Three (3) ways to empower yourself as a Woman

10 72
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

3rd of April 2022

Lead Image

1. Like and respect yourself

The first person and the only person who should unconditionally like and respect you is you. Women who have not felt empowered within attach a lot of what is happening outside to their self-worth.  I can tell you this because I lived among women for years as the only male in the family and I’ve seen them struggle with self-empowerment and self confidence.

Now regardless of gender, I'm not somebody who came from a background where I felt empowered, and I had to work very hard on myself. I personally also believed that having a fantastic education, having accomplishments lifestyle would make me worthy of my own respect but that doesn't work. The   goal posts keep changing and it does not equate to any kind of self-worth.

So here is something that I did, and you can do as well. I stood in front of the mirror every morning and I said I like myself and respect myself. I began to validate myself. I must tell you that the first few days were very difficult to say it. I think I broke down the first time or the second time and yet over time I realized that nobody can really disrespect me until I allow myself to be disrespected.

The moment you feel that you like and respect yourself unconditionally, you will stop giving out power to other people. All the empowerment to be assertive, to stand your ground and to have boundaries that you seek outside already lies within you. 

2. Have clarity

You can't get what you want if you don't know what you want. A lot of choices are made for women who don’t feel empowered. It could be the educational qualification that they have, the industry they work for and sometimes personal decisions as to who they will marry and how they will live their lives, how they bring up their children and so on.

Here is something that you can do- you take a picture of yourself put it in front of you when you are feeling that you are making yourself smaller than necessary. You tell yourself what you would want to do better. Look at this person in front of you, would you like her to make herself smaller or would you empower her from that place of empowerment? Make your choice and respond with clarity and assertiveness.

3. Acting and experimenting

The only way to be an assertive woman is to act like an assertive woman. In this case, instead of first feeling like an assertive woman act like an assertive woman and let that change your perception of who you are.

As a Man, I sometimes feel that there is an expectation that I'm going to fill. I feel like this is my square and I am going to remain in the square until I break it open. I must stand up for myself, I am not ashamed to ask for what I want and I'm not so scared to be disliked. I believe this should apply for both male and female.

I tell myself daily- I know a lot of people don't like me but there are many more who do like me, and   I am focused on those people. I tell myself I am not anybody’s cup of tea and I think you should try to be like that as well. You're not everybody's cup of tea and so be it.

It's not going to be a linear progression but an experiment with a new identity of yourself. Activities like approaching somebody for a conversation, leading and setting the tone for a meeting and so on are some little things that you can do every day to  break that pattern and that mould that you have created for yourself or was given to you since you gained consciousness of who you are.

Disclaimer: This article and all material used in this content is used for entertainment and educational purposes only. It is solely based on my opinion and is considered subjective.

Follow me on: Readcash  Noisecash

17
$ 3.97
$ 3.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Cleophia2
+ 6
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

Amazing article about women.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its a good article about women. I like it because respect is good gift for every women.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Work hard for the woman you want to become. Work hard enough that someday you whisper to yourself, - "this is the woman that I built " Better. Stronger. Wiser.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it's true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with everything. As a woman, we should start everything within ourselves. Because. It will eventually radiant on the outside.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We, women, will always know our self-worth. If we see less, we will walk out because we know our worth. Nice read!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our self is the only one who can put us in succession with out perseverance and strong faith with self that all of things in this world can be made by woman's too. Thanks you for this amazing words from you Kristoffer.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As we celebrated women's month, what I want to see is women empowering not only themselves but the other women as well. There should be understanding and helping to become useful in the society.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It should start within ourselves. I love how the womens in this generation are so fearless in everything. As a woman, I don't only empower myself but also the other womens too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope women can empower themselves more and be more dominant too. Hopefully they find this helpful

$ 0.01
2 years ago