Let's Enjoy Karate

14 37
Avatar for KrisCastro
2 years ago
Karate Made Easy by Ralph Corrigan - the book that taught me Karate

How the Book Caught my Attention

Way back 2003, I found this "Karate Made Easy" book by Ralph Corrigan and Deborah Dutko while I'm walking with my mom at the bookstore. I got interested and since I'm not allowed to enroll at any martial arts school due to my spinal problem, the least I can do is self study. So mom bought this when I asked her. I was 15 when I started to venture into this self study martial arts in the pursuit of building my strength. I want to become stronger than a normal woman because I got fed up being picked on in my childhood and growing up, there are some random perverts, especially the carwash boy at the corner of our street who stares at me in a freaking annoying manner and sometimes tries to speak to me. This has strengthened my resolve to gain strength and the desire to beat up this pervert if need be since he gets in my nerves.

The Karate Journey Begins

I was able to practice karate for 3 years. I jog with my childhood friends and play badminton with them everytime we are on a vacation when school year ends. I continue the workout with this book when I go home. I can only practice during summer vacation.

Ankle Weights

Being an anime fan, I got the inspiration to use these ankle weights from the anime, Hajime no Ippo (known as Knockout in here Philippines). I saw the main character using ankle weights while he's on a boxing training. One time, I needed a badminton racket for PE class so mom and I went to a sports store to buy one and I saw these ankle weights so mom bought them for me together with the badminton racket. I use this when I perform the karate lessons. I just put them on my wrist when I punch then I transfer them to my ankles when I perform the kicks. I plan to buy another set of this so both my wrists and ankles can wear them for a more intense practice.

Karate Lessons

Lesson 1 - Front Punch and Front Snap Kick

Karate Lesson 1

After doing all the warm-ups I have mentioned in my previous article, we proceed with the karate moves. Each lesson consists of one technique for the punch and one technique for the kick This first lesson is the most basic karate technique that is focused on striking forward. Let's start the fun.

Front Punch

Upper Body Technique 1 - Front Punch

This basic punch vertically snaps forward on a straight line. It's very simple since it doesn't twist. The target of this punch is the center of of the body, just above the belt (the midsection) of an opponent in front of you.

The first step is to do the ready stance, illustrated at the left side of the photo above. In this stance, the feet are about 12 inches apart and fists are placed above the hips. Next step is the seisan stance, illustrated at the middle of the photo above. Simply step the right foot forward then perform the front punch, illustrated at the right side of the photo above. Since you used the right foot to step forward, use the right fist to perform the front punch. Extend the right fist forward and hit the midsection of an opponent in front of you without bending your elbow. Do the same process with the left fist.

Return to the starting position and repeat the punch ten times on each side. The power of front punch comes mostly from the legs and hips, thus explains the purpose of the seisan stance. Moving one foot forward adds power to the punch.

Front Snap Kick

Lower Body Technique 1 - Front Snap Kick

Front snap kick is the most basic yet a powerful kick because its snapping action comes from the large leg muscles. The target of this kick is the stomach or groin on an opponent in front of you. This is the most important lower body technique that should be mastered not only because it is powerful but this will also help you perform the more advanced techniques with ease.

Start this technique with the rear seisan stance, illustrated at the left side of the photo above. Placing the hands on the hips is the most basic position for beginners to support balance. Step the right foot forward then proceed to the next step, chambering the kick (see middle of the photo). Raise the right leg. The top of your thigh must be parallel to the floor and keep your right foot underneath close to the back of the thigh as much as you can. Proceed to the last step, the technique itself. Swing the right foot and snap it forward. Hit the target with the ball of your foot. Hold for a second or two and check your position.

Return to the starting position, the rear seisan stance. Do the same process with the left foot. Perform the technique ten times for each side. Once you are able to perform this technique with ease, you can change the position of your hands, no need to place them on your hips.

Lesson 2 - Reverse Punch and Side Snap Kick

Karate Lesson 2

The second lesson I learned from this book is still focused on hitting the midsection of an opponent with a twist. Reverse punch and fighting stance make your move tricky while you block at the same time. Side snap kick on the other hand, also targets the stomach or groin of an opponent standing beside you this time. I will focus more on the punch and kick for now and discuss the fighting stance combo on my next article.

Reverse Punch

Upper Body Technique 2 - Reverse Punch

Reverse punch is a technique that is thrown quickly using the arm opposite to the forward foot. Like the front punch, the target of this technique is at the midsection of an opponent in front of you.

This technique also starts with the ready stance followed by the seisan stance like the ones done in front punch. The difference is that the left foot is moved forward while the right arm is extended, throwing the punch without bending the elbow. Return to the starting position and do the same process with the left side. Repeat this ten times for both left and right sides.

