A Dying mother's advise

10 46
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Advise, Mother

9th of March 2022

Lead Image

A fictional story

My father's four room house began to dilapidate and mother sent for me to gather some money which would be used for the repairs. It was not easy because it was still six days to our payday. I fought tooth and nail to borrow money and gave it to my mother but I was sad with all these financial requests.

My mother at last succeeded in convincing me to marry. But But for me, I would not want to get married at this for now especially since my finance was at stake. She joined my hands in marriage with her friend's daughter since she was afraid I might marry from a different family if she tarried further. My wife showed me affection even though we did not know each other for long before courtship.

My mother only lived to witness the birth of my first child. She told me that she was happy to have reaped the fruit of her labour- the birth of my son. She called me to her room one night and told me the ways of this odd world using these exact words...

"My son, this is a wicked world. I am very happy that you have now given me a grandchild, so I won't depart here with sorrow. Beware of the evil-doers that eat with you and the enemies that cast their nets at the back of your bed. Don't be covetous, be contented with whatever you have. With children you are rich. A rich man with five houses and a poor man with only one are equal. The rich man could only live in one of the many at a time, while the poor man also lives in only one. At that point they become equal. A man with many shoes and a man with only a pair are equal too. It is only one pair he could wear one at a time and nobody would care to know if he has got extra at home.

Always crave for contentment. Some people yet complain when they eat meat, but I feel even healthy and happy when I eat cassava paste. Remember, not everyone can prosper. A big tree could be cut down by a small but sharpened Axe. Help those in need if you are in the position to. Look after your wife and take care of your children. Your road would be rough but success shall be the outcome. DO not be like a man who felt tired of this world, and packed his belongings and headed towards an unknown destination. He was for having only one meal a day and having a pair of worn-out shoes to cover his feet, But on reaching a place where he decided to settle down, he found out that hardly do the people eat twice in a week. He also saw men without feet. May God give you patience. May the spirit of our ancestors guide you through in all your undertakings".

My mother breathed her last as she concluded these sayings.....

A fictional story to be continued...

I'm wishing every woman and mother out there a Happy international women's day. A mother's love is incomparable with any other. They do not only deserve a day to be celebrated but weeks!

9
$ 1.79
$ 1.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @OliviaQueen
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 5
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Advise, Mother

Comments

Mother...they are the best. Even if everyone opposes you they will always be there for you no matter what.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nothing rivals the love of mother. We should celebrate our mothers even when there is no special day dedicated for them. Everyday of their lives should be greeted with affectionate words, thankful presents and lots of hugs and kisses. Our mother's deserve all the love and care they get.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dear Kristoffer, how beautifully you say that one day is not enough for mothers to celebrate, and should be celebrated for weeks for their existence. The story was very beautiful. Mothers are always worried about their children, even if their children getting old. No love can match motherly love... 🤍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The truth is... no amount of celebration will ever be enough to showcase the beauty of a mother's existence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A mother's love is always enough.. she literally lives for her child. There's this proverbial words that my stepmom use to say; "pikin wey no get mama again suppose dey listen when another woman dey advice her daughter".

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. Even if we don't have a mother anymore, we can listen to advises from other people's moms.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These people are truly a blessing in our lives. There can be no better person in the world than mother. Some of the words that I heard from my mother still come to my ears today.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mothers are irreplaceable. Nothing can change their position in our hearts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember my grandma, maybe I'm not on her side when she died but I can still hear her voice inside my head

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can imagine the words she must have said while she was still alive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago