Earth After Dark : Lovers' Quarrel? | Part 5

3 93
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
1 year ago

This story is linked to these articles. You might want to see it before reading this to make sense of everything:


I used to think that being alone in this world was something that people fantasized about. You have complete freedom. You can yell every time you want, you can drive 180kph without breaking any traffic laws, you don't have to worry about what to wear since no one will bother you if you walk naked down the street, and you can take whatever you want for free because the entire world is yours.

But living alone is not as great as it seems.

It's like watching a good anime. It was thrilling at first. You watch every episode of that series until it becomes your favorite, and you watch it every day until you have memorized every detail. As time passes, you will become weary of your daily routine, which will lead to anxiety and depression. It's like you're wearing a red shirt in a bullfight. It's dangerous. It's torturing.

I thought my grief would never cease, but then the universe gave me Elio. His existence made me feel calmer. I also made a new friend, James, who was a survivor of the disaster for which we had no explanation.

"Hey, you good?" James breaks my reverie. I didn't realize we'd arrived in front of the restaurant.

"Yeah. I'm all good. Shall we?"

My lips parted when I saw the lovely setting. There were red rose petals strewn on the floor leading to the arranged table for two in the center of the room just like in a romantic movie where the man will draw the chair for his lady and help her sit.

They will talk over a steak and a glass of red wine. Someone will play the violin next to them, and the man will suddenly pull something from his pocket, a ring, and kneel in front of his girlfriend, saying, "Will you marry me?" And the woman will respond...

"Luna?" Elio was puzzled. He's asking what level of doneness I prefer for my steak, and I'm just staring into space and smiling like a lunatic.

"YES! I DO!" I shouted. I'm doomed.

"Huh?" Elio's face filled with more confusion.

"U-Uhm, I mean, what is it again?" My face flushed with embarrassment as I noticed James chuckling on my side while crossing his arms.

"The doneness of your steak, Miss Ma'am." Elio's voice sounded irritated.

"W-Well done. Thanks." I stammered. When I returned to James' side, he was still chuckling. I gave him a stern glance and a fiery eyeroll.

"Oh hey, uhm, here's the thing. I just went out to get some liquor. I have someone waiting for me too. You go on ahead with your dinner. I'll drop by again sometime." James smiled, staring at us as if we were a couple arguing in front of him.

He pulled his business card from his wallet and handed it to me in case I needed help or there was an update on our situation. He also invited us to stay at the hotel where he is staying since it's too spacious for him to live alone there.

"Oh, okay. But first, before you leave, let's eat dinner. Your place is an hour away from here so don't complain." I said smiling.

He agreed, so he pulled up an extra chair and we rearranged the plates and cutlery to make it a table for three. Elio served the food he cooked, and we sat at the table.

Elio prepared a well-done steak with salsa-roasted potatoes and broccolis as a side dish, as I requested. I'm surprised. I just saw this dish while watching Gordon Ramsay.

When I cut the meat, it is so tender that I don't need much pressure to cut it, and the juiciness is mouthwatering. It tastes so good and melts in my mouth. This robot is incredible. I'm astounded.

After we finished eating, we accompanied James to the liquor store near the restaurant, where we assisted him in selecting his preferred drinks and hauling them to his pick-up truck. We said our goodbyes, and I returned to the mall.

"What's with that face?" I said as I looked at his crumpled paper-like face.

"James, huh?" Elio said, his eyes narrowing.

"What's with him? Are you... jealous?" I teased.

"Stop it, Luna. You're not funny." He grumbled.

"Fine! Then don't talk to me for a couple of days!" I exclaimed as I stormed out.

"Is this really how women are? When you're angry, they're getting angry too, instead of coaxing you and apologizing for the two of you not getting along?" Elio mumbled to himself.

To relieve my stress, I took a cold bath. When I was finished, I put on a sleepwear I had taken earlier and went to the mall's home furniture department to look for a bed and sleep when I heard someone screaming loudly.

To be continued.

Hey-lo!

I haven't written an entry for the Earth After Dark theme in a long time. I'm glad I finished a single entry today to cut down the number of drafts in my account. Hehe.

I hope you enjoyed it and thank you for reading all the way through. Always keep safe. Ciao, bella!

Xoxo.

What to read next?

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of KirstenCassandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
1 year ago

Comments

hahahaha that's how women really are

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahha! Based on experience? 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nah HAHAAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago