Beauty is in the eye of the Beholder & Tips on how to be happy for the rest of your life

16 44
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

18 July 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

There was a time not too far back in time where everything goes. There's no such thing as being politically correct or being under the microscope for writing or saying or singing something that may not necessarily be acceptable to the general public.

I mean, yes, there are certain acceptable norms as practiced at that particular time. So, yes, there are certain subjects that are taboo. They are acceptable as off-limits without broadcasting to the whole world that they are so.

The above two paragraphs are just a fancy way to segue into what I want to write about. Crafty little fella.

I want to preface this by saying that it is not my intention to offend anyone but just an open-minded view of a song that I heard many years ago and in fact, one of the funniest songs I'd ever heard because it's so ridiculous that it made sense.

I will post the lyrics here and you be the judge:

If you want to be happy for the rest of your life
Never make a pretty woman your wife
So for my personal point of view
Get an ugly girl to marry you

If you want to be happy for the rest of your life
Never make a pretty woman your wife
So for my personal point of view
Get an ugly girl to marry you

A pretty woman makes her husband look small
And very often causes his downfall
As soon as he married her and then she starts
To do the things that will break his heart

But if you make an ugly woman your wife
A-you'll be happy for the rest of your life
An ug-a-ly woman cooks meals on time
And she'll always give you peace of mind

If you want to be happy for the rest of your life
Never make a pretty woman your wife
So for my personal point of view
Get an ugly girl to marry you

Don't let your friends say you have no taste
Go ahead and marry anyway
Though her face is ugly, her eyes don't match
Take it from me, she's a better catch

If you want to be happy for the rest of your life
Never make a pretty woman your wife
So for my personal point of view
Get an ugly girl to marry you

Say man!
Hey baby!
I saw your wife the other day!
Yeah?
Yeah, an' she's ugly!
Yeah, she's ugly, but she sure can cook, baby!
Yeah, alright!

If you want to be happy for the rest of your life
Never make a pretty woman your wife
So for my personal point of view
Get an ugly girl to marry you

If you want to be happy for the rest of your life
Never make a pretty woman your wife
So for my personal point of view
Get an ugly girl to marry you

If you want to be happy for the rest of your life
Never make a pretty woman your wife
So for my personal point of view
Get an ugly girl to marry you

If you want to be happy for the rest of your life
Never make a pretty woman your wife
So for my personal point of view
Get an ugly girl to marry you

This song was written and sung by Jimmy Soul (Soul is a stage name). I highly recommend you check out the Wikipedia write-up about his life. It's an interesting short read.

You know that it's got to be some sort of a joke since he performed it on Dick Clark's American Bandstand TV Show back on 12th April 1963. This song subsequently hit #1 on 18th May 1963 for two weeks and stayed in the Top 100 for fourteen weeks.

If you're wondering if this song ever got into any trouble when released back then, wonder no more. It was allegedly banned in many radio stations due to the use of the words, wait for it..."Ugly girl/Woman"! Come to think of it, in today's context many would argue that this kinda song would not see the day of light but if you are honest about it, we can't have a double standard. If songs with 'b!tches', whore, etc in songs, this is more than mild in comparison.

Regardless, I think it's a funny song, and to get the full effect of how silly and funny it is, you just have to sing along.

Here's a clip to help with your sing-along:

Now, be nice. Please don't flame me for posting this. For some, you may not have been aware of this song before reading it here. So, consider this a lesson in music history.

I'll end by saying that the song alluded to the fact that beauty is truly skin deep. I'll leave it to you to find that phrase.

Oh, one more thing. The same holds true for an ugly husband!

As usual, thank you for reading my sometimes nonsensical musings. This one was completed without any subheadings. LOL!

Until next time, have a great day and stay safe!

Sources:

Header: Unsplash.com -Quentin Lagache

Wikipedia - Jimmy Soul and If you Wanna be Happy

Songfacts.com - If you Wanna be Happy by Jimmy Soul

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

Source

Wikipedia - Jimmy Soul and If you Wanna be Happy

Songfacts.com - If you Wanna be Happy by Jimmy Soul

6
$ 0.45
$ 0.10 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.10 from @Eylz2021
+ 2
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

Oh, one more thing. The same holds true for an ugly husband!.... this line made me laugh. but seriously speaking, beauty is really in the eyes of the beholder. What is beautiful in your eyes may not be beautiful in the eyes of others and that includes a husband (hahaha)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is true. In fact, it holds more truth when you look at it from the "true love" perspective. Thank you for visiting. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's also a tagalized/ fiipino version of this song 😂 Its a hit song in the 90's, i think? hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? Haven't heard of the Filipino version but I think this was popular once upon a time. It's got a catchy tune and kinda funny lyrics. I love songs with funny lyrics. They are quite rare.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you want to check, here's the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l_jHuoKKfLU

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a rap! Sounds like a funny one too! You gotta translate that. An article right there. LOL. I only understood the Chrismassy part. The plagiarism alarm going off. Hahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminds me of the Filipino song where it says find an ugly person and love him/her and surely you will have a happy life :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with this one. It's Humanap Ka Na Panget (find an ugly) by Andrew E.

It's funny that the song was banned from radio stations. But it can't be helped too, it was in the backward days. Those days where there were no whore or b!tches in songs. I really don't know what to say about it. I'll just standby for opinions :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's one of those crazy articles that I wrote because all of a sudden this song popped into my mind. LOL. I'm sure if someone wants to dig deeper into this song and its origins, there is a story hidden in there somewhere that maybe only the composer would know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree, some songs really do have deep meanings or deep origins. It could be that the one who composed the song was dumped by a pretty girl hahaha. The rest was history.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You may be on to something there. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nowadays those words are commonly used in songs now and other hateful words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Nowadays, the response is at both extremes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think i've already heard this befte but didn't pay much attention with the lyrics... And yes i think beauty is skin deep if you will base it on the lyrics of this song...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I didn't research the origin of his song but he may have written it just as a joke.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

PApakinggan ko sya, magana yung sa lyrics nya

$ 0.00
2 years ago