You're supporting a candidate/party because of godfatherism?

14 33
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Hello beautiful people!

It's Friday here and the weather has been cooperating, the sun came out earlier around 7:15am which is to show the day is set for maximum brightness,,,but we know what the outcome would be at the end of the day🥳, RAIN 🌧️.

Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Thank you sponsors 💝💝💝

Scrolling down my Facebook news feed today, I saw a picture of a friend on a political meeting/gathering, they went for a political campaign in another state. My friend has been a political person right from school, he's been under some political godfathers for a very long time and he's eating the benefits of his followership now.

Why am I bringing my friends details?

Okay, the political party he's moving with is one of the parties that a normal youth in Nigeria is not ready to hear anything about or vote them to power.

[I'm not saying we don't have freedom to joining any Political party, I'm just saying with the way things are in Nigeria currently.]

Image source

I began to wonder, what made him to still stick to that party when he's fully aware that there's no future with the party or the candidate, just why? Then a flash thought came as an answer, "he's still there because his bosses are there and also he's benefitting a lot."

That's one of the major problems we are facing currently in Nigeria when it comes to politics. We are still supporting evil doers because of these reasons of personal Interest.

Godfatherism

This is a chronic one and it's chopping the destiny of many in Nigeria. I remember during the days of #ENDSARS, a lot of people vowed never to vote for that man claiming the god of West(Lagos), especially because of the genocidal act that occured during the period.

But do you know that a lot of people that vowed not to vote for him are the ones campaigning for him right now, why? He's their father. Yes, they take him as a godfather and anywhere he goes, they follow.

It's not fair, we shouldn't paint black⚫ white⚪ because we have our bosses there. I read something on Kushyzee's article on hive yesterday and he made mention of how we(citizen) are one of the major problems of the country, and it's very true. Now imagine someone calling dog🐕 a goat🐐 because his mentor/boss is there and if he says the truth, it'll jeopardize his boss. It's not right at all!

That my friend I mentioned is fully into that political party because of his godfathers, he knows he's not supposed to be there with whatsoever reason, but he's there because he can't pull out from his godfathers.

Let me come down a little bit.

In my home town, we are known for a particular political party, infact when I was there I was the secretary of the Unit in my street. For people that knows Delta State, mehn! that state is solely for PDP🤣. The state's deputy speaker is from my community, from my very own extended family. With this, everyone support this particular party.

I called my dad some weeks ago to confirm on which party they're currently supporting because a large percentage of Nigerians don't want any of those parties again. Mehn, my dad told me that they're still on their ground with the party. I weak once! That's godfatherism at work😭.

Personal benefits

A lot of people that are still supporting wrong parties and candidates are doing that purely because of what's entering their pocket.

When I was working in an eatery, there's this man that usually comes to buy good like he's hosting birthday parties. He said it's politics money he's chopping and as long as he's getting money from the candidate/party, he'll continue to support him even the world is against him. I don't blame him at all, it's the nature of the World now, things are difficult and once you get a source of steady supply, it's not advisable to leave there.

________________________

Screenshot from my phone/whatsapp

I decided to make some troubles this morning and posted this on my WhatsApp status. A lot of them on my contact list are now giving me attitudes because the word pierced them.

Thanks for reading💝💝💝

2nd September 2022

10
$ 0.45
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 4
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Poverty has done us strong thing in this country. You will see people accepting 2k just to vote for the wrong person. Some people go to voting centers just to look for people sharing money before they vote, even if it's the devil that give them 5k, they will vote for him

$ 0.02
1 year ago

even if it's the devil that give them 5k, they will vote for him.

This is the exact situation we are currently, money and personal interest have taken over. A lot of us don't care what the future holds, once they see "today's offer" they jump on it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This topic of yours is a powerful one and that's what is killing Nigerians. We will see the truth but we prefer to tell lies because of the benefit in the end. It's painful seeing these things happening but what can I do? God will help us to see the truth and claim it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's very painful seeing all these and we are not ready to change because of benefits at the end. It's only God that will help us

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Godfatherism is even small sef... Religious and ethnic sentiment are the bane if Nigeria's development

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh yeah! That sector is another hit on its own. These passed few years, Religious crisis in politics has dealt with us and still dealing with us

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here in our country, people give their support just because their benefiting some goods from the person, that is why vote buying become trends. Tsk.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

And it's very bad. It's bad how people are getting blindfolded by their so called leader and keep vouching for them to do better even when they continue treating humans like they don't exist

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It does not even make sense, some claiming that they vote for 'one old man' because he has done Lagos good, another one keeps ranting b nonsence saying they will vote for another person because of what they are gaining from him. The rate at which people's eyes are opening these days ehn! I pray something that will make them realise the truth happen to them also.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, people are getting awake and I just hope the fire continues and doesn't go down very soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Guy you made me remember the #ENDSARS# incident 😔😔😔. That is what is going on especially now,well some of them have their personal selfish reasons

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That ENDSARS period gave me another deep thought on these political leaders. They don't give a damn on humans and the masses are still blinded following them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think in every country not only in Nigeria people support parties because their parents and their bosses are following them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's true, it's now a general thing and it's very bad. As for me, I'm yet to get to that stage of being Influenced by these politicians, maybe it's because I'm not Politically freaked

$ 0.00
1 year ago