with me to delay the onset of hunger...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I had to Google the meaning of hypoglycemia to know it means low blood sugar. In this case your body actually requires more sugar than normal, but it still shouldn't be excess πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago