Alone on an island for a month

38 86
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

I was having a conversation with @Ruffa on her article two days ago; I hate being lonely but I prefer being alone and she replied to my comment that she doesn't really feel lonely if she stays in her room for long maybe because her moms are there with her. Then I gave her a scenario;

Surprisingly she said yes 😂 although she went further to say It's only in her mind and we won't really know until she does it. She's definitely right and I have been in a slightly similar situation before.

Image credit: Banner vector created by upklyak - www.freepik.com


Alone in the hostel

As I have said in my previous articles, I'm a student in one of the federal universities in my country and I stay in the off-campus hostels around the campus.

The off-campus hostels are located in a community that is mainly inhabited by students and it's a very lively place when the university is in session. But it looks like a ghost town when we go on vacation, as most students will travel back to their families.

I stay in the same town as my university and my home is just a 30 minutes drive from the university, so I can go back home anytime I like. The university usually gets deserted after exams and that's when students leave the off-campus hostels

I don't usually like going back home immediately after exams, coz my house can be boring most times. So I stay a week or two after school exams, before going back to my family. My friends who stay in the same hostel lodge with me also don't go home immediately, but something changed last year.


Covid-19 pandemic vs the school calendar

The covid-19 pandemic messed up our school's calendar last year (it's still messed up till now) and when we finally resumed, the school's management rushed classes and we didn't have breaks.

Usually, we have a month's holiday after first semester exams, but this time around it was only a week and most people that stay far away didn't bother to go back home. It was after the second semester that we were now given a one-month holiday, and that was during December.

As soon as the second semester exam finished, a lot of people traveled back home the following day. I planned to go back home the following week, but I was surprised when my friends told me they will be leaving the next day.

"Well it's no big deal, I will be going back next week and that's just a few days from now", I said to myself. The next day my friends left, including my roommate so I had the room all to myself (yay!)


A very boring day

My friends left on a Saturday and I planned on leaving the next Monday, it's just two more days and it's nothing an introvert can't handle, right?

I usually stay all day in my room, coming out once in a while to walk around or to go buy something from outside. While in my room, I can hear people talking outside and walking about but that Saturday was different; it was quiet as a library

My lodge has 20 rooms, and at that point, only 5 rooms still had occupants, as the others have traveled back home. I stepped out of my room to go buy something from one of the few shops in my street, and the street was also empty.

When I got back to my room, I locked myself in as usual and just focused on my phone. I watched movies, played games, surfed the internet and did a lot of things but I was still bored. At that point, I made up my mind to run back home the next day which was a Sunday.


Stuck on an island for a month

Image credit: Banner vector created by upklyak - www.freepik.com


Will you be able to stay on an island for a month alone with nobody around, but you will have everything you need like food, water, accommodation, electricity, and other basic needs?

I couldn't stay in a hostel lodge that still had a few people, I'm pretty sure I will go crazy if I stay on an island for a month without any human interaction. Some people might argue that you can just video call anyone you want, but trust me it's not the same thing

There's just something about knowing there is a loved one or a friend around you, even if you don't talk to each other, just knowing he/she is nearby makes all the difference. It isn't the same as talking to them over the phone, yes you can see them but you can't actually feel their presence.

If you believe you can stay one month alone on an island, then I guess you might end up making friends with all the animals on the island and who knows, you might just become the next island princess and take over from Barbie 😂

Barbie island princess

Gif source

But just as Ruffa said, it might be possible in your mind but we won't know until you find yourself in that condition.

Thanks for reading 💗💗💗

September 26, 2021

11
$ 7.42
$ 6.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 6
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

In a quarantine facility, like a ghost town, with gadget, provisions, friends that never forget to drop food, send msgs and family to be always there to answer all my woes, still you will feel alone for you are far apart from the others, when night comes, the silence is deafening and wandering what happen next. Sleep deprive with no appetite. How much more to be in an island alone, with my age surely I could not adjust, and surely the human in an island will become a grease man.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very true, this is what most people aren't seeing. At one points it gets very lonely and depressing, we all need human company to keep our sanity in check

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do talk to myself most times. Some people thought I'm crazy, but they never knew I was holding board meeting 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😆 board meeting with the different personalities in your head

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅😅 I'm telling you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are people that can stay all through the month without interaction with physical friends. Yeah, I've seen. "But what if serious attack(sickness) comes?" This question 🤔🤔🤔🤔

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Another point, you have actually looked at it from another angle 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The first thing that will come to everyone's mind is "Yes i can, so far there's data connection, food, phone and power supply, i can survive ". But the truth be told, we can't undermine the importance of communication and companionship.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Finally, someone that appears to agree with me 😅 I don't know how people can stay an entire month without seeing another human, if it comes to it many people will have a mental breakdown

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A whole month on the island alone would be great fun for me, as long as I have my gadgets and the environment is safe and healthy.

I will have fresh food, I love exploring and you will be surprised at what I will achieve. I can go as far as writing a book.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You guys are trying, I don't think I can even stay one week, I will come back home with mental problems 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lolz, that's not true. As long as you have everything you need, you will adapt in a matter of days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I have all the necessary things then I am sure I can stay for a month or two! But would there be internet on the island?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coz internet is important right? 😅 Yeah there would be internet, but even at that it would be boring sometimes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If being provided with anything, including the internet, I think I can survive living in an island for a month. It is just a piece of cake for an introvert person like me.hihi

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm also an introvert but I can't even think about doing that, I guess there are people that are more introverted 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hihihi, maybe. Me, there was one time that some of our neighbors thought that I was in other place. When they saw me, they asked where I came from. I told them that I was just in the house. They didn't believe me because they didn't see me for a month.hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't stay alone for 1 hour. 1 month is a long way off. But if it is an island, I have to think about whether I can stay or not.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We won't really know until you try 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually a human has capability to stay at the island alone for 1 month, the same I am, I can live in an island alone with the things I need like internet. Having such magnificent view of the island, no stress and people that can see is a esthetic on my eye. Imagine living in a island without people surrounds makes me mesmerize the things in the past, it's the best way to forget all the bad memories. In addition, I'll feel happiness and freedom cause no one ruled me except myself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess some people actually need that time away from humanity to help them forget about their past. And yes you're right, humans have the capacity to stay alone, but it won't be easy for most people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously I would love to be stuck on an island alone given I have everything that I need if I don't have a family. I used to live on my own when I move to the big city to work. And I love being alone. I enjoyed my own company! 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

But that wouldn't be the same if you're the only person in that entire big city, think about it 😉

Welcome back momma, you weren't online for some few days, hope you're fine?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember, when Mom had to fo somewhere and I was leave alone on our house for a week. I didn't really get bored coz I have a lot of things to do. Like lie on my bed and just watch all day, lol. So Month will be easy peasy too, but yeah we're not really sure unless we are on that situation 🤔

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Looks like you did well on your own when your mom travelled for a week, you could probably stay one month on an island

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bring it on Kush! Everything's there and only for a month, I can do it, Lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣 I'm not surprised that you can do it, I guess there are people even more introverted than I am

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well an island can be a paradise as long as everything needed is there :D And with technology, I believe I can survive a month, or even a little longer, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are you sure you're human? 😂 It looks like you're used to being alone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! I pinched myself and it hurts, I'm still human, LOL! To be honest, I've never been alone for that long and it makes me wonder if I can survive a month, let alone in an island :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess Ruffa was right and it might just be possible in your head 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She might be, and we don't know what we can do until we find ourselves in the situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly ma'am

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's fine for me to stay on an island for a month for as long as I have all stuff and food I needed to survive haha. But with wifi connection please 🤣🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂😂😂 I should have said a year instead of one month, it seems staying alone for a month is easy for most people

$ 0.00
2 years ago