I urge my kids to review prior their exams...am I a bad mother?

36 46
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Date: November 25, 2021  Thursday

I've been occupied the entire day yesterday trying to finish my scripting task. Yes, you heard it right. When I say scripting, I am referring to the programming tasks.

I've volunteered to create a script which will monitor two of our system in a daily basis. It is to make sure that we don't miss any data.

This week is my kid's exams week. And as you would expect, this is basically a toxic week for them.

While some of the mothers are just relax and don't care if their child is well prepared for their exams (just like my mother to us way back during our school days), to me, it's different.

I really want my kids to grow up giving priority to their education. That's why, in their early stage in school, I wanted to implant into their mind that stock knowledge is not enough. You won't get a passing score if you will just depend with your stock knowledge. That's why I always urge them to review and read their lessons prior their exams.

My kid's schedule are MWF (Monday, Wednesday, and Friday) only. That means they can use the day in between to review for the subjects scheduled for the next day.

Hence, last Sunday, after our Family date, after dinner, I've asked my eldest son to review his subjects scheduled on Monday. While I assisted my daughter who is in second grade currently on her review.

I have reminded them that they are not allowed to play any online gamez or mobile games the entire week until their examination is all done. It is our prior agreement. That during their examination week, they must focus on their review aand no distractions allowed aside from watching television during idel time or biking in the afternoon.

Good thing their school has purchased and created their own portal, hence, modules are just one download away.

I've checked the reviewer that my daughter's teacher has provided. Actually, it is not a reviewer but just the guide kn what will be the coverage of their exams. In that way their student will know what to read and study prior their exam.

My review style

I just wanted to share with you how am I doing the review routine with my daughter currently.

First, I will ask her to read a specific topic in her module. She should read it aloud beside me while I am also doing my work at the same time (multitasking).

Why do I have to urge her to read it aloud where I can sinply read it and explain to her directly what it is all about?

For her to practice her reading skills. I also sometimes have to correct her pronounciation. And lastly, I tend to discover those words that she has difficulty to read or pronounce. She is in second Grdae as I have mentioned above also, hence there are still lots of words that she don't know how to read yet. For example yesterday, she ask me how to read "environment".

After she confirmed that she's done reading the entire topic, I will stop with whatever work-related stuff that I am doing and I will read to her what she just read while explaining any important details from it.

For some enumeration items, I would help her to memorize the list of items first and then once she's confident and can say them, I will then proceed to explain each of their definition.

Then next will be question and answer portion.

I will oretend to be a teacher asking questions.

I will tell the meaning and she will have to write down what is the answer.

Sometimes, our mock question and answer portion are via oral recitation but there are also times that it's in written form.

When she was in first grade, almost all of the questions have choices. So the students will only write the letternof the correct answer

But then now that she is in grade 2, what I've learned when I witnessed one of her exam session is that most of the questions are of identification type. Meaning, the students will have to write down the answer on their whiteboard. There are no choices available.

I actually find this examination style as kind of advanced because what can you expect from a grade two student right?.. They are even struggling most of the time with the spelling yet the teacher are asking them to identify the answer to her questions in a limited time only.

Just like yesterday, when I checked my daughtet from the other room, she is still answering number 8 and is having difficulty with the spelling. And suddenly I've heard the teacher talked and said "Okay number 14". I am surprised that they are already in number 14 yet my daughter is still trying to answer number 8 and tryjng to figure out what the correct spelling of floppy disk is.

So I interrupted her teacher and request if she can repeat questions from number 8 onwards because my daughter has no answer yet.

After their exams, I asked my daughter the reasob why she was left behind, and it turns out that the teacher already moved to the next number but she's not done answering the orevious one yet. And it's already late when she realized that the teacher is in number 15 already.

So I told her, next time during our review, she needs to give attention to the spelling so that she won't struggle in the future. I also instructed her that if in case it happened again she should stop her teacher and told her that she's not yet done answering the current question.

I also told her to not forget yhe keyword in each items that I am asking her to memorize. In that case, she doesn't need to memorize bunch of definition of terms. As long as she know the "keyword", she should be fine.

Today, another review session is waving. It's last day of their examination tomorrow so wohoooo!!! Time for relaxation on Saturday!


Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty

14
$ 5.47
$ 5.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @JLoberiza
+ 11
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago

Comments

Mashallah In Shah Allah you're kids get a remarkable marks in exam and you are great mother for You're kid's You really care about you're kids about personal life and social schooling each and everything Best wishes for you and you're kids and hardwork always being a Colur one day

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much!.... I do really care about my kids' future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a hands-on mother nga ee. You just want the best for them. Parang ang hirap lang mag handle, I mean work and then teach them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

korek po, sobrang exhausted po talaga ako this week. Pero yehey! tapos na!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your such a great mom sis, nakakaproud ka nga na mommy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naku thank you po..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hassle pag review week hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth sis...talagang bisi bisihan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan tlga dapat sis,pra avoid cramminng during the exams

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis..saka ayaw ko ba na yung nakatulala nalang sa exams dahil hindi alam ang isasagot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is what should be expected from every mothers as to improve the children intellectual you actually doing a great job.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh wow! MAny thanks for your sympathy..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that's the way for her to practice reading. There is no other way. I think you did a good job.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeps. I wanted the best for my kids.. I want them to give value to education.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are doing a great job preparing your kids for their exams, not all parents do that, they just leave the whole school responsibilities to the kids and teachers and if the kids didn't come out in flying colors, they blame it on the teacher

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh really? Yeah my mother is like that. She doesn't care about our school I think as parents, we have responsibility to ensure that our child understands their lessons. And part of it is become their teacher at home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for the children side they think that is bad but then as what our side it is good for them. I know being a parent to your children u were doing best as much as u can for their future.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep .all I want is for them to grow giving value to education

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yess sissā™„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think okay naman yun pagrereview mo sa mga anak mk sis. Dapat talaga strict lalo na ngayon na may internet, i mean madami distractions like games and videos.

And relate ako jan sa keyword. Kahit noon nag aaral p ako eh tintandaan ko lang yun keyword and not the entire parangraph.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ou sis. Naloka ako sa teacher nila..wala manlang multiple choice..puro identification type eh grade 2 palang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay naku nakakaloka nga yan. Mostly eh multiple choice yan eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diba...ewan ko ba dun sa teaher nya.eh computer subject pa naman yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa private ba nag aaral sis? Kapag sa private tlaga eh ganyan eh..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ou sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kudos to you. You are really giving the task of raising your kids your all

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wo!thank you so much for your kind words

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are not a bad mother po. You are just giving out the best for them. You are indeed a good role model for other mother's out there. HAnds up to you mamsh.. God bless you. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feeling ko nga napepressure ko ang mga anak ko kapag may exams..kaso ayoko gumaya sila sa iba na binabalewala lang ang pag aaral

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas okay yan pra masanay sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

all you are doing is for their best and they will realise it soon and it will also help them, keep it up my dear

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hopefully..hopefully they understand why am I doing it..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh you are not bad mother at all.You are very good one,and it Is normal to take care about kid's education.It Is better to relax of course but sometimes it Is impossible.It happens to me with my the oldest daughter who Is second grade. It will be easier for them later,I hope for the parents too..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah. I felt so exhausted this week..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your not a bad mom, you're a good mom instead ate that is what exactly a parents do to their children.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you sis...

$ 0.00
2 years ago