How do you cope with hunger?

16 41
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Howdy folks, how are y'all today? I had a very busy day and at one point it became very frustrating because I hadn't eaten anything until around 2 pm! But before I talk about what really made me not take breakfast, let me start with the events from yesterday that led to today's own.

Model Source

Some of y'all might recall that I talked about writing my field practical training report and the deadline for submission is just one week away. So, my friends and I decided to start going to night classes throughout this week so that we can finish the report before the deadline. Night class simply means we will go to school at night and sacrifice our sleep as we focus on reading or in this case; writing the report.

It was yesterday that one of my friends invited me to an award ceremony which took place today. She is one of the people getting an award, and I have to be there as her friend (or entourage πŸ˜†). I only slept for a few hours after finishing one chapter of the report, and this morning around 8 am, we all went home to get ready for the event which is supposed to start by 10 am.

We planned to leave home around 9:30 am and because of that, I didn't have the time to take breakfast. I actually planned on buying snacks on the way but we took an Uber straight to the event and when we got there, I didn't see any shops around. My friend told me that there will be food at the event and that gave me some level of comfort πŸ˜†.

Source

Like I said earlier, the event was supposed to start around 10 am but up until 11 am, they still haven't started and I was already feeling very hungry. How then did I cope with it? I started watching funny videos on YouTube 😁 one thing that can help to take my mind off hunger is laughter, I can just laugh and forget about my predicament. Even when the event started, I was too hungry to concentrate on what was going on (which in my opinion is boring), so I continued watching videos on YouTube.

The hunger was still there but at least I was doing something fun. It's very different if the situation changed and I was in a class where I can't use my phone, I will feel the effects of the hunger very much. But since I was in an event where I was free to use my phone and I had my ear pods with me, I distracted myself with funny YouTube videos.

It was around 2 pm that my friend was called to receive her award. I was still waiting for the food that was supposed to be served but at that point, I didn't see the need of waiting any longer since my friend has gotten what she came for, so we left. I went outside and luckily for me, I saw someone selling plantain chips, so I bought some and devoured them with no shame πŸ˜‚.

Source

My friend took us out to get ice cream and that was a very big consolation for me. The ice cream helped to quench the hunger to some extent and when I got home, @Aimure prepared plantain and fried eggs (we are roommates now); that was the first real food I ate today. The person that got the award today (an award of excellence) is @Mhizutty (some of you might know her but she isn't very active these days).

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Tuesday November 22, 2022

5
$ 0.37
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 4
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

I simply just force myself to sleep.. if I die in the sleep, no probs. Life continues 😭

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ I can't even sleep when I'm hungry, sleep usually run far away during that moment

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Coping up with hunger was demn hard but we'll I can manage by drinking water. Or it could be curling to bed but if outside? 🀣 Congrats for suprassing K!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ water also works for me but curling in bed will definitely make it worse, unless I'm using my phone too 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You havenΒ΄t encountered that hunger that will make funny Youtube videos not funny again because, at that point, something will be eating you up in your stomach like a bite and even smiling will be difficult. Lol

Hunger isnΒ΄t good oo, especially an extreme one. I guess that wasnΒ΄t the one you experienced because I have been there and that was many years back. It wasnΒ΄t easy that day but thank God today. Congratulations to @Mhizhutty

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🀣 I totally get what you mean sha, there are some hunger that will hit you and you won't be able to do anything but just sit in silence and cry inside πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes if I felt hungry kushyzee I keep myself busy at my phone so that I couldn't feel it more kushyzee. Feeling hungry is really struggle when there is no food.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's what I do too Ramona, I keep myself busy with my phone and that helps me to cope with hunger 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whenever I feel hungry but can't eat yet? For example, when I am currently attending a class. I'll just drink water first but when I got home, I won't eat yet. I will wait until my stomach churns again due to hunger. I tend to lost my appetite whenever hungriness fades ey ~

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Water also helps me to keep down hunger but if I'm in a place where I can get water, I can definitely get food too πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha same thoughts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Diversion works. Keeping myself busy will take my mind away from hunger.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, anything to distract me from thinking about it will always work

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahh i can feel your hunger because this has happened to me too. I also have attended many events where they were supposed to provide us Meal in the end. By the way @Mhizutty congrats for your award. Proud of you dear.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This is usually why I always try to eat before going to any event, we can never be too sure that they will provide us meal on time

$ 0.00
1 year ago