If you're working from home, how do you stay fit?

18 34
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Hello everyone, how are you today?

I spent a lot of time today on my laptop working on a fun coding project that looked very intimidating at first but it turned out to be much easier than I thought. In fact, it was so intimidating the first time I saw it that I had to abandon it for over two weeks but I finally summed up the courage to tackle it yesterday.

I worked on it day and night, it was even more fun today and I spent extra time on it above my daily allocated time for coding. I learned one important lesson from this project; always break down your problems. I guess I will talk about what I mean by this in another article, I don't want to derail too much from the original title which is focused on fitness.

Model Source

Keeping fit

Some of us on this platform stay at home most of the time because we don't have a physical job outside, we mostly work online and hence there's no need to go out too much. Working from home can be a very good thing especially if you're the type who doesn't like the stress of a 9-5 job, it is a lot more convenient and comfortable.

One downside to working from home is that you tend not to move around much and it's easy to gain weight in a situation like that. I made mention that I spent a lot of time on my laptop today which means I hardly moved from my sitting position for several hours! Yes I know, it's a bad habit but it doesn't happen all the time, most times I'm just lying down and pressing my phone 😆. Does that mean I have gained a lot of weight now? Not really.

During the COVID-19 lockdown of 2020, I was in a similar situation and I did gain some weight but I quickly fixed that by exercising daily. The COVID-19 period was actually the worst because I remember I didn't step foot outside of my apartment for over 3 months! I was always indoors but now I do go out sometimes, specifically on Sunday when I have to go to church.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

But churches were shut down during the COVID-19 lockdown, so I was home all the time and as expected, I started gaining weight. I installed an app called home workout, my brother and I used it every day to exercise and that was how I stay fit back then. But now I'm no longer using the app, I'm just too lazy and I always give the excuse that I don't have time.

I no longer use the app but I still manage to stay fit, how am I doing it? It's actually a simple answer; I fetch water every day. My brother was initially the person in charge of fetching water but he traveled for several months now, so I had to take over. Every day, I go out to fetch water with some gallons, and then I drag it up a flight of stairs to our apartment.

I do that for about one hour daily and that itself is exercising, that's how I stay fit 😁 dragging 25 liters of water on both hands while climbing a flight of stairs every day for about an hour is like lifting weights! That's basically the only chore I do in my house and after that, I'm free for the rest of the day and I spend the remaining time online and lazying around.

Source

Most times I take a break from using my laptop and phone by walking around the apartment, and that doesn't qualify as keeping fit but at least it's much better than sitting in one spot for several hours without doing anything. Most people who work at home have different ways of keeping fit, some talk evening/morning walks while others engage in other physical activities like aerobic exercises.

Any method you choose is okay and there isn't the best way to do it, as long as you're not always cooped up in one spot for several hours every day, then it's good. If you're the type that doesn't engage in any physical activities and always spends time indoors, you should probably change that habit or you might regret it when you're older. So I will like to hear from those of you that work from home; how do you stay fit? Let me know in the comment section below and maybe I will learn something new.

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Thursday August 25, 2022

7
$ 0.88
$ 0.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
+ 3
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

I remember the days I was at home villa, one day working in the farm has a coverage of one week normal exercising. But a lot of people don't count all these chores and work as exercise. The only exercise to them are the ones from instructors or some basic steps that are common. Na them sabi

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Guy, farm work is not easy o. I remember I worked in someone's farm for some money in the university, after that day I run from farming 😂 one day of farming is not even one week normal exercise, na one month 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol🤣. It's not easy at all. And that's what people do for a living, constant working in farm.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love working at home kushyzee because I don't need to go outside compared when I was working in the office. It was really tiring I need to wake up early because I'm going to prepare first then also there was a traffic also.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It looks like we are the same 😁 I also don't like working in an office and I prefer working from home because it's not stressful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes kushyzee that's true. Less hassle if we are working from home kushyzee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So glad to know that you know how to manage yourself to be fit even at your home. How I wish, I can do that too! :) But of course maybe sometime, because now, I am running out of time due to my work and other side hustles.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You work in a school, right? At least you get to leave the house every day and that alone is enough to help you stay healthy 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is nice that you are learning coding skills Kushy :) It's very useful. Earlier today, I read a blog in Hive of why one must learn coding.

And your daily exercise is good hehe, fetching water and climbing up the stairs. I am guilty of having not much physical activities daily so I only go for short walks out the yard when the weather permits it. Although I'm not gaining any weight, I know that prolonged sitting time daily is unhealthy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Coding is great but not everyone can have fun doing it, it does get very frustrating sometimes 😆

You're the person I had in mind when I mentioned that some people take walks, you mention it most times in your articles 😁 short walks are great because it gives you an opportunity to stretch your legs and loosen your joints, it's a lot better than doing nothing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true, I only make use of the markdown thingy on Hive so not know much about coding but it's an interesting skill to learn.

Yes, blood needs to circulate better and walking helps and like you said, loosen the joints too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Coding is a very interesting skill and once you get past the whole frustrating aspect, you will be amazed by the things you can do with it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lols. My immediate answer was.... "I don't". I also used to have HIT workouts with my brothers but when I get busy there is no time to join them. I plan to take out the bike later. I just have to resolve one bit of an issue with my deliverables.

I used to have badminton, jogging and biking.. but they are all "resting" for now. Hahaahhaah.

As for chores ... Lifting jugs to fill up the purifier.. but that's too minimal. Yours however isssss a legitimate hard workout.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Looks like I'm not the only one that had to abandon an exercise routine 😆 I abandoned a lot of physical activities and replaced them with using my phone and laptop. If you feel lifting jugs is too minimal, then you should probably add another physical activity to that. Biking is a good one and it won't be too stressful, since you used to do it in the past

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This will be my job next time. I guess, working at home is more convenient but unhealthy 😅. It will make you lazy and forget to do proper hygiene, a healthy diet, and more 🤣🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂 exactly Ate Jane, that's the major con when it comes to working from home, it's unhealthy and you will have to find ways to stay healthy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

[deleted]

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Physical activities will help us stay fit and it's better than doing nothing

$ 0.00
1 year ago