Earth After Dark : Mutterseelenallein | Part 1

20 62
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
2 years ago (Last updated: 1 year ago)

I woke up this morning with my head spinning, my body throbbing and my vision is blurry. I can't count how many heart attacks I've had this year. Fortunately, my parents have set up my room seem to be a hospital room, the medical equipment is ready, and I don't need to pay a doctor because my parents are physicians.

Because of the spread of the disease, confinement in the hospital is becoming increasingly difficult, considering I am so vulnerable and have a very uncommon disease.

I am suffering from Progeria. If you're unfamiliar with the condition, it is an extremely uncommon genetic disorder that causes young individuals to mature fast. I am now 18 years old, yet I look like a lady in her 50s. It's not that bad; I still seem young, but with a few wrinkles and gray hairs coming through. In comparison to those born with this disease, my situation is not that severe.

There is no treatment for progeria, but frequent monitoring for heart and blood vessel problems may aid in my condition's management. At this age, I am already taking medication for high blood pressure, and my muscles frequently hurt as a result of my body's rapid aging. It's strange to believe, but my parents and I both take the same brand of medication.

Speaking of my parents, where are they? In my current state, I can't afford to call them loudly; thankfully, there is an intercom in my room.

"Mom? Dad?" I pressed the button and called them.

I called them multiple times, but no one ever answered. What is happening? Is there an emergency at the hospital? But it is impossible for them to leave me here alone.

Despite my body ache and backpain, I grabbed my glasses from the bedside table and pushed myself to stand up. I walked carefully since I was still woozy and worried I was going to fall down the stairs. Well, it is better to trip and fall on the wrong person than to trip and tumble down the stairs. Just kidding.

Some of you are probably wondering if I've ever been in love. Yes. No. Maybe. I don't know. Maybe I'm in love with the fictitious guys in the books I read. I've spent my entire life at home. Also, I am a homeschooler, I haven't met anyone outside of our house, so I don't know what a cute guy looks like in person.

Finally, the stairwell's last step. I moved like a sloth until I reached the final phase. I take a look around the living room; it's quite dusty. Are my parents' schedules so hectic that they don't have time to clean or hire a housekeeper?

"Mom? Dad?" I called them and no one else was home except for myself.

I am worried about what's going on. I reached the front door and opened it. The glimpse of the view from my bedroom window is currently right in front of my eyes, and I can feel the breeze from outside like I've never felt before.

But something is missing. Everything is strange. The road, which was filled with children playing and passing vehicles, was turned into a desert in a horror film. It is so silent that even my gentlest whisper can be heard.

Did they declared a lockdown again because of the spike in cases? Or martial law, which prohibited anybody from leaving the house? Or because of Pacquiao's boxing match? I don't know.

As I approached our front porch, I noticed a pile of newspapers on the stairs. I pulled out a newspaper from two months ago and bawled my eyes out as I read the front page. My parents died two months ago as a result of the disease that is sweeping the planet.

I can't believe this, am I dreaming? This is a nightmare! I've been in a coma for more than two months and had no idea my parents had died? Am I now the only person on this planet? Am I going to die too? How am I going to make it in this world by myself?

To be continued.

Hi, beautiful fellas. It's me again!

I saw this topic in @meitanteikudo 's article two days ago. I choose the prompt Earth after dark. It was somewhat challenging, but it was a fascinating prompt, so I tried it. Hehee.

As always, it's a pleasure to have you here. I'd love to hear your thoughts in the comments. xoxo

Lead image from Wallpaperflare

What to read next?

7
$ 0.68
$ 0.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @Ayane-chan
+ 3
Sponsors of KirstenCassandra
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for KirstenCassandra
2 years ago (Last updated: 1 year ago)

Comments

So this is the first part. Haha! I read part 2 first. I'm glad we have a new character. I'm playing my mind to what to write about next, maybe you're the one I'm going to visit next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg, I'd love to. I'm so glad you read it; the third part was just published. For real? I will read your EAD entry when I get home. Heheee. 💛 Thank you for upvoting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The community has been dead for months because there's no new entry. Thanks for making it alive again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For real? It's a good prompt, and when you use it, your creativity and imagination will soar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. That is really its purpose but it is just the three of us taking turns to make the story continue back then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeeeesss. Thank you for welcoming me to this community; I hope we can meet in our stories soon. Hehee 💛

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Read this one late! I am happy you joined this one! hehehe, joiner din ako sa prompt na to. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hiii. Thank youuuu! 😍💛 Medyo inactive nga me lately medyo busy hehee. For real? I'm gonna check your entry. 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

better, para maconnect natin ang mga ganap. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May community pala yung EAD? Sa Prompt Factory na community ako nagpopost e. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, next tume.dun ka na magpost para mabilis natin makikita. Or at least nasa add topics nalang, dagdag mo yung "Earth After Dark" sa topics para mag appear sya sa search results. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sigeeee Siz, nasa EAD Community ba lahat yung EAD mo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo, or kung wala man, nakalagay sa topics ko yun. May time kasi yata na nagkaproblem sa community, di ako makapagpost. Pero naayos na naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol! How long was she asleep?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe three months. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

woah.. very SOA vibes i'm feeling from this one..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You mean Sword Art Online? Hehe. I haven't seen it yet. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ah oh yes.. that's the one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Intriguing yung title eh. Mas na interesting pala yung dulo. Hahaha may pa walking dead theme ka bebe. Gusto ko yan! ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dinadaan ko na nga lang sa title e. Hahaha! Thank youuu, Alibaba. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago