Do you live your life to please others?

35 48
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Psychology, Twitter

It's a cold evening over here and I am just in my room feeling very pissed off about the poor power supply this country has. I was eager to work on my project today when there was light in the morning but it went off before my laptop finished turning on 😩.

I was still hoping power will be restored later on but up until now we are still in the dark, I don't even have any more hopes that it will come on today. I spent a lot of time on Twitter today connecting with other programmers and that was when I came across a thread of awesome psychological quotes and I want to talk about one of them today.

You are only caging yourself

Source

One of the things that is a big source of unhappiness is trying to live up to the expectations of others. Most of the time, people that live this way are always trying to find ways to please others, and receiving validation is all they care about. Even when what they are doing is a source of pain for them, they are stuck in the illusion that they will be happy if other people approve of them.

This is the reason why you will see some women trying to do plastic surgery to modify their bodies and meet up with "industry standards" because they believe that's what society expects from them; "I need to have them bigger because that's what men like", a lot of them say to themselves before going under surgery. The unlucky ones end up losing their lives, all because they are trying to please society.

Many people have been held back from achieving greatness because they are always worried about what people will say. "I can't wear that cloth again because people will think I am poor", "I can't be a fashion designer because people expect me to be a doctor", "I can't marry her because everyone said she's not my type", how about doing what you really want?

Image source

The truth is that people are always going to have expectations but you can't allow that to decide how you're going to live your life. One thing to remember is that you can't please everybody, there's always going to be someone that will be unsatisfied with what you do, so why not just do what you really want since there's nothing you can do to make everyone happy?

The funny thing is that even when someone ends up dying, everyone still won't be satisfied. Some persons will be sad about the person's death, but someone out there will be happy about it. Trying to meet up with everyone's expectations comes with a sacrifice and that's your happiness. You end up sacrificing our happiness just to make them happy and guess what? They still won't be satisfied!

The moment you stop trying to live according to people's expectations, you will realize you will be happier with yourself. Trying to please people is closely tied to having low self-esteem, which in turn is linked to not having self-love; you simply don't love yourself! If you really love yourself, why bother going against your happiness just to get recognition from someone else? Why allow someone's else validations to determine your happiness?

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

The more you try to meet the expectations of others, the bigger the cage you create around yourself and it doesn't stop growing until you have completely enclosed yourself and can no longer see the world. Aside from the mental stress that comes with this, there's also a very high chance that you will fall into depression.

Something funny just happened at this point. I am currently listening to Kendrick Lamar's latest album and the current song I am listening to now is Kendrick Lamar just screaming "I can't please everybody" πŸ˜† talk about perfect timing! I had to restart the song so I can closely listen to the lyrics and I think y'all should listen to it as well. The song's name is crown by Kendrick Lamar

Closing thought

You can't please everybody, don't even bother doing that unless you're fine with being a slave for the rest of your life and staying behind a cage of your own creation. Start doing things you care about and don't give a fvck about what anybody thinks, your happiness should come first in your life. Do this and watch how happier your life becomes. Happiness is very easy to acquire, we are the ones that make it complicated.

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Wednesday June 8, 2022

15
$ 1.71
$ 1.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 10
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Psychology, Twitter

Comments

This country will humble you when it comes to expectations πŸ˜… Well, many people have lost their lives due to living for everyone, especially the ones caused by family, that's the worst cause one might have no place to run to.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Omo, that family's own is the worst. You will see something like that when it comes to what the child wants to be in the future, that's when you will hear the parents telling the child to study medicine in school when the child truly wants to be an engineer

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Swrs, some people are doing the profession the parents choose for them and not the one they wanted to do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo me no come know whether I even dey live sef. Anyway, I haven't listened to this Kendrick's album.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Seriously? Guy the album too make sense o, that guy is not your regular kind of rapper

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You spoke my mind. You took these lovely words out of my mouth. I wrote about this earlier in the week and also posted something similar today as well. You nailed this. A lot of people have ruined their dreams because of what others have to say. It's a terrible way to live.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Imagine just living your life according to the expectations of people, just creating an elaborate prison for yourself. Thinking about it alone is already giving me headache

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahahaha. I love how you put this... elaborate prison.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to please people with a lot of lifestyle but now ehhh, to hell with what people say. Pleasing people is just like living in a prison, you'll suffer depression and the prisoners will still beat you🀷

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ this your analogy make sense, it looks like you have had first hand experience with people like that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When life is lived on one's own terms, only then is it worth living. Living to please others is like letting them make decisions for you when you're the one who'd take all the consequences.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's just like you're in your own car driving but you're depending on the instructions of someone in the backseat to know when to go forward or reverse

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do this before, I always strive to please others in all I do but now I know better from the lessons I've learnt about life

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Life has a way of teaching us a lesson, it's up to us to learn from it or not and I am glad you learnt

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The number of women dying to plastic surgery these days is just alarming. I keep shaking my head to why anybody would let another make them feel so ashamed of themselves and want to change not because they need it but because someone said so. Sad!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I just tire. Some people are never contented with the way they are, they will be envious of someone's body and will want to modify their's to look like that of the person, very low self-esteem

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People pleasers often deal with low selfesteem and draw their self worth from the approval of others. There was a time I watched a movie when the girl was saying β€œI am only worthy of love if I give everything to someone else”.... Imagine pleasing someone else with everything and last last she go still con chop breakfast

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ there are actually people like that in real life, I wonder how they even think sometimes. Some people just like mental problems sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If one try to please others always he'll end up going to an early grave. I stopped this a long time ago because it isn't worth it at all.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's one of the fastest way to an early grave

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is this quote that came to my mind while reading your post; 'the more you try to move with people's expectation the more you lose your originality and you are thrown to the shadows'. Truth is whether we do what we THINK is expected of us or not, humans can never be satisfied by our actions. So LIVE YOUR LIFE!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

My points exactly, do what you want to do without worrying about what people will say because they have expectations of what you should do, it's your life not theirs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

dang, I can't imagine myself being in your situation where there is a poor power supply. I'd be so pissed every day. My patience can't even last lol.

and as for this, I love this line of yours Kush, The more you try to meet the expectations of others, the bigger the cage you create around yourself and it doesn't stop growing until you have completely enclosed yourself and can no longer see the world. We are the one who is in control of our lives, and it is up to us if we let society controls us.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

People just sit back and let society dictate how they live their life, at one point they are no even in control of their life anymore and it's only a matter of time before they start asking people of its ok to breath

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Is power outage normal in your place or is this just a current event today? Hmm. When you know your purpose in life, you will not please others. You will only follow and do what is right for the benefit of your purpose.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Power outage is very normal in my country, it has been like that for as long as I can remember and it's very frustrating 😩

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We wont find real happiness if we continue to live based on society standards. Pressure will just eat us up until " depression" will be enter the scenarion

$ 0.02
1 year ago

People will always have different approach to life and that's what works for them, you do what works for you and find happiness

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love my life for myself and to fulfill my purpose here. Not for others.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Same here 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You see that popular saying that goes at the end of the day you can not please everyone you are not jollof rice it just means no matter what you do .. people must find fault so why bother what they think in the first place if you aren’t okay with it

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. Some people won't still be satisfied even if you're dead, so why bother going to extra miles to meet their expectations

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly just be killing yours elf for nothing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When you say that the person is sad for someone who is dying, you are right. The one I watched in the video was really funny. Blessed morning to you.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Blessed morning to you too 😊 thanks for your feedback

$ 0.00
1 year ago