Mosquitoes don't bite everybody

18 40
Avatar for Kiingsley
2 years ago

Hello people! How was the weekend? I'm too sure you enjoyed it to the fullest and never wished for it to end. Mine went well with usual tight-scheduled routine. This weekend was too tough for me in terms of engagement here, my engagement got reduced to a not favourable extent, but no cause for alarm because head has been in more than three baskets πŸ€—.

It was 11:33pm, I was sitting outside collecting fresh air while my neighbors were seated too, doing their business. Mosquitoes were flying everywhere, perching on my open legs. I had to go inside to put on a lot socks. The perches and bites continued and I was became uncomfortable with the way I was beating my body as a means of chasing out mosquitoes.

When I checked where my neighbors where seated, they were very comfortable and it was as if they used something to direct the mosquitoes to my positions because they were not feeling it at all. The guy in their midst was with open body and was not putting on sock, yet he's not feeling any mosquito hunt.

Why is mosquitoes not disturbing them?

This question really got me thinking, like, why is it that mosquito select People to bite even when everyone is in the same environment? I've experienced this several times and it makes me to wonder alot. At some point, I assumed because I'm light skinned that's why the mosquitoes come for me because my blood will be easy to extract but....who knows, maybe it's TRUE 🀷

I remember when we were taught in biology about insects, mosquito was among but our mind didn't thougt it far to asked the teacher such question.

I really wanna know the reason why, even though I'm sure some of the things I assumed might be true. So I've got some interesting fact to present to us;

Lead image| Unsplash.com

Scientific research has shown that mosquitoes bite some people more than others for several reasons, including the smells that those people give off, the chemicals on those people's skin and even how much carbon dioxide they emit while breathing. Experts estimate that mosquitoes are highly attracted to about 10 percent of all people, with those people's genetics accounting for about 85 percent of their attractiveness to mosquitoes. Other research suggests that people who are less attractive to mosquitoes emit smells and chemicals that repel the insects. As of 2012, there still was much that was not known about why mosquitoes bite some people more than others and what the people who are bitten more can do about it.

Why Mosquitoes Bite?

Only female mosquitoes bite people. They do it for the blood, which contains protein and nutrients that they need either to produce eggs at all or to produce a larger batch of eggs. Before each time they produce a batch of eggs, they will seek out a blood meal. For regular meals, they feed on nectar and other juices produced by plants.
Finding Prey

A female mosquito begins locating prey by detecting carbon dioxide, which is emitted by animals when they exhale and through their skin. The mosquito uses an antenna-like structure called a maxillary palp to detect carbon dioxide from as far as 164 feet (50 m) away. At closer distances, it uses a feathery antenna to identify certain chemicals, and its nose is perforated with many tiny holes that the odors in the air can penetrate. After the mosquito has found a concentration of carbon dioxide being emitted by a person, the mosquito's sensory receptors tell it whether the combination of chemicals and odors being emitted by that person make him or her suitable prey.


Substances That Attract

Research suggests that, in addition to carbon dioxide, some of the substances that people produce and that attract mosquitoes are sweat, lactic acid, uric acid and a chemical called octenol. Lactic acid is emitted through the skin, especially during exercise. Uric acid is a product of the body metabolizing certain proteins, and most of it is excreted in urine, but excess uric acid can build up under the skin. Octenol is present in a person's sweat and breath.

Some people produce greater quantities of these substances, so mosquitoes bite some people more than others. Very large people and pregnant women generally breathe out more carbon dioxide, so they tend to be bitten more often. People who exercise outdoors produce more lactic acid, sweat more and breathe more heavily, so they also tend to suffer more mosquito bites. Many perfumes and deodorants that people to mask their natural body odors also are believed to be attractive to mosquitoes.


Substances that Repel

Commercial mosquito repellants contain various chemicals β€” such as N,N-diethyl-meta-toluamide, better known as DEET β€” that are believed to turn away mosquitoes by masking the user's body chemicals or by inhibiting the insects' sensory organs. Some research suggests, however, that certain substances already found on certain people's skin make those people less attractive to mosquitoes. Two such chemicals are known as geranyl acetone and 6-methyl-5-hepten-2-one. Scientists have looked into the origin of these chemicals β€” namely, whether they are produced by the body, obtained from the environment or a combination of those methods. The existence of these chemicals found on some people's skin suggests that mosquitoes bite some people more than others not only because some people are more attractive to mosquitoes, but also because some people naturally repel them.

Credit to the source

Thanks for reading

13th March 2022

8
$ 2.00
$ 1.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of Kiingsley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiingsley
2 years ago

Comments

🀣 This happens to me! I'll be with my siblings but I'll be the only one complaining of mosquito bite and I always worked out then

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol🀣. Your blood is sweet in their mouth πŸ™Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's annoying πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, such an amazing fact. I never knew that mosquito do selective biting.... There's one mosquito that bite me since last year that led me to have a terrible malaria. Infact I would still be able to recognize that mosquito if I see her again because of the way she made me suffer at that time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My best friend once mentioned not being bitten by mosquitoes at some point while every one else was complaining. I didn't believe her.. Well, here I am reading facts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maybe she has supernatural powers tooπŸ₯±

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mosquitoes also have a preference to blood type, they love people with O+ blood group. So maybe you're O+ 😁 that and other numerous factors that you have mentioned here are the reasons why mosquitoes will prefer you to your neighbors

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You got it, I'm O+ πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was also face this kind of situation. And same thoughts was round in my mind. Then I search it in google and find the answer. It's a well informative content my friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you bro. πŸ™ŒπŸ™Œ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such an informative content, now I know how does mosquitoes sucks blood to people cause they need that for survival of their life and eggs. We called it Parasitism cause they the only who gain benefits. they are also so dangerous that can slay a person in just a bite of Dengue.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, mosquito a full definition of a parasite. It sucks us to gain strength and put us into sickness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's true we must be careful especially to those children who are the typical victim of these dangerous mosquitoes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. Mosquitoes with malaria 🧘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah so that explains it :) No wonder my friends were being bitten more than me :D :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're lucky bro. I know what I faces always with mosquito bite

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Better use some repellants.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I'll try that out

$ 0.00
2 years ago