Project defence; "To do", "doing" and "done"

27 52
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Before I begin I'd like to apologise to all my readers considering this kind of article should usually be accompanied by pictures taken after my project defence unfortunately I was so tired I didn't get to take any pictures because I totally didn't remember. I'm so sorry for the lack of pictures in this article; my sincere apologies. Apart from not remembering to take pictures due to accumulated stress, I'm also a very shy person and hardly takes any pictures for public use except in soevial cases where I'm forced to do so.

Project defence was a success; I aced it without stress as mentioned in "Goal achieved; project completed", I wasn't asked any question and it was easier than expected. Apart from the fact they my "kristoffer charm" exists, the H.O.D (Head of department) simply decided to be friendly when it was my turn to defend my project; I guess it was a combination of my kristoffer charm and a wonderful coincidence which was in favour of me considering the H.O.D isn't a very nice person.

Do not ask me what the "kristoffer charm" is because I wouldn't tell you it's a secret..haha.

Today was initially stressful, the plan was for the project defence to commence in the physics laboratory but coincidentally the current final year students were having their SIWES defence (student industrial work experience scheme) in the same laboratory hence the venue for our defence has to be shifted to the office of the H.O.D which made it much easier for us considering that there were only four evaulabow lecturers to scrutinise our defence while the rest were attended to our junior colleagues in the laboratory as already mentioned above.

How it happened

I had to wait for hours before it was finally my turn to defend my project; the procedure was that students under the same supervisor would come forward at the same time and take turns to defend their individual projects work, after which a new set of people under a different supervisor would come forth again and again and so on... until it finally got to my turn around few minutes past 2 pm. By this time I was really hungry, tired and simultaneously sleepy because I had been in school since few minutes past 7 am and had not had anything to eat ever since.

Was happy as soon as my project supervisor's name was mentioned, which means it was time for me and other colleagues under him to define our individual project work one after the other.

My time came and it was more fun than expected; I constructed an automatic transfer switch for my project and as soon as I got close to the H.O.D his question was; "what is this" with a smile on his face.

The below conversation took place;

H.O.D: what is this? (With a smile on his face)

Me: it's an automatic transfer switch

H.O.D: what's it used for?

Me: For switching between mains power supply and an alternative power supply in case of a power outage instead of a manually controlled change over switch.

H.O.D: do you live in Akure? (Jokingly)

Me: No, I live in Lagos

H.O.D: can you come from Lagos whenever I need you to come install this automatic transfer switch in my house at Akure?

Me: uhmmmm.....(still thinking of a response)

H.O.D: Say "No" and fail this course.. (he laughed while saying this)

Me: hahaha... I can come whenever you need me sir...

And that was the end of the conversation; I felt lucky at that moment.

The other lecturers requested for my matric number which I mentioned after which I saw them write good marks in my score sheet...woah...lucky me.

I have no idea why the H.O.D decided to be nice to me by making jokes during my defence and it turned out to be an actual conversation instead of a strict defence. I feel lucky because the H.O.D isn't a person that jokes with students but my case was totally different all thanks to God.

Project defence was a success and I'm grateful for what I have; the stress and patience was worth it after all.

I'm sorry for not sharing pictures; don't hate me for this, I'm simply shy plus I forgot to take pictures due to stress. Thanks for the understanding....

Project was a "to do", became a "doing" and now it's "done".

Toodles!

Lead image from unsplash

18
$ 8.45
$ 7.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 9
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

Again you rub it in my face. 🥲

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations brother🥳🥳🥳 . Wish you Success in all your endeavours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh My, Congratulations 🤩 you ace it you're cool man 🌾💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you soo much bro.God bless you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh phew... facing deans or HODs are always tough.. you did it!!!! congos :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks so much. I feel lucky.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh you are not "just" lucky, you are hard working too.. give yourself some credit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations to you young prof. You really deserve it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks; congrats to you too. Did you do your defence properly?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The kristoffer charm worked so well in your favor and you aced your defense. Congratulations! That is why it is not worth it to worry or feel anxious about things that we don't even know if it will happen.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're absolutely right my dear farmgirl. Worry and anxiety will take us no where.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations bro.Hope you will be successful in your life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much my dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome! You did amazing, Kris! Congratulations!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Project Defense is fun when you know what did you all with it, and you understand what it is for. I once had that, and it was fun. Your HOD is nicer than ours back then, though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My HOD is not a nice person; I mentioned that it simply happened that way, was a coincidence. He derives joy in failing students.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Atleast he is nicer towards you, unlike mine which is serious in class and terrible at defense.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulation my brother 🥳🥳🥳

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That “say no and fail this course” sounds insult to me

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No it's not; if you read the conversation again much slowly you'd realise he said it jokingly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations kristoffer, God bless you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks so much ma'am. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woowwww u did a great job my friend. Congrats kristoff🎉

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks my dear Kleah. How are you today?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oww I'm good😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago