Why Humans Are Afraid Of Death?

12 35
Avatar for KatinessEverdeen
1 year ago
16-oct-2022

Greetings read dot users!

Good evening, How you guys have spent you weekend? I have spent it by doing laundry, drafting articles, ironing the clothes as tomorrow I have to go to college, and lastly making notes as exams are round the corner, so I have to study hard to get good marks in exams. Well, have you read the title of my article? Kind of scary right haha. You guys must be wondering where I got the idea of writing this article, so let me tell you back story of choosing this article.

"life is for the living. Death is for the dead. Let life be like music. And death a note unsaid." -Langston Hughes

My granny is almost 82 years old. Last night, she slept soundly in backyard of our house. The day was winding down and sun was getting close to setting. Everyone was busy in doing their works, Mum was busy in doing house chores, I was pressing the clothes while other family members were taking the tea, the time was almost 8 : 11 PM. Suddenly, we heared the screams of granny, "I don't want to die, I want to love more, I want a new life, please don't take my soul. So we all rushed towards granny and heared these words, seems like she was having a terrible nightmare. My dad inquired "what happened mother?" She said nothing and after a moment of silence she spoke and said I want to spend time with myself so please leave me alone for sometime.

When everyone left she called me and said me to sit beside her. I gave her glass of water and asked her "what happened Granny? Have you had a terrible nightmare?"

She said, "I saw myself in a dark, empty room with no one else in it, wondering where I was. "Suddenly a blinding white light appeared before me; I heared a voice from the light saying, "Iam here to remind you that you have only few days left when your time will be over I will come and take your soul with myself."

She stated that It felt like he was an angel who came here to remind me that I will be dying in few days so my life is going to end soon, and now Iam concearned about how I will face God?

After hearing the story, I said her "Don't be afraid granny it was nothing more than a horrible dream. Now everything is fine so just relax.

There was a brief moment of silence ......

She said breaking the tense, " Death is not something I dread. Simply put, Iam afraid of what will happen to me once I die. My life has been fulfilled with many misdeeds and mistakes. I now fear being punished, How do I face God?

I can see terror in her eyes as she spoke those words, after giving it some thought, I realized why she desired a new life: She wanted one to make up for her mistakes and atone for her sins.

Do people fear dying because it's painful?

"There is no death. Only a change of world's." -Chief Seattle

People are not terrified of dying because it's painful it hurts, but rather because they can't bear the thought of no longer having physical body or a conscious awarenesses of the world around them. They are not afraid of death because it is painful, but rather because they will lose contact with their loved ones and that they will become invisible and intangible, like air.

Should we be scared of death?

"The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time." -Mark Twain

Since death is inevitable and cannot be avoided, so we should not waste our time worrying about it, because we all know that whether we like it or not, we all have to taste it one day. So what we can do? Instead of being fearful, we should do good deeds, help people who need our help, and try to be a good human being. By doing this, we will not only be getting fruitful rewards in this life but also be saved from getting punishment in hereafter and as a reward may be God will send us to heaven after death.

Reasons

So, now iam going to conclude this article by giving you certain reason which I believe are the reasons why people are afraid of death.

  • Perhaps people dream death because they have committed so many sins and do not feel worthy of God's forgiveness.

  • The idea of unknown, like what will happen next, makes them scared of death.

  • Questions such as: what will happen to us after Death? Where will we go? What will be the punishment of our misdeeds? makes them terrified of death.

  • Lastly, the thought of being apart from their loved ones fills them with sorrow and despair, and because of that they are fearful of death.

___________________________

That's all for today, Thank you for taking sometime and reading it. Don't forget to like, subscribe and upvote my article and share your thoughts in the coments I will be happy to read your thoughts. Lastly don't forget me and my parents in your precious prayers.

Happy weekend to everyone

Stay happy stay blessed

Free images are from unspalsh

-KatinessEverdeen

10
$ 2.20
$ 1.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Meher-Mah
+ 7
Sponsors of KatinessEverdeen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for KatinessEverdeen
1 year ago

Comments

Do people fear dying because it's painful?

This is what scares me more though, not death. I don't want to suffer painfully as I die and to see my family and loved ones suffer knowing that I am suffering. I want to save them from that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No one really likes to die, because of many reasons they personally have. But to die is every human's fate because of our sinful nature. Nevertheless, there is hope, bliss and comfort in the life hereafter, because of Jesus Christ , our Only Saviour. He had prepared a place in heaven for everyone who realized that he is sinful and in need of a Saviour. He is just waiting for anyone to come in full faith, trusting and believing , accepting and claiming His finished work of salvation on the cross of Calvary . But if course asking forgiveness and repentance from sins. The Bible says many things about salvation of our soul and how are we to prepare in meeting our Creator at the end of our life here on earth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God is indeed merciful He can easily forgive us if we repent and never commit those Sins again, but we are human we cannot love without making sins haha well one thing at least we can do is to help needy ones and at least try to be good human beings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The salvation of our soul does not depend on our good works. Christ has finished the works for our salvation. We just have to accept Christ as our Saviour claiming and believing by faith what He has done . If the salvation of our soul is dependent on our good works then Christ need not to die and shed His precious blood for the remissions of our sins. Ephesians 2:8,9

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, I just hope your Grandmother is doing better now.

Don't know about others but I am at the stage of my life where I really wanna die leaving everything behind coz I just hate my existence these days.

It doesn't mean I am not afraid of dying but living in an era where it's hard to live surrounded by thousands of miseries and the Devils. It's better to die.

So many questions arrived to our mind whenever we think about death but one thing is obvious no one knows what will surely happen once we die.

Well written Writeup:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awh you are strong sis, I believe in you you gonna handle everything and just because of these miseries and devils why giving up your life? Enjoy your life as we won't be getting another so ignore such people and enjoy every moment of your life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have said it all. The most reason people do not want to die or fear death is because of the bad deeds they have done or committed and they are afraid of where they would spend their lives. But God is always merciful and the best is to live a good life and continue asking for God's grace and mercy. With this, God will forgive such a person and live a good life after death.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed God is merciful, He will forgive us if we repent and ask for His forgiveness, Thank you sis for stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't want to die not because I'm afraid of dying but because of my family. I don't want my kids to live without a Mom and my husband without a wife. My parents bury their daughter and my siblings bury their eldest sister. It sounds so painful already just by writing this.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh it's really painful sis never knew this before, May their soul rest in peace and may God grant them highest place in Heaven

And I wish you a long and prosperous life ahead

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think for me, the fear of leaving family sad is majorly why I do not want to die just yet.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Right, leaving the loved ones is what making us afraid of death.

$ 0.00
1 year ago