Side Snap Kick

Lower Body Technique 2 - Side Snap Kick

This technique is a rapid kick thay is very effective when facing two opponents with one of them standing beside you. This starts at the same position followed by the chamber like the front snap kick. Shift the body weight to the left leg as you perform the kick. Pivot the hips and deliver the kick at a 90-degree angle to the side using your right foot. Hit the target at the stomach or groin with the ball of your foot. Do the same process with the left foot. Return to the starting position and repeat. Perform the kick ten times for each side.

Mastering the Basics

These first two lessons I've learned are simple yet devastating when mastered. One of the benefits of mastering these basic techniques is that the body can easily react and most likely perform them automatically especially in situations that need immediate response without thinking too much.

As you become more proficient, you can add more variety and combos to these moves. You may also wear ankle weights like I do later on when your body can perform the moves with ease. They add more strength which works well with the power you get from your legs and hips. I started practicing these techniques as many times as instructed at the book. Later on, I added more counts. I perform three sets of 10 counts as I start to get used to these techniques. I will show the basic variations of these techniques as well as the result of the strength I gained from it on my next article. Enjoy Karate while we stay fit and healthy at home.

5
$ 1.39
$ 1.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 3
Sponsors of KrisCastro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for KrisCastro
2 years ago

Comments

Naku ingat mga carwash boys. Andito na ang anak ni Jet Li :D :D Gang nood lang ako ng mga karate movies. Nun bata kami lagi yan tas inaaply namin gang sa may umiyak haha!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha nagpapa iyak pala kayo eh. Nung bata ako eh ako naman ang iyakin hanggang sa naging maton mula nung grade 4. Yang mga carwash boy na yan matagal na din natapos contract nila kaya wala na sila dito. Nainggit din ako sa anime eh haha yun nga lang di ako pwede sa sparring dahil sa likod ko kaya di na naka enroll. Self study na lang. Masaya din naman pag lumalagapok yung punching bag tapos may suot na weights. 😀

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Galing mo nga e. At least nagagawa mo pa din mga yan. Ingat na lang lagi :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mapapalaban tayo sa dami ng mga moves hehe. Nang dahil sa mga taong mahilig magsamantala kailangan talaga ng self-defense.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe 2 lessons pa lang naman sya. Madali lang gawin very basic lang. Pwede mo to add sa workout. Hahaha hay naku kung pwede lang magpaturo kay lolo goku kung pano mag super saiyan at tumepok ng mga masasamang tao. Mas mapapalaban ngayon kasi ipupush ko na tapusin yung book later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paturo ako, Kris!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yay! Na dito ka din pala sa read hehe. Madami daming warm-up muna bago karate moves hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Galing naman sis sana ol my drive para mag aral ng self defense. Nung elementary lang ako gigil mag aral ng ganyan. Parang ang cool kasi ng pinanuod o yung karate kid haaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Enjoy talaga mag aral nyan kahit self study. Bukod sa nakaka exercise na eh nakaka inspire pa lalo gawin dahil sa anime hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admire your dedication na matuto ng self defense. Lalo na at self taught pa. Need tlaga ng mga babae na matuto nyan lalo na ngayon na madaming perverts sa tabi tabi..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nag umpisa lang sya nung nainspire ako sa mga anime. Ang astig kasi nung mga strong nainggit ako hehe. Hanggang sa nagkaroon pa ng manyak sa may carwash sa kanto namin. Minsan nag hi pa sakin. Bwisit na bwisit ako. Iniisip ko nun kung dumampi lang kamay nya sakin kahit tapik lang suntukan na yan kaya mas lalo tumindi yung desire ko na lumakas. Buti 5 years lang contract nila kaya umalis din sila. Happy naman ako na di ko nagamit yang karate ever kasi ibig sabihin lang nun tahimik buhay ko hehe. Better na yun kaysa may banta sayo. Masaya naman sya isama sa workout lalo pag pinapatama sa punching bag at natatantya ang impact.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Au naku nakakatakot nga yun mga ganyan sis, kaya tama lang ginawa mo. How about yun spinal problem mo sis, di naman natrigger ng pagkakarate mo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok naman ang spine ko. Recommended talaga ang workout kaya nakakabuti sya sa spine basta wag heavy. Hay naku buti wala na yung manyak na bakulaw na yun. Pag nakikita ko sya kumukulo dugo ko nattrigger ang dugong siga sakin haha. Banas na banas ako sa pagmumuka nya. Takot sya sa tatay ko kaya hanggang tingin lang sya. Kakaexcite na din ipagpatuloy ulit tong karate at tapusin ang book tapos aral pa ng ibang martial arts pang add sa karate hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heheh, good luck sayo sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago