My Peculiar taste in Music...including one from a band with no name!

13 30
Avatar for Just1dood
3 years ago

A recent chat with a friend on music (@MoreGainStrategies) has got me started reminiscing on music I used to listen to. As I reflected on that, I realized that if we confined ourselves to only music in one particular era or genre, we may be missing out on some gems out there.

This led me to put things down here as a reflection on my eccentric music preference and also a record (thanks, @pusher ) of what I used to enjoy and like and still do.

Music, much like food is very personal and preferential. I suspect this is due to upbringing and environmental influence. This would be a safe thing to put in a blog because frankly speaking (<--- adding unnecessary words since the bot likes wordy article), who isn't influenced by upbringing and the environment?

Deviating a little, I wonder if the bot likes articles on music. Is it a he-bot or a she-bot? Or a neutral-bot? The bot has been on my mind each time I think of writing here.

Anyways, back to music. What music I listen to that is considered eccentric and peculiar to my taste?

Let me be very frank here, all of us have biases, including me. These are the music that I like but that doesn't mean I won't listen to other genres. However, there is a limit to what I can 'tolerate'. Hahaha... a bit of a strong word but we're talking about a passionate subject here.

So, what do I listen to? Some of these bands are probably older than you by decades but then music should be timeless.

One of the groups that I mentioned to Martin at the comment section of his Internet Gold | How Does Music Work? Wie Geht Eigentlich Musik | Marti Fischer - Cyberpunk 2077 post is Kraftwerk.

Check out a few of their hits here. Musique Non Stop hit the top of Billboard's US Dance Club Songs on 1st October 1987. That's just over 33 years ago!

The other piece that hit the #1 Billboard chart is The Telephone Call (Remix). It made it to the Billboard's US Dance Club Songs on 25th Apri 1987.

If you like this type of music, other notable songs from Kraftwerk you should also check out Tour de France (1983) and Computer Love (1981), Autobahn (1975), and The Model (1978).

One other group that I mentioned during the same comment was the song Da Da Da by Trio, another German band.

I think you now know that my taste in music is a little peculiar. I did ask Martin if he knows of any German bands that I'd like based on my taste. He recommended I check Deichkind. He recommended I listen to Limit among a few other songs. The first song I found on YouTube was Dinge. What a peculiar music video. He was right, so far, I liked what I have heard and seen thus far. A strange band to say the least. Even though I can't understand what they're singing, I sense that they have a very strong opinion in the message conveyed through their songs and their music videos. The music videos are very interesting to watch. I assure you that you'll not be disappointed.

I'll close this article with this short story. While thinking about the peculiar songs I used to listen to, I was reminded of a group. However, I can't for the life of me find anything about this group. Why? Because it has no name! I only know this group by it's graphical "squiggle" which acts as its name. I resorted to asking a friend of mine who's like a music encyclopedia. From there, I finally managed to locate the group and the hit song that I used to like, called Doot Doot.

So, if you read the history of this band, they were 'requested' to have a pronounceable name by their record label, CBS Records that led to the "squiggle" being pronounced "Freur". If not for this, it's near impossible to search for this band on the internet.

Thank you for indulging me in reading about my peculiar taste for music. Hope you've enjoyed some of them. Maybe I'll share more another time. Meanwhile, laugh often and have a great day!

2
$ 0.29
$ 0.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
3 years ago

Comments

nice post, and thanks for the mention. i'm here as the RC author formerly known as pusher...Lol.

music is such a huge part of people's lives.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol. Perfect re-intro. Along the same vein as the artist formerly known as Prince.

Yes, it is. Just like smell/aroma from past experience, it can evoke a strong emotion.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just subscribed to you again. If you could do the same to my new account, it would be appreciated! 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I have, RC author formerly known as pusher. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol...don't make me change my username again...🤣 i do like it, but too much work...maybe i'll just use the short form like Prince..,

I'll be known as "The Author"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That does have a ring to it. LOL. Btw, I subscribed to your new name yesterday. Just curious. Do you know if there's anyway to find out who our subscribers are? I tried to find but doesn't seem like there's a way.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol...thanks bud!

i asked a number of users, but no one knows if there is a way to find out who has subscribed to you. i've done my own research (limited), but no luck.

maybe try to e-mail the support team? hello@read.cash

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seems odd that it's not part of the functionality of the site.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

just noticed u got a tip for this post...great job! when did that happen?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was almost at the 24-hour point from publication. Needless to say, I was pleasantly surprised.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes, but even P0x only added that functionality a few months ago too. this platform is less advanced, so probably something low on their priority list sadly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, I didn't know that about P0x. Maybe it's something they're working on. But thankfully not a high impact on usability.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, I didn't know that about P0x. Maybe it's something they're working on. But thankfully not a high impact on usability.

$ 0.00
3 years ago