Internet Gold | How Does Music Work? Wie Geht Eigentlich Musik | Marti Fischer - Cyberpunk 2077

14 29

My Internet Gold series has dealt quite a bit with the topic "music" so far -- in one way or another. And today, I present to you:

Some more music. πŸ˜…

But this time we approach the topic entirely from a different angle: We start from scratch and build up a song. And we do it in a different language: The video is in German. But honestly, I am pretty sure that everybody will be able to follow along. The reason is that Germans have the habit of adopting lots of English words.Β (Why waste time reinventing the wheel -- right?)

Let's play a game!

Guess what "sound" means in German!
Answer: "Sound".

Guess what "synthesizer" means in German!
Answer: "Synthesizer".

Guess what "kick", "snare" and "hi hat" mean in German!
Answer: "Kick", "snare" and "hi hat".

Guess what "bass guitar" means in German!
Answer: Bassgitarre.

You get the point, right?

Of course, not everything is exactly the same. But most music specific words in the video are.

Ok, with that out of the way,

let's watch the video:

By the way, this song is the inspiration for the above video:

Want more?

Marti Fischer uses music genres or specific songs for inspiration and builds up original songs which are inspired by the song or which are typical/ representative for the entire genre.

He has a video pretty much for every music genre you can think of. Here is how to find them:

Type into YouTube's search

wie geht eigentlich Musik

and add the genre you're interested in, for instance "grunge".

Therefore, we type in

wie geht eigentlich Musik grunge

and we end up with the following video:

Alternatively, you can browse the videos on his YouTube channel -- which you find here.

I have to admit that not all of his videos are easy to understand for a non-German-speaker. But if you skip the intros and go straight to the music making, you will probably find the videos really rewarding.

Still want more?

I have to admit, I have one problem with Marti Fischer:

He always teases his audience with brilliant songs -- and he never finishes them. 😬

I actually went through one of his videos and cut out all the song snippets that he put in there in an effort to combine them to a finished song, but my editing skills -- and his snippets -- did not suffice. Which is a pity! His song snippets are great.

Y U like?

Before I watched every single one of his videos, I never knew what I heard when I listened to music. It all sounded convoluted and meshed together. All was one indiscernable dough of different sounds.

Hearing how a song is created step by step -- or layer by layer -- really helped me to identify what goes into the music dough and I started hearing its individual musical ingredients.Β 

That's why I am such a fan of this type of videos -- and we will revisit this topic again in a future installment of the "Internet Gold" series. Stay tuned! I do have a nice lineup of cool content and won't run out of ideas any time soon. πŸ˜‰ But:

Do you have a suggestion on what I should feature next?Β 

Did you like the song Marti wrote?

Were you able to follow along as a non-German-speaker?

Let me know in the comments!

Β 

8
$ 0.27
$ 0.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.01 from @PVMihalache
Sponsors of MoreGainStrategies
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Can I just say that I try to do headbanging and I confirm that it gives me a sore head πŸ˜† My brain bleeds and can't follow the language but I enjoy his movement, his hands and all. I do appreciate any kinds of music depending on my mood and if ever I got mad at my husband I will play that in the car in a high volume! 😁 (Welcome to me to just comment for the very first time. Such a shame.)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love German groups, especially those that are a little different. I used to listen to Kraftwerk a lot. After reading your article and listing to Marti Fischer, Kraftwerk came to mind. As I'm typing this, I'm listing to Computer Liebe (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bp_6HLUQno0). The other German song that I started listening again just recently was Da Da Da by Trio (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqTBlft8gQA). As you can tell, my taste of music is a little peculiar πŸ˜‚ I'm ending my comment here listening to Da Da Da... Loving it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, nice. 😊 You are right, your taste is a little peculiar, but I appreciate that. πŸ‘ I actually like Kraftwerk a lot, too. I'm trying to think of other iconic German bands, but apart from Rammstein none comes to mind. Even though there is no shortage, but I believe that most are only famous within Germany.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll check Rammstein out a bit later. Yah, do share if you can think of other German bands that are 'peculiar'. I may like them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have just thought of a German "band" that you should definitely check out. It's called "Deichkind" and they make the strangest songs imaginable. πŸ˜‚ They also released about a million songs by now. So, there will be plenty of material to go through.

Maybe start with "limit" and click through a couple dozen tracks. πŸ˜… There are so many strange ones.

99 Bierkanister. Illegale Fans. Arbeit nervt. BΓΌck dich hoch. Gut dabei. Leider geil. Remmidemmi. Wer sagt denn das. Bon Voyage. Like mich am Arsch.

Just to name a few.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Deichkind

Straightaway went to YouTube to check them out. First song that came out from their channel was Dinge. I LOVE IT! Don't understand what they're singing but seems like they have a strong message to convey. For Dinge, I'm guessing it's about consumerism. Funny! Love the eccentric style and video clips. This is definitely a keeper. Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad you like it. 😊 I haven't even heard that song myself yet. πŸ˜… But criticising consumerism is definitely in their wheelhouse. πŸ˜†

PS: Yeah, you definitely got their message. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is awesome. Proves that music is a universal language.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

no time to indulge sadly...upvoted! good to see another post despite your busy workload!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your support. πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really good playlist

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago