The Blockchain Roller Coaster Ride

21 70
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

9 September 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Written on 7 September 2021

If you've been dabbling in the blockchain any amount of time and regardless of whether if it's in cryptocurrencies or Non-Fungible Tokens (NFTs), you'll know that when it comes to moving things around, you're walking on eggshells.

It's been a while since I do any asset moving but in the last couple of weeks due to some reasons, I have to do this...like I normally would do, bit by bit, taking my sweet time.

Some I did faster than others. Then last week, I'd made a few transactions due to a couple of games I'd wanted to play. I was hoping that these games will be so fun to play that people will be flocking to play them. Both games are very new and thus, high risk to put any money into them. But put money in, I did. That obviously needed transactions to do so. Transactions mean going on that Blockchain roller coaster ride.

The Ride

I'm sure you already know this. The easiest part is to go through the motion of copying and pasting or scanning QR codes related to the transaction. Once the submit button is pressed, the terror begins. The roller coaster is almost at the highest point. The drop wasn't the scariest moment in a roller coaster ride. It's the anticipation of the drop at the other side of the peak that's feeding the terror.

Then, you reached the scariest moment.

This is the point where you clicked the submit button. It's a final act. There's no turning back the clock. No option to 'unclick'. Once clicked, it's FINAL.

With a pounding heart, the suspenseful, nail-biting part has just begun. It's the waiting or transaction pending period that is striking terror to the toughest of men or women.

From this point onward, it's unlike any roller coaster ride you've ridden. It'll not be the speed that terrifies you. It's the opposite. You'll be at the edge of your seat with eyes glued to the screen. But nothing seems to move. Your world has now gone into slow motion. Time has stood still. The only thing that has gone lightspeed is your mind. It has gone hyperactive and does its best to add to the suspense. These questions flood your mind:

  • Did I do everything correctly?

  • How much longer is this gonna take?

  • Why is the transaction still pending?

    • This last question instinctively gets you to start clicking and checking, and at the same time praying incessantly.

    • Checking the blockchain record to find out what's going on. Clicking on the recipient platform to check if there are any changes. You know the drill.

If after checking and getting no updates and nothing has changed, then your thoughts are no longer of those questions mentioned above. Doubts and anger have taken over.

  • I MUST have done something wrong.

  • My cryptocurrency (money) is gone for good now.

  • I should have sent a small amount to test the process first.

  • I am such an idiot.

The End of the Ride

For the most part, if you have been careful and alert in following all the needed steps, the transaction will go through. Transactions in some blockchains are faster than others. So, it depends on the blockchain you use and also the number of confirmations required before the transaction goes through.

If all was done right, then the sent amount will arrive at the intended destination. If it does, then you give a SIGH of relief. Prayers were answered! Hallelujah!

I can guarantee that even if you KNOW you've done all the correct steps and you know that it WILL arrive, you will still feel a great RELIEF.

At the start of this paragraph, I'd mentioned about being careful and alert while performing any transactions. This is not an option because once you have clicked the submit button, NO ONE can help you recover what's been sent if you've made any mistakes.

No DUI in Crypto

I don't think I need to mention how dangerous it is to be driving under the influence, correct?

Do you know that attempting blockchain transactions when you are tired is just as dangerous?

My advice is don't find out the hard way. However urgent it is to get a transaction done, if your body and/or your mind is tired, you have better stay away from such an activity. Otherwise, you will regret it. Trust me, I am living proof though I can't recall what transaction that was. LOL One of the blessings of having a short memory.

In Summary

Always be careful when transacting through the blockchain. Make sure you are highly alert. NEVER let your mind takes control...you know the familiarity with a process and the autopilot muscle memory kicking in? Yeah, recipe for disaster. Always personally scrutinize each step carefully before clicking submit.

Hope this has been helpful to keep you on your toes in your pursuit towards a #BetterSeptember.

Oh, by the way. I've started writing to share about the two games mentioned at the start of this article. It's coming out soon.

Thank you for reading. See you tomorrow in the next article. Meanwhile, have a great day!

Sources:

Header Photo by Kristel Velez on Unsplash

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood | #ClubBrokeBCH

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

11
$ 5.45
$ 4.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 6
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

Calm and sanity when making a transaction on the blockchain, hehe.

Some time ago, I used to convert cryptos to local currency in a local exchange. Their operation had a window of time for the first confirmation to arrive. At that time, I used to use Uphold. And from time to time, the transactions got stuck. And It took them a while to get out. The time counter used to get on my nerves.

One time the counter ended. And my operation was canceled. And of course, I had already sent the cryptos. I had to send emails, and make a claim. In the end, it was resolved. But I think I stopped using that service due to the stress of waiting for that first confirmation.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Waiting for transactions like these is always terrifying. IMHO, this is one factor that's keeping cryptocurrencies from going mainstream. Unless of course, there's a safeguard to transactions. Right now, there's no recourse once it's sent. It is the double-edged sword of decentralization.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

As with anything in life, haste makes waste. Just slow down and concentrate. lol.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So true. I stay away from performing the above tasks when I'm tired. And when I'm not, as you said, I still need to slow down and don't let me familiarity with the tasks cause me to go auto-pilot and do something I'll regret after.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I just got in to benswap, metamask, coinflex so it was a roller coaster ride indeed. I was used to instant transfers that waiting for a few minutes drives me anxious :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'd been queueing up a couple of times for this same transaction you mentioned. Each time I'm at the edge of my seat...waiting until it's safely done. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate a lot to that roller coaster ride. That's why I always try to do a test transaction with small amount first before the whale and always going into QR as much as possible.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I do test transactions too but sometimes the gas is so high that it doesn't make sense. But yes, that's the safest route. Also even if we use QR codes, the error sometimes is not only the address but sending to the wrong chain or address.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why is the transaction still pending?

Literally, my mood right now cause it's my first time topping up in Nexo.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

LOL. That never fail to keep me on edge each time I do a transaction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm just grateful that I have received it didn't get lost.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's always a relief.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminded me of my first time to lose a crypto due to being noob. Good thing it was just a small amount..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Me too. Though I can't remember my boo-boo, I think it was a small amount too. Phew. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mine was $10XRP i got from coinbase quiz

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha i just remember my transaction with wax and it made me laugh.. yep never ever DUI lol but I enjoy the ride of taking the risk .. learned from it LOL

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is a rite of passage for many dabbling in the blockchain world. Probably all of us learn this lesson at one point or another. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I literally had a hard time yday dealing with my new crypto investments, and oddly speaking, I lost more or less a hundred lol. How would you know you could win if you don't take a risk? Yday was no my day tho lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh my! Truly sorry to hear that. Was that because of an error in address or protocol or because of the dump? But you're right, no risk, no gain but some risks can be mitigated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm into adventures but not in risk-taking. Does that makes sense? Haha adventures without risk-taking? Maybe it is just wishful thinking

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hmm...that's gonna be a real tough one. hahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago