Scariest Japanese Urban Legends

23 107
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
1 year ago
Topics: Myth, Urban legend, Japan

21st of May 2022

Lead Image

Each ethnic group in the world has its own myths and various legends. In the Arab culture there are Ghouls, in Morocco- Aisha Kandisha in Egypt there is the El-Nadaha, and so on. Each based on their various beliefs and religions. In this article, I’d be writing on the four scariest Japanese Urban legends.

1. Amazake-baaba

Source

This myth is an ugly old woman and dates to the post World War II period. It is said that this woman comes to your house on a dark night and is looking scary and full of blood. So, she knocks on your door and waits for you to open the door for her and if you open the door, she will ask you to offer her a drink of sake.

If you do what she asked of you she will leave you in peace and if you do not offer her this drink your end will be to throw you a black curse that will follow you and your family for the rest of your life. Amazake-baaba

2. Haunted Doll Okiku

Source

This strange doll is housed in a wooden box at the Manenji temple in Hinamizawa, Japan. Also known as the Hokkaido haunted doll, legend has it that in 1918 a 17-year-old boy named Ikeji Suzuki bought a doll for his two-year-old little sister. The child loved the doll so much that she would take it with her everywhere- to the kitchen, bedroom, sitting room, bathroom and so on but one day this child died of a cold.

After her death, the parents kept the doll, but strange things began to appear on the doll which were noticed by the parents. They noticed that the hair of this doll which was short in the past before their child died had begun to lengthen little by little. It became longer as time passed and thus the parents concluded that this doll was haunted by the soul of their daughter.

In 1938 the family decided to move from Hokkaido and left the doll in the temple to the monks and were the only ones who knew the secret of this doll. Soon after, the news spread, and people came to Hokkaido Island to see this wonder doll and her hair that is still growing.

Of course, you will ask whether the hair of this doll is real and real and whether it is really growing or simply a hoax. In fact, the doll was examined and scientifically confirmed that her hair is human hair, but no one knows the secret of why and how it grows. It is also said that if you get closer to the doll you will see her teeth that resemble human teeth. Haunted Doll Okiku

3. Kushisake Onna (Lady with cleft mouth)

Source

Kushisake Onna is one of the scariest characters in Japanese urban legends. It revolves around a young and beautiful woman who is the wife of a samurai warrior. One day her husband suspected that she is cheating on him so he felt insulted and jealous and attacked her with a sword and slit her face from the ear to ear and told her “Who will think you are beautiful now?”.

Years later Kushisake returned as an evil spirit who roams the streets of Japan at night with a muzzle to hide her torn mouth and when she meets someone, she is said to ask him one question- “am I Beautiful?”. If you answered yes, she would lift the gag off her face to show her distorted and terrifying face and then she asks the same question again- “am I beautiful?”. If you answer ‘no’ she will slay you in the# blink of an eye using her weapon which is a pair of sharp and scary scissors.

In some other account, if you answer ‘no’, she will divide you in half but if you answer ‘yes’, she will slice your face from ear to ear so that you will be as handsome or as beautiful as she is. It is said that the only way to escape the trap question of this woman is to give completely unclear answer or even question back. Never answer ‘yes or no’. Kushisake Onna

4. Noppera-bou

Source

Noppera-bou is a very strange being with a human body in full detail but it has something strange which stands out. This strange thing is that its face is without any features and is considered one of the most terrifying legends of Japan and the most popular among people. It is also called the ghost with no face.

This object is said to be of human origin and usually does not harm anyone. Turned into a Noppera-bou after suffering severe burns, a Noppera appears to you at night in the form of someone you know. As you get closer to him, his features begin to disappear little by little until the face of the object becomes smooth and empty of any features and this is the terrifying part. Noppera-bou

Disclaimer: This article and all material used in this content is used for entertainment and educational purposes only. No copyright infringement is intended.

All images used have been cited

Follow me on: Readcash  Noisecash

19
$ 3.73
$ 3.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 9
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
1 year ago
Topics: Myth, Urban legend, Japan

Comments

Omor...just a head without a face, na Wa ooo. Thank God I'm not Japanese.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If you were Japanese you wouldn't even meet these things because such things no longer exists in modern times.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo! The kushisake onna legend scared me the most. What the bloody hell! 😬😳

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think I like that one. I'd simply throw her around and ask her questions like- "is the weather sunny", "Do you think it's going to rain", and all. Constantine used those kinds of questions to defeat her in the Constantine live action TV series.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wew, they are look scary and nyayy 😨😨

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'd be there to protect you if any of them ever come along.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is something I wanted to do this year's Halloween series hahaha. you did it before me.. wow, we share thoughts too.. and you wrote them so well :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad you liked my version of whatever it is you wanted to do. I look forward to your Halloween series. Perhaps you'd give ma a sneak peek on Telegram?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are so creepy. But the story of the doll is less scarier because it did not harm anybody.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It didn't harm anyone but I wouldn't like to have that in my house. It's purely demonic.. haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I felt goosebumps while I'm reading this Kristoff. This is really scary especially the scary caught my attention. I couldn't imagine it. Thank you for sharing this Kristoff. Honestly I love reading if it is about scary things.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad you enjoyed reading this. I have many more articles like this. Feel free to check them out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Since I was young, dolls are so scary for me. Whenever my sisters doll are scattered, I frequently told them to clean it up and put on the box. Til now, I hate dolls.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I don't think I'd want that kind of doll around me either.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yo, now my imagination is running away with me. The story of the doll with the growing hair is the one that got to me, I'll be honest. Like the other stories are scary but because they are based on mythical creatures, they didn't affect me as much, but for there to be a real doll with growing hair and possibly human teeth which is supposed to be haunted, that's scary to me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I don't think I'd want to be around something like that as it's gonna be purely demonic. Well, unless it's a hoax which I highly doubt it will be.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Night You scared me at night my friend

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's not that scary haha...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was scared. Because I dreamed while reading. it was a night i slept with the light on hahahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You still sleep with the light on?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I sleep sometimes. don't you sleep

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my God, I felt so scared about the doll and the lady with a cliff mouth. I think if I encountered that lady at night, I would immediately fainted because of fears. While the doll that was really strange. Maybe this is the beginning of all horror doll's that we can watch in every horror movies.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If you faint, you're giving her an easy win. You can defeat her by asking her random questions like- "am I a lady?, Is the weather sunny? What time is it?", and blah blah until you can run away.

$ 0.00
1 year ago