How do you guys eat beans containing Weevils?

14 93
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Hello People!

A very special greetings to you all, hope you're good? Just be fine.

It seems the hand behind BCH is really strong, what is $103? Yesterday I was talking about $110, now I'm seeing wonder, are we sure this is not going to get to $50 one day and by then we would be aiming for it to jack back to $100. God abeg ooo!

Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Thank you sponsors ✌️🥰

This blog is all about my dislikeness of Weevils on beans

Image source

I'm sure this is very popular to you, unless your type of beans there is different from the common one we usually see in my country. As long as I know, I've never seen or bought a large quantity of beans without weevils on it. I know beans without weevils exist but it's extremely rare because weevils enter beans at the place and process of storage.

I'm the type that detest these little creatures inside beans, I hate it to the core, infact once I know that there's weevils in the beans, it's hard for me to continue eating that food. This is why I don't eat beans outside (especially restaurant) because I know they wouldn't bother to remove the weevils when picking the beans.

If I'm eating beans prepared at home and I happens to see those black little things enclosed in the seed, I'm stopping right away. Yes, I do check my loaded spoon before putting it in my mouth...weird!🤪

It's not like I'm trying to be something else but that's me, I find it so hard to go along chewing those creatures as many people go along with it. I know you eat it too.

Letme share this experience...

I remember when we were very little living with family, my mom would drop beans for me to cook for siblings and keep her portion too so she could eat when she returns from farm. There was a day she bought up to 5cups of beans and said I should cook, when I poured out the beans to pick, I got irritated with the weevils. Half of the seeds of beans had weevils in them and it really got me Angry. I was even murmuring why she bought the type of beans and I'm sure she bought it cheap.

Image source

The looks of the beans really got me angry, live weevils were crawling and flying as well, they were just having their nice time. I decided to put the beans on the sun to help Chase them but that only succeded in chasing out few.

It was really annoying because if I cook it like that I won't be able to eat, so I improvised a wrong way to curb it, I poured th beans in water and the seeds containing weevils came up and I filtered them out... I filtered out half of the beans and furthered to cook.

Yes, after the cooking, pot of beans was looking like two cups(instead of 5cups). Mehn, when Mom got home that day I collected beating of my life because to her I was trying to form ajebo(rich kid)🤣🤣.

That's the extent I could go when it comes to weevils on beans.

When I was in school and I buy beans that has weevils, let me tell you what I do if I want to cook,

  • I will bring out knife

  • Pick out a stick of broom

  • And be drawing them out one after the other.

Yes it takes time be it's worth it to me.

What brought this topic?

Yesterday I was at home all through and I decided to cook beans, there was no beans at home so I went to a nearby market to get a little quantity. When I got there, all the beans in the market had weevils on them and it really sucks. After going round I decided to buy. I bought and got home, poured it out on a wide plate to pick and as usual, my knife was there to pick them out. It took me up to 30mins doing that and I was terribly hungry but I didn't mind.

When I was done cooking, I ate it with peace of mind.

________________________

When I tell people about my dislikeness of weevils on beans, they frown at me because it's hard to see a clean beans. They even go a long way to tell me that those weevils make the beans more proteinous OMG!

But on a serious note, how are you guys comfortable eating weevils on beans, don't you feel somehow? Like chewing everything together 🤦🤦🤦.

Share your thought on the comment section.

Thanks for reading☘️🥰

30th June 2022

12
$ 0.12
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.02 from @Bilqees
+ 3
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

🤣🤣🤣 You attack with knife and broom. Nawa oo

I also don't like seeing weevils in my beans but I don't have any option because there's no way I would remove those weevils without seeing inside the beans. I don't have time to waste when I am hungry. When it's done, I remove the ones I can and swallow the remaining.

Your wife go try Sha 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It been a while I saw weevils in my bean, probably because it was expensive one, well I didn't buy it though, also if you put dry pepper into your bean, like the container you keep your beans, weevils won't attack the beans or they die if they are in it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I know of this preservative measure. This only works when you have beans stored in your house and not the smalls ones you go out to shop to buy when hunger is alarming.

Those clean beans are usually expensive too..as you said

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are a big man na.. Order beans from dubai

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe😂. It's been a long I saw it in beans. Those that buy beans that have stayed too long in the seller's shop are likely to see it all the time. Some people think it's because of the container but it's not

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Actually if you buy it cleans and decide to preserve it personally, it won't get spoilt. But those in markets and shops are not preserved to standard that's why.

If you've not seen Weevils in beans for a while, either your family buy in bulk and store with personal preservate measures or it's because you've not been cooking at home. Lastborn🤦

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think I can also eat those beans with insects inside, just imagining it it's already gross.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's really weird to chew the beans with insect inside 🤦. But people do eat it without feeling somehow

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo you dey try oo, how were you able to remove everything with just broom

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol🤣. I can't see myself chewing the beans with insect therein. It's weird! People that are free with Weevils on beans deserve accolades

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As for me, I haven't experienced it though. But one thing is for sure, I am afraid of weevils lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's good if you've not experienced it before. That means he beans over there are clean and not attacked by Weevils

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really got fear from all these weevils which comes out from beans I go away from them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

And People eat them with beans🤦. It's weird

$ 0.00
1 year ago