* Fat Finger * Error

29 35
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Randomarticles
Date: November 6, 2021

Hello everyone! I just finished my rest day overtime tasks and hence here I am, trying to achieve my daily goal which is to publish one article per day.

This has been my goal since last month (October). However, due to different circumstances, I am not able to achieve it!. Out of 31 articles which is my target count because October has 31 days, I am able to publish 26 articles only. However, I am not upset because as I have said previously, the reason why I am setting my goals is just to draw a line that I'll try to follow. If I make it to my goal, then it's a success, but if not, then there's always next time..


By the way, did you ever heard of the term "Fat Finger Error"?

Last Wednesday, my colleague who is based in London suddenly chatted me over teams chat:

"Hi Khone"

I saw that she's still typing hence I did not replied to her right away. I thought she noticed it and hence will correct it. But when she sent her next message, it's about our work thingy and hence I replied to her and acknowledged what she said.

And then after a while, she sent me another message again saying:

"Sorry, I meant 'Hi Khing' - Fat Finger Syndrome"

It is my first encounter with these words so I searched for it and I am surprised that it seems to be a common term in trading but to the normal people, it just simply mean a typo error.

Source

In my daily work where my fingers and my keyboard are my main medium or my main tool in my field of work as IT Analyst, I never had a day that I did not have a typo error. I am always experiencing it in chatting, sending emails and even creating documents (sometimes even in coding my programs). But what actually is the Iimpact of this in our writing?

Image source

A single typo can change the meaning of a sentence.

Missing letters.

There's one instances where I am exchanging conversation with my Line Manager over chat, and my introduction should be "Hello Sir", but I am not sure what happened to letter "O" and guess what, I sent "Hell Sir" instead of Hello Sir:)..

See that? from a supposedly polite salutation, it sounds like I am cursing my line manager. Good thing I did not used exclamation point in the end. I apologized right away and explained that it's just a typo.

Fingers not coordinating well with the instructions coming from the brain.

Did you ever experienced those instances where when you proof-read the message that you sent, you realized that it has missing word?

Let's say for example, you supposedly say "Please beware of dog" but then what you've typed in is missing the "of" and so what you've sent is "Please beware dog".

Unintentional and you're confident that your sentence is correct because that's what your brain has dictated your fingers but your fingers seems to have forgotten to input some of the relevant words, so, unintentionally, you've changed the message unintentially (just now I've got a typo). I supposed to say unintentionally but my fat fingers missed some letters again.

A single typo can cause you a huge loss.

Imagine this incident. You're paying your bills which just worth 1,000 PHP but you typed in 4 zeroes (10,000) instead of 3 zeroes (1, 000) without realizing it until you've already pressed "enter" or the "confirm" button and received the confirmation receipt. Instantly, you have lose 9,000 PHP.

How to cope with these?

Always PROOFREAD

I know our fingers are always excited to press the "Enter" button or the "Send" button but we must make it a habit to always proofread your email, chat, text or letter before sending it.

Admittedly, it's hard to do most of the time specially if you're in a hurry replying to someone but then again, proofreading will actually:

  • save our time and effort for the possible rework caused by multiple or recurring typos.

  • save you from potential huge loss.

  • avoid misspelled words due to missing letters.

  • prevent changing the meaning of the sentence unintentionally by missing some words or phrase in our sentence.

By proofreading, we always make sure that the messages that we're trying to convey are properly translated into letters.

I do have lots of embarrassing moments due to fat finger error but I thing it's best to share them some other time because it's already 3:00AM as of this writing.

How about you? How often do you experience a typo error? I know it's more prone to those who are using mobile phones because the screen is too small.

Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty

18
$ 6.57
$ 6.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Abdullah143
+ 11
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Randomarticles

Comments

New word added to my brain dictionary. Well! I must say I have so much Fat finger error in my hands hehe because many times my fingers did errors. Good Afternoon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same here... Most of the time I missed some words like to, of, is, and some more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is one of the things that has hindered my writing career. I would have started writing a young age, but this fat finger thing kept me from it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ouch.. Sad to hear on that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate much specially in chatting with my hundreds of students and parents. I am always in hurry to accommodate their concerns. That is why sometimes I have to type a message in general to simply copy and paste with the same concerns to be more safe. hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Truth.. Tapos automatic pa si thumb finger magkiclick ng send agad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aysst.. Guilty ako sa.. Nangyayari talaga to sa'kin sis, lalo na kung wala ako sa focus or kung hindi ko maintindahan masyado yung binabasa or pinakikinggan ko.. Hehe..

Tas yung sa keyboard din, minsan yung pag enter mo nang word, mali na pala ang nalabas na words, tas na-send mo pa..😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Truth sis.. Lalo na kapag lag ang phone hahaha... Akala mo nakakasunod sya sa tinatype mo tapos naclick mo na yung send.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Very wrong nga sis eh.. 🤦😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's mostly happened with me and sometimes a single mistake make you very loss and it's really bad for us You're word Soo preacious when You chat email or something sending to other person then you read it carefully and send it carefully

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Completely agreed with you mate!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always experiencing this to all my accounts online. That is why when I'm writing my articles, I used my gmail email template cos it has automatic reviews/corrections. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh really?.. Wow.. I learned something new today.. I want to try it as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same things happend with me many times. Now I write a message and read it two times then I send it. I also come across this term first time. Write articles about this type of new terms

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah... I jist learned of the terminology as well.. But maybee some expert traders knows well that terminology and maybe used them well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha ganito din ako ehhhh I parang kontra na kontra talaga yung keyboard ewan kona lang.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kasalanan yun ng keyboard.. Ahahah? Charot.. Lahat ata tayo nakakaexperience ng ganito

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only heard this today omoo, may natutunan na naman me hahaha. Anyways, marami akong ganito di rin talaga maiwasan lalo na tamad ako mag proofread haha. Pagkasulat save, wait for my set time to publish it and then enter 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ako din ate.. Minsan kasi pagkatype ko matik yung kamay ko pinipindot agad ang send.. Parang nakaprogram na sya na pipindutin ang send..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always experience this because of auto correct haha

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Ay ayoko nga din nung may autocorrect saka autocomplete na keypad.. Hirap na hirap ako dun....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do make this mistake every time but all I do is to read all that I have written again to be sure of typo free.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah and that is what we called as proofreading..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako palagi ding error typing ewan ako ba o Yong keypad, nanisipa sa keypad

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Common yan sa atin sis.. Palaging nagkakamali

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are all humans, so it is customary to make mistakes; there is no day I don't make a typo when chatting. My friends mock me when I do this, and it can be painful sometimes, I will try reading my post before sending it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yeah...me too!.because my fingers seems to have their own mind and they wanted to press send right away!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi akong ganyan sis ,yan talaga problema ko dati nung nagtatrabaho pa ako as cashier ,iba yung amount na type ko buti na lang napapansin ko agad ,minsan din hindi.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

naku sis, mahirap yung work mo, nasa kaha...Hanga nga din talaga ako sa mga cashiers...

$ 0.00
2 years ago