Ghost month August

17 43
Avatar for Kendy42
1 year ago

August 16, 17-6

It's Tuesday and the month of August is at its mid-date.

Maybe some of us are wondering why August is a ghost month for some people.

In my opinion and own interpretation, the reason why August is such was that this month of the year seems the tightest season (financially).

Pixabay.com

For some reason, I could say the tightest because most of us especially the lower class of society where I belong, whatever we earned and save would be all used up, and some are tending to have debt and end up having more problems financially.

It is still clear to my memory that in the past few August I experience things that are not well. Since I decided to live with my partner things have changed. I observed that during August we are down financially. There was this occasion that he left his first job and find another in a company, at first few weeks everything went well but as soon as August came by he was rushed to the emergency hospital because he was found by riders motionless beside the street. The good thing is he recovered quickly tru the quick response of the hospital staff, it turns out that his allergy attacked, while he was walking on the highway, that is why he passed out. Since then he can't find a good job anymore to support us (I was not yet working during that time, I was just new to the city life, ignorante ba lol).

But before September ended he finally found another job to work on.

It was August also when a typhoon devastated us. We were from the province where we attend the wake of my partner's grandmother and back in the city with the bad weather. We arrived at our boarding house roofless and almost all our belongings were wet from rainwater. That was one of my not-so-good experiences in August.

Back when I was a kid, my family diligently gather every grain of rice from the farmlands and put it together in a granary. We use to consume these for the coming months until the next crops are ready to harvest again. But as August is approaching some folks from the village started to ask for some extra grain from my mom to work for.

In the village, no certain work to earn a living aside from cultivating the farm. That is also depending if you have a lot of it to plant plenty of rice. But if you have less you only gain less as well, so in the ending, folks tend to travel to another village to work on the farm of other people in exchange for rice grains.

Pixabay.com

The harvest in the summer was likely cannot provide for the whole rainy season. That is why when August came the rice grains are already drained that making the village people fall into debt.

One more thing why August is a ghost month is because some people consider this as such a festival correct me if I'm wrong. When I once was a babysitter for a Chinese family in the city. They were good and the madam was a doctor, it was August when I started to work for them, then one afternoon I saw the madam burning a yellow paper (fake money)on a large tin, to my curiosity I ask her what was that she replied to me that those are paper money which they burn for the ghost of their ancestors if I recall it perfectly, and by that, they will avoid such misfortunes.

Sponsors of Kendy42
empty
empty
empty

Thank you dearest sponsors💚

@foryoubtc09 thank you so much for renewing your sponsorship. This means so much to me :).

Pixabay.com

And while I'm in Hong Kong, I also saw a lot of offerings of fruits and flowers and lighted incense along some corners of the roads during August. Once my lady employer mentioned to me that August was a ghost month for they believe that their departed ones' souls will come to visit.

Here's a link where you can read this tradition or festival that is celebrated by some.


In my work, we consider August as the lonely month of income for us because we seldom reach our quotas, unlike the previous and coming months.

And for a commuter like me, August was the most hassle part of the year due to frequent rains and storms and typhoons.

Anyway, I am not saying that August was bad, no it's not. Because despite some unfortunate events happening during this month, there are more immeasurable blessings that happened too to anyone of us. Maybe it was just a coincidence that an unpleasant event happens during August because of the rainy weather.

How about you guys, what can you say about this matter? Do you believe that August is a ghost month?

Whatever your opinion you can write it down in the comment box below.

That's all for now, dearest. Thank you again for reading💚.

The lead image was from Unsplash.com and the rest were from pixabay.com.

Article #149
Published: August 17, 2022
Time: 04:05 PST
All images are used and owned by me 
     unless otherwise stated. 

L🧡ve,

Kendy42

6
$ 0.06
$ 0.02 from @foryoubtc09
$ 0.01 from @Grecy095
$ 0.01 from @SuperJulalaine
+ 2
Sponsors of Kendy42
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kendy42
1 year ago

Comments

Kendy yes🤣, August seems a ghost month. Low income too even sa passive o pagsusulat. Chinese ba yong dati mong employer? Nagsusunog pala sila ng pera ano. May nakita pa naman si Papa kanina na dumaan, ghost month pala ngayon!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember reading superstitions about the month of August. But my family do not particularly believe on this. Pero subukan kong sabihin sa kanila then ask their opinion about it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think we Pinoys haven't think superstitions about August, it only happens that this month when all my savings are consumed and drained, for some reason the heaviest time to handle I guess.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think it's not just because it's August, as the year has gone on everything has declined, I also live with my couple, August for us is also terrible, because all our students are on vacation, so it's the month where we have less money. Also the prices of things start to go up, so even if we save all year, all the money goes between August and September.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That mean I am not the only one who feels down financially during this month lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh no friend, the vacation months are terrible for me because I'm out of work and out of earnings haha I should be able to enjoy them but that doesn't always happen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's well my friend. It's not only you that's feeling the heat of finances, it's everywhere. My backbone used to be this platform but now that Earnings have reduced, it's really difficult

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I feel you dear, same here as well, but stopping is not the answer though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I've never heard of Ghost Month, the only thing I know about August is that it's the hottest month here and all creatures and plants suffer from it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I guess that's the way August wanna show its ghosting Doc lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oh you gave me additional information about the Ghost Month. What I only clearly remember during Ghost Month is that there are people who passed away. Just recently, I know someone who passed at this month and my father died August 7,2017. Thanks for the additional information.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's the tightest month for me sis. And I can't avoid it lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree sis the month of August is rainy days. Here in our place it's always raining. It's seldom there's a sunny weather.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That adds up to why this month is a struggle for most of us lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes that's true sis but sometimes I love rainy days sis because I'm comfortable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you my friend. I also feel down in terms of financially in time of August. The money is so tight, and it feels like August is a long month.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right teacherLyn, though we both have our work now we still feel the August effects lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago