Who pays more During Video/Voice Call?

20 39
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

It's weekend!

I bring greetings from my hood, hope you're all doing good? It's weekend and I know most of you are having nice time with families and friends. It's all good, that's how it's supposed to be.

Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Thank you dear sponsors ✌️

I was completely away the whole day, the day that I thought I'd engage fully here because I wasn't going to work. This thing happens to me often, I'd plan out to make my free day productive here but it usually turn the opposite.

I woke up today with my task for the day all planned out on my head, but someone stepped in from nowhere to steal the whole of the day from me. It all started with normal chat on WhatsApp and moved to Whatsapp voice and video calls. It was just like someone was controlling me with a remote because I stayed on bed till 11:00am before I could get up to brush and take my bathe. After like two to three hour on laundry, she came up again with more intensed calls and I couldn't resist it because it "sweeting" me as well. Lol🤣.

My data got exhausted and I was happy because that will be a good means for me to escape the call but before I knew it, she had transferred 1gb to my line and I was shocked. We continued and stayed online with the calls(voice and video call) for a long while to the extent that I missed church in the evening.😭

The funny that is that, if you check what we were discussing, it wasn't so reasonable. Maybe that's how God ordained my day to be. We ended the the talks and call in the evening and when I checked the durations we used on call, it marvelled me, like if this is to be charged on normal airtime,,,,the caller must have spent thousands of naira. But it's all good that we used data call(whatsapp call).

This evening (at the time of writing), I went to nairaland to check if could get what to write and I found a thread about a guy asking to know WHO PAYS MORE IN A WHATSAPP CALL, is it the caller or the reciever?

Image source

To some people this question looks funny but deep down you don't have the answer. A lot of people will say it's the caller that will pay more because he initiated the call just as it works with normal call.

The guy posted the thread said;

He received a WhatsApp call from his girlfriend and the call literally lasted like a flash, the lady told him to call her back on WhatsApp call because she's not having enough data to call.

Do you get that? The lady was economizing her data by not initiating the call, instead he asked the guy to call her back.

Before going to read comments, my Little knowledge about this internet calls is that, the charges are done on the data and works equally on both sides, i.e it doesn't matter who initiated the call, the charges(data) are being deducted from not ends. The only difference it may have is when one has low rate on the setting of the app.

Look at it;

Screenshot from WhatsApp

We have a botton on WhatsApp where we switch the the rate of data usage on calls, so if you turn it on, that means it will consume less and if it's off, it'll consume more.

So the call charges differs when one has high rate call and the other with less rate call.

This guy said it all;

Screenshot from Nairaland

Aside this, some people still believes that the charges are being traced down to the server(telecommunication) they're using. Like here in Nigeria, some people believe that MTN shallows data like water, so if you use MTN for data's, you'll spend more.

Though to some extent, the charges are related with the server used IF ONLY the plan of the network is the type that consumes data more others. Let's say a plan that uses 1.5k/kb can not be compare I with a plan that uses 5k/kb.

After reading this,I quickly asked my brother to know his idea and I got the answer as expected, he said it's the caller that spends/pays more during calls with data.

Now let's hear your view, who do you think that pays more during WhatsApp/data calls, the CALLER or RECEIVER?? Drop your answers on the comment section.

So sorry for not visiting you today 🤦

Thanks for reading

3rd June 2022

.

12
$ 0.90
$ 0.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Bloghound
+ 9
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I think the two parties both pay the same as they can't able to use WhatsApp without an internet connection that's what I understand I guess correct me if im wrong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well for me, both pays during calls, because both of you are currently using a data internet while talking to each other. If only one person is paying the call then even if you're offline you can still receive the call, but however we knew that it wouldn't happen, as calling in WhatsApp and even in Facebook messenger they required both caller and receiver to have an internet connection to be able to used the telecommunication services.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeess! You got it. Date call call needs internet connection and this connection is based on data on SIM card

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God didn't plan your day like that, you were carried away by her, haha, I hope the conversation ended with something romantic or what benefits you, 😂

I don't think anyone is charged higher than the other, that's why is called a Whatsapp call, both parties have to pay according to how they set it in their phone, that's why some calls are slow and they do hang, due to the other person network, MTN do eat data sha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah, the call is on both sides and it based on rate settings too. The lower th rate, the lower the quality.

The call wanted to benefit me but,,,,🤭🤭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🥲But, you cut the call?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I had to cut the call to avoid quick breakfast. Lol🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ouch 💔🤕

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If anyone use audio or video call both has to pay for using apps.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah, you get it bro. Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know anything about WhatsApp. Whenever I have to use video calling, it's done in our apartment where we are billed monthly for the internet. I use free data when chatting in messenger whenever I am outside.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah, it's same with WhatsApp call. The charges is deducted from the internet data

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know anything about video calling in WhatsApp because I'm only using messenger but one thing is for sure, both the caller and receiver will be charged when doing video call

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly, that's how it works in any app during video call. Both sides are being charged

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You don already talk the answer na 😆 it's both parties that pay the data, it's just common sense for people that know a lot about the internet. It's not like regular phone calls where only the caller pays, for an internet call to connect both parties need to have data

$ 0.02
1 year ago

And People still dragging that it's the caller that pays more. Little Ignorance 🤔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think it's the caller that pays more, the receiver also pays but not up to the caller

$ 0.02
1 year ago

And this article is to let you know how it works. The deduction is on two ways; the caller and the receiver

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I actually agree with you. Both the caller and the receiver are charged.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah, that's how it works. It's a two way deduction

$ 0.00
1 year ago