WorkSerye: Constructive vs. Destructive Criticism

16 37
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Criticism, WorkSerye
Image source: Google

Did you ever criticize a person?. How do you normally approach him or her or whow do you choose the right words to make sure that he or she will not be offended with your honesty?

I just wanted to share with you my most recent experience of being critized by my colleague which has caused an impact to my mood, my behavior and my way of thinking (for a short span of time).

Maybe some of you can still recall when I mentioned in my previous articles about my initiative in automations to help reduce the timw and effort doing a specific job manually.

For those who don't know me yet or for those who bumped in my article for the first time, I am currently working as an IT Analyst in an Australian Company.

My current work's nature of job is very similar to my previous ones, however, this is the first time for me to support Windows Applications. My skillsets that I acquired from my previous work are more of about linux and mainframe platforms.

Moving on, as mentioned above, I've put in lots of effort automating our tasks to save time and effort and most of all, reduce the probability of "human error".

And I learned that Powershell is a very powerful programming language in terms of automating Windows process. Hence, I urged myself to self-study powershell. "Google" has been my tutor eversince I started learning powershell scripting.

Things are going with me because I am able to automate a lot of our manual work in a very short span of time.

In each of my automations, I always make sure to create a documentation to guide my colleagues on how to use it properly. And for those who are interested to learn how my code works, I make sure that I have added a comment in each steps of my scripts documenting what that steps are for. In other words, even if the reader is not familiar about powershell scripting, he or she can easily understand my script just by looking at the step description.

Once everything is ready, I usually send an email to my colleagues sharing about my script and sharing the "how to" document that I've prepared.

My Boss is very happy and so proud of what I have developed so far. In fact, he forwarded onw of them to his Superior as well.

However, I have this one colleague (he is more senior than me), who seems to be not happy with my achievements.

A week after I've shared about this one of my automations, he replied on top of it. I thought being my senior,he will be proud of me because of my initiatives. But then it seems not the case.

I won't copy and paste here his exact wordings but the thought of his email ia like he is saying that my script will juat mislead the team because of its limitations. He even mentioned that he already thought of doing the same automation before but he did not pushed through it because he think it's useless.

I replied and explained about the scope and limitation of my script but he doesn't want to accept it. He keep on insisting that my script is not effective, or something like that.

When I can't take his words anymore, I've approached my other senior colleague and consulted about that email that my other colleague has sent.

Good thing, my other senior colleague understands the purpose of my script and he think that it will help the team hence, he stepped in and replied on top of our mail conversation and explain articulately what I am trying to explain initiatlly to my colleague that's not happy about my work.

And you know what? All of a sudden, my not so happy colleague pulled back and agreed to use my script moving forward.


If you're in my place, what will you think and feel about it?..

I felt so upset that day. I just cannot understand why is he trying to pull me down? I mean, he knows about my background because he is the one who conducted technical interview to me the time that I am still applying for thia position. His reaction is opposite of my Boss' reaction. I even told my other subordinates that his criticism is a destructive one! Instead of motivating me to continue with my initiatives, he demotivated me.


So that's what we need to be reminded of whenever we are giving feedback to others. We need to think ahead on how our feedback will become a constructive one. We need to carefully choose the words that we are going to use. We ought to be sensitive enough to think of others feelings as well. And most importantly, show respect!.Respect the effort and time spent by that person just to achieve and complete his or her goals.

Good thing, in my case, instead of becoming demotivated and stop, I continue to enhance my powershell scripting. I continue to look for automation opportunities.

That would be all for now folks. It's 3:00AM already which means I gotta sleep now!..Thank you so much for spending your time in this article of mine.

Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty

9
$ 3.66
$ 3.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 4
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Criticism, WorkSerye

Comments

parang nabasa ko na ito noon ateee. Na tackle mo na ata tu eh. Pero, feeling ko ayaw nya lang talagang malamangan ate :( nakakasad na may mga ganyah klase ng tao. Okay lang naman mag correct pero dapat in a nice way talaga. Pero kahit wala namng mali, at naghahanap kalang ng butas, nako mali yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feeling ko ate, naiinsecure siya sayo especially nung naisip na pala niya Yan dati pero di niya tinuloy. Baka gusto sa kanya mapunta yung credits hahah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kalerkey nga sis..naisip na pala nya..bakit nung biglang nagawa ko at pinublish eh biglang hinanapan nya ng butas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we are scared of criticism, then we won't be able to be the best at what we do because criticisms helps us to push beyond our limit, but it should be constructive criticism. Most people just don't know how to criticize, and all these boils down to our choice of words

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly mate... criticism isn't bad. It just depends on how you execute it or how you say it to one person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ero ba un nabasa ko dati sa article mo madam? Naku inggit lang yun at ayaw malamangan. Senior nga naman sya tapos mas magaling ka sa kanya.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes sissy..same tao...kalerkey..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baka nagasisi na di sya ang nakaunamg gumawa kasi nabanggit mo na naisip na nyang gawin un before pero di nya ni push. And now na ang daming natuwa at nag praise sau for your job well done, sya naman ang umeksina para manira ng kasiyahan. I mean, it will be helpful to everyone so anong pinagpuputok ng butsi nya. Ambot lang ha. Inggit yarn.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama ka talaga sis..sya talaga kumukontra sa mga gawa ko...feeling ko nga baka inggit or baka kasi ayaw malamangan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry about your colleague sis. Perhaps he is threatened because you have a lot of potentials.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Possibly sis..pero nakakaloka kasi nasa iisang team kami..hehe..dapat tulungan hindi siraan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May mga ganung tao talaga sis. Kaya mo yan, galingan mo pa :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have more patience sis. Good for you!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes po..kahit papaano I respect the seniority in terms of tenure...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron talagang ganyang mga tao. You cannot please everyone in the nature of works. They think you are incapable of, but "kiber!" I'm doing my job and that's all. :).

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes po..ayaw kasi malamangan...

$ 0.00
2 years ago