Bank of Articles: Why I use it. You should too.

Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

17 August 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

It's the 9 August and almost 4 PM on a Monday afternoon. I was finally able to get caught up in reading articles from my favorite writers and writers I have a connection with. It goes without saying that, reading doesn't complete the interaction expected at read.cash. Commenting is the final nod of approval and the expected connection with the writer. Granted, that may not always be possible due to time constraints but most of us will at least do an upvote if in a hurry.

If given the same amount of time constraints; I find that reading articles take more out of me than writing one. When I read, I tend to forget to look away from the screen to relax my eyes. But when I write, I do that. Especially, when I'm thinking about what to write or how to frame my next thoughts. Refocusing my eyes away from my computer screen at scenery or view far away helps relax my eyes.

Previews

This is why I would normally preview my written article from my article bank before posting them. Immediately next on the agenda after that would be to write my article. If I do it this way, I'd ensure that my eyes would not be tired by the time I get to writing.

Writing a free flow article (without any time spent on research) can take up to 3 hours for me. Of course, the time demanded depends on how freely my thoughts flowed. Sometimes it's faster; other times, not.

Now, imagine this. If I'd attempted to write and post on the same day, it may take up to 4 hours or more before it is ready for publishing. Completing an article does not mean that it is ready for posting. I'll need to re-read, check for typos and grammatical errors as much as I am able to. Even after that, it is still possible to miss out on errors.

Generally, I'll take a minimum of another 30 minutes to run through an article before posting. However, this can take up to 1.5 hours, with edits, additions, and rewrites.

Having an article bank allows me to start with a fresh mind the next day to do the post-publishing review and edits. The added advantage with a fresh mind is that I oftentimes see new angles to my articles with better points or stupider nonsense.

Interludes

Between the writing and posting time, many things can happen. There may be a more suitable article in my article bank to use rather than what was queued to be published.

A recent example of mine was "An Odd Ode: To my Sponsors - Current & To-be". This wasn't slotted to be published on 9 August 2021. It was only written the day before but due to the sudden increase in sponsorships two days prior, I'd decided to make this the next article for posting. In my mind, it was timely.

Note: Though the above article was completed a day earlier, prior to posting on 9 August 2021, I'd taken another 1.5 hours to review with edits and some changes before posting. I am glad I had that time to do this and this had produced a better article. That, my friend, is a sign of respect for my readers.

Vault

I'd just had a look at my article bank. Not counting this one that I'm currently writing, I have a total of 7 completed articles in my bank ready to be published. These will take me another 30 minutes to 1.5 hours to go through on posting day. On top of that, I have a few more with just a title. These may or may not see the light of day. Not all of these titles I'll have the inspiration to write.

Having an arsenal of articles in my bank leaves me some room to maneuver about. I don't feel as much pressure on days where my schedules are too tight to write. It is also a reason why I don't post any articles on Sundays. I don't feel the need to write on that day. I have a choice and when I feel that my body needs the rest, I don't write. Don't get burned out for doing something you enjoy doing. What's the point, right?

Deposited

Alright, it's a little past 4.30 PM. The first draft of this article is done. It has taken less time than usual because all the needed ingredients are in my brain. I just need to put them together and rearrange them as necessary.

I will likely spend another hour on it before posting since I feel that there needs to be further polishing. But for now, it's been deposited into my article bank. I'm now 9 articles rich. LOL.

One more thing before I end. Just because we can write does not mean that we will automatically get readers to read. You can read my thoughts on how to get eyeballs on your article from yesterday's post - For New Writers: How to make sure your articles get read.

Thank you for reading and I hope that this can be helpful in your writing journey too.

Sources:

Header: unsplash.com - vnwayne fan

Image 1: unsplash.com - Sigmund

Image 2: unsplash.com - Jan Antonin Kolar

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

12
$ 4.72
$ 4.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.10 from @Eylz2021
+ 7
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

What more would I like than to have a bank of articles. I usually take my time writing, and I check and read over and over again. And I have never managed to have an archived article ready to publish waiting in the pipeline. The most I have are several titles and ideas to develop. That is why I don't plan to write every day. If I make it to the end of the month with 15 articles written, I'll be happy. Writing isn't only what matters, reading and commenting on other publications also consume our time, and are as important as writing. But I congratulate those like you who can have a bank of articles. ;)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Absolutely. Reading and commenting in fact may take up more time than writing. I'm experiencing that now. LOL. I think you have a good flow and not putting yourself under any unnecessary pressure. That's great. I'm a glutton for punishment trying to push myself but I know it's not sustainable. The rate that I post will likely be reduced in due time. I've yet to determine when that is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, well, as long as you have articles in your bank, the pressure won't be much. If you can keep up having your stock of articles. ;) But I think we also have to look at the reader's side. There are some writers here who I like to read everything they write. But sometimes it isn't possible to keep up since they publish too often. And I end up having to skip a few articles. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually, don't tell anyone. Me too! 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I won't tell! I sware 🤣 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah you mean the drafts section. Lol. Thought you go to some website with a list of topics or something. Haha. I just recently started freewriting and it is very easy indeed. You can just write and then you're done.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I envy you. It's great that you can have flowing ideas/topics and free-write. If you can maintain that, then you'll have no issue. But for those who are committed to posting/writing an article a day, when the idea dries up even for a day, it can be stressful, and having a few in storage helps.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehehe, it's okay. That's why we have plenty of prompts and challenges here for us to be able to write everyday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a good strategy. Especially considering there are days when the flow is just right and I can write multiple posts (obviously I have not done that here yet, I am too new). Other days my brain is just locked up tight and nothing wants to come and no words feel right.

Saving to drafts and publishing later is something I will do quite a lot of here. Plus, it allows me to give some breathing room between posts so readers can find their way to new ones.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Saving is always a good habit. I'm gonna stretch that as much as possible. I've currently made a commitment to myself to post one article a day except on Sundays. That frequency may change in the future. I don't think it's sustainable for me in the long run but the glutton for punishment in my wants to see how far I can push it. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you really are a man of organization mate...kudos to you I found some ideas on my future vaults and plan to deposit them days later

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I do my best. Otherwise, I'll panic! Good luck with your vault!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

will do mate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow you have plenty of stocks deposited, 9 articles on standby😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think I'll be making an article bank as well. I always get panicked everyday because I have no back uo articles in case that I'll be having a writer's block in a specific day. Thanks for the idea 🤗

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This practice has helped take off some pressure for me. 😎 Good luck with your bank. 🙌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

still trying on this one.. though today the article that I'm going to publish was done yesterday. this fictional trip is giving me time to bank some article. hopefully before all the trips in my mind ends I was able to bank articles that is good for a week too. thanks bro! as always

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yay...adding to the bank. That's great news. Glad you're able to write and have spare articles for rainy days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I'm doing the same thing, even though my article count is still very low. It's nice to be prepared in case something happened and we can't write for a period of time. Good advice all around delivered in a short yet compact format! Thanks for sharing!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's always good to be prepared. Any extra number of articles in the bank helps.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gotta try this cause I don't have a strategy when it comes to writing my articles. I just do freestyle writing and post straight to my timeline. This is why I make lots of typo errors sometimes.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If your freestyle ideas flow, do a few at one seating. Then on posting day, go through and add/edit as needed before posting. You'll probably enjoy it better. Then, once you are depleted or once you're inspired, do another stretch of articles. I think you'll do better than I. I have a hard time writing. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Will do that. Gotta make 5 today lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yea...pedal to the metal! 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha right

$ 0.00
2 years ago