Nightmares and Day dreams

13 64
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

18th of February 2022

Lead Image

Fuel scarcity

It's another weekend and the fuel scarcity continues. As much as I don't wanna talk about it, I just have to because it's inevitable. As mentioned yesterday, this is the first time the state of the economy would be affecting me directly. The first time it affects me, it affects my business as well- signs that I'm growing and becoming more responsible... lol! I can't take it anymore and beginning to lose my mind. Deep breaths!

The problem isn't just the scarcity but the fact that fuel has now become more expensive than it initially was. Imagine buying petrol at 165 Naira per litre and you wake up the next morning to buy it at 400 Naira per litre. Transporters have increased fares, now you'd have to pay double the fare to wherever you're going regardless of distance.

That's what's happening now. The economy is diminishing, things are getting out of hand and there's nothing anyone can do about it. Even the government officials are confused, the president is confused. If the leaders are confused then who am I to decide what to do and how to do it. The best bet would be to gather as much as I can and kaboom to a better country before this country goes to dust.

I'd rather not talk about how the constantly diminishing economy is a reflection of the President's incompetence and his inability to lead with some sense of value. I mean, the country began to go down the drain since he got into power, price of commodities spiked exponentially and the average man could no longer live comfortably like he used to. Prices went up, yet wages and salaries remained fixed- that's poverty in the making. He claimed he wanted to fight corruption yet he became the corruption- I'd rather not stress on this as it may be considered a seditious statement. I'm no politician, I'm simply expressing myself as a citizen of a failed country!

Nightmares

Phew! It's another weekend and here I am struggling to get out of bed, slept late as usual while doing some random nonsense on my smartphone. Plus I'm writing a horror story as well- a thirty chapter story with each chapter introducing new characters and new demons. Oh how I love horror stories. I sent a sneak peek to a friend of mine yesterday. She said "it's interesting but scary" and asked "why do you write a horror story". I looked at her and smiled.

I've always been interested in horror stories since my teen age, I simply found them more enjoyable since none of those stuffs they do scare me, I simply enjoy seeing the blood and gore. The sense of people being in danger looks good as long as it's a movie.

I truth is used to have nightmares almost every night since I was about 4 years old and it didn't stop till I was 12. It wasn't an easy experience as I sometimes had fear of falling asleep and would have to sleep between my mom and dad on most nights. The night mares were so intense that I usually shouted from my sleep very loudly which would wake everyone up. It continued for years and wouldn't stop regardless of where I was and how I slept, almost like something was after my life but couldn't succeed. The nightmares were so bad that I could no longer stay alone in a room, I became scared of the dark and couldn't sleep with the lights off. It was a terrible experience.

The dreams were so real that I once screamed from my dream, opened my eyes and still saw a very strange looking figure at the opposite end of the bed. It looked so real that it vanished seconds before my parents entered my room. I was only 10 or 21 at the time and couldn't explain what I had seen. You may say it was an optical illusion but it wasn't as the light in the room was on and what I saw in the dream was the same thing I saw in front of me after I woke up... it looked brown but was without form. Almost like it floated in the air... but i just couldn't understand what I saw.

All thanks to a lot of prayers by my parents and loved ones, the nightmares eventually stopped when I was 12. And ever since nothing seems to scare me anymore. I've seen more than enough in my nightmares hence no amount of CGI or VFX in horror movies is enough to give me the creeps. I'm no longer scared of darkness but decided I'm now Batman! Now I enjoy horror movies so much that I sometimes paused the scenes with monsters to examine the creativity while complaining about how bad the design team are. I constantly tell myself "it's not scary enough". Lol!

Hello dear peeps! How's your weekend going, hope you're having fun amidst all the crisis happening in the world. Remember to have fun when you can and don't let life push you around.

13
$ 6.45
$ 5.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @JustMyRambles01
+ 15
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

Eyyy same here 🤗 I also like horror stories. Are you going ti publish that in here?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No, I'd be publishing it on a different platform. As a book.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to watch horror stories but I cant help but remember it when im going to sleep. It creeps me out. I can watxh horror movies only when Im watching with someone. I cant dare to watch it alone.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I enjoy watching them when I'm alone and at night! It does nothing to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

think your nightmares are produced by your own mind because you are writing horror stories

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I mentioned that I used to have nightmares as a kid from age 4 till I was 12.

I began writing horror stories as an adult. Two different things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If the leader doesn't know what to do then the whole country will collapse in an instant, there are eReader who's good at soaking but lack of actions that affected its citizen, no matter what happen the government shouldn't print lot software money to resolve the problem cause it will result to drastic inflation. I dotn know that you have side being a writer of horror story sir, maybe you cans hare some of your works here.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm not familiar how much that naira cost here, but maybe that was too much. The fuel suddenly raise up

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The increment is just too much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The fuel scarcity isn't getting any better by the day seems it would go on for a month,even the electricity company aren't giving light I wonder what's happening, hoping it gets fixed.

Am always sacred of horror movies and most times whenever I have a bad nightmare I used to sleep with my parents like you hehhehehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I only used to have nightmares when I was a kid and it stopped already!

This fuel scarcity is a major concern and I'm fed up already!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a hilarious story.. They said that when you're having a nightmare, you're mentally stressed..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I always had a night mare from age 4 till I was 12. What mental stress am I having at that age?
If you were my sister or mom during those years you would have been bothered. I always screamed from my dream almost every night with heart beating fast. It was purely spiritual.

$ 0.00
2 years ago