It's all about twitter spaces

32 54
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

It has been a couple of weeks that my government unbanned Twitter and I have been loving every moment of it. Before now, we make use of VPNs to access Twitter and those of you in Nigeria will agree that it's very frustrating to be turning on your VPN anytime you want to access Twitter, and not to mention it doesn't feel the same way as using it normally.

I have been quite active on Twitter these days, just going through my feed at regular intervals and looking at the trends table to know what's trending (this was one of the things that felt off when using VPN).

Earlier today, I visited twitter after going through readcash and nairaland. I was scrolling through my feed and I noticed everyone was talking about someone named Tariq and also a certain hashtag was trending; #SecureTheTribe.

At this point I was curious so I clicked on the hashtag and I discovered there was a discussion going on in a Twitter space and over 20k people are participating in it. The topic of the discussion was: "How does immigration benefit black Americans?"

Before I go on, have y'all heard about twitter space? It was launched in December 2020 but it wasn't opened to everyone and I heard about it in 2021 when someone suggested we used it for meetups, but I couldn't find the feature on my Twitter, until now.

Twitter spaces are basically live audio chats that are streamed through Twitter, it's just like having a zoom meeting but it's only restricted to audio. Someone just has to create a Twitter space and give it a topic, then anyone interested can join that space and give their opinions on the topic.

This is typically how a Twitter space looks like. And yeah, you can see Tariq there as the host

When I saw it was a Twitter space discussion, I quickly clicked on it and I joined the space but I wasn't getting any audio until I saw a little alert that said I should download the Twitter app. I have been using the web version of Twitter because it's more convenient for me, I just leave it open on a tab while readcash and nairaland are on other tabs, I can easily cycle through them.

I quickly went off to download the Twitter app, and then I joined the space through the app and I was able to get audio. It was an exciting experience seeing all those people in the space airing their views, and it was orderly because not everyone gets to talk at the same time, you have to request it and the host will permit you.

While still exploring the space, a name stuck out like a sore thumb and I immediately recognize it as the name that was on everyone's lips that morning; Tariq, and he is one of the co-hosts of the space. Tariq is a black American living in the US and he is pissed off that Africans are immigrating into the US and taking all the jobs, which he believes is supposed to be reserved for him and other black Americans 😆

Listening to Tariq rant on the Twitter space immediately gives me the impression that he is a very entitled person, jealous, and really selfish. He is pissed off that Africans are doing well in America, getting jobs which he isn't even qualified for. This is someone that is a high school dropout but he is angry that a Nigerian is a top neurosurgeon in the US, what exactly is the basis of his frustration?

A lot of people were in the space which are mostly Africans and black Americans, and they were trying to school Tariq on where he is getting it wrong, but he isn't having any of it, instead, he mutes anyone that isn't talking inline with his opinion.

I was laughing hard that morning just listening to all the rants and banters, and I also learned a few things from a couple of intelligent individuals who were stating facts about America. The good thing about Twitter spaces is that you can be listening to it while doing other things with your phone, it's just like listening to a radio.

After a couple of rants which lasted for some hours, the discussion finally ended with Tariq saying he needs to go sleep. I later discovered that the discussion has been going on for over 15 hours! These people have a lot of time on their hands, and Tariq is there complaining about Africans taking jobs in America, meanwhile, he has been on Twitter for over 15 hours arguing 😂

For those that want to experience twitter space, download the Twitter app and click on the button that I pointed to in the image above, it will take you to the Twitter spaces tab.

From here you can join any of the popular spaces or you can create yours with the button I pointed to. You can see from the above picture that there is a Twitter space that's live at the top and the host is Tariq Nasheed, yeah he is back and I will join now to listen to the crazy things he has to say this time 😂.

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Thursday January 27, 2021

12
$ 3.87
$ 3.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 11
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

Tariq was and is still delusional in my opinion. What does he even mean by foundational black American. Doesn't he realise that he's the son of slaves from Africa who were forcefully migrated or does he think he's forefathers were one of the aboriginals or were part of Christopher Columbus' convoy?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, so you were even following the convo on twitter 😆 I think that guy is just trying to be popular by being controversial. They say no publicity is bad publicity

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, I heard he's trying to sell his book

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gbam! You hit the nail right on the head, maybe his fellow deranged foundational black Americans will patronise him 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 Maybe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was the happiest person knowing that I can use my Twitter without struggling with VPN. The VPN inconvenience was mad Especially when I must turn it off before going through readcash...I forgot one day and thank God nothing happened tonkh account. Twitter space? I have heard but not Experienced it. Maybe because I've been using the lite version.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank God that they have lifted the ban sha, now I can be active on Twitter without relying on VPN

$ 0.00
2 years ago

its quite sad that someone would say such tvile things about hardworking people making an honest living. Whats more unbelievable is that they are people from the same race as him. I think he might just be chasing clout because Nothing stops Jim from competing favourably too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly what I think as well, he might be chasing clout by being really controversial and spiking people's emotions

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad that your government re-opened your access to Twitter without the use of any VPNs. I experienced Twitter space around the last quarter of last year. I was interested about a coin so I went in and yes, it's a good experience :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will be taking part in more of those spaces until I probably get tired of it (or not), it really is a wonderful experience

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its been long I logged into twitter even before oga Buhari banned it .... Tariw guy should be ashamed of himself, He's just succeeded in making himself and his race a laughing stock in feint of the world. I have heard that majority of our African american cousins are lazy. They also constitute the highest percentage of immates in prison even though they have a lower popularltion in the country..... Drugs, drunk driving, gangsterism, domestic violence. Just name it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

African immigrants especially the ones from Nigeria are among the best educated in the US, so I guess people like Tariq are just jealous of that fact

$ 0.00
2 years ago

especially our brothers and sisters from the southern part. They are really doing Nigeria proud by changing the narrative

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Back to normal. Perfect 😃

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's my first time to encounter this "Twitter Space". This is really interesting Kushyzee. I think it's fun while listening the others with their opinions and ideas. The good thing also as what you said, that you can do anything in your phone while listening to them.

I will try it Kushyzee. Thank you for sharing this. I learned something new today about the Twitter application.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're welcome Ramona, I am glad you learnt something new from all I have said 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Kushyzee. Thank you so much.❤️☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know bout that button yet. Haha..but I guess it's the same thing used by BCH meetings on Twitter.. You guys can join sometimes too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah I noticed some spaces that had BCH related topics

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know what Twitter Space was. This is the first time I'm familiar with it. This sounds really interesting to me. It's always fun to listen to people's opinions.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes it is Mazekin, I am glad I came across the twitter spaces

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol that Tariq man is jealous. He never ask his self first what is lack or wrong with him. If he envy foreigners for their excellence in their country how much more to his own brothers. He has a mental problem.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂 that's the same thing most of us agreed on, he has a serious mental problem

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How ironic. That a black American is complaining about an African man in his supposed racist country.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The thing shock me, he is talking as if he is the true owner of America 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also join and listen to random twitter spaces because it looks like an podcast but live and you can request to join if you want to speak haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, it's like a podcast but it's even more interesting because it's live and people can freely speak

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It´s a new feature where everyone can get to listen to different views and opinions across the world. I think it´s good but I just can´t waste my time spending 15hours on nothing meaningless like Tariq´s own 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂 I am telling you, I wonder how people comfortably stayed and listened to that guy for over 15 hours

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know more about these twitter space but thanks for your wonderful information right now I have installed the twitter app at my mobile phone now I am going right away to listen to the space . ♥️♥️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Twitter spaces can be fun when there's an interesting topic being discussed

$ 0.00
2 years ago