A smartBCH Torpedo: How to get one of the first NFTs on the smartBCH sidechain

20 124
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

22 September 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Fancy owning a smartBCH Torpedo?

Today, the NFT collector's bug had bitten me again. I have been collecting NFTs for a while now. Long enough to have collected some gems and lots of junk. I'm sure many of you who are NFT collectors know what I'm talking about. Some are expensive junk, and some are cheaper ones. Nonetheless, still junk.

On the bright side, I do have some decent value gems in my collection. Whether these will appreciate in value more in the future is left to be seen. I'd consider the NFT collection craze is still at its infancy, and hence still a good idea to hold on to what I have.

In my passive search for NFTs, I have come across some good projects and a couple that I still follow to this date. I'll write about them in upcoming articles.

This leads me to the latest that had caught my attention. If you ask me if the art is highly collectible, I'd tell you that there isn't much to shout about in terms of the art department. It's clean and to some, it may look more like a large-sized icon than anything else. To me, it is crisp and easily identifiable. I like it.

The question then is why on earth would I collect them if they are no Monets or Van Goghs, right?

Good question. In short, it's not always about the art as much as what it represents. It is hard to put a value on the intrinsic value. With this in mind, let me share with you my view.

My View

I'll share with you my reasons for collecting these. Do note that I'm not a financial advisor and this is not financial advice. Spend or purchase at your own risk. I do advise that you do your own research as much as possible before going into it.

I will go through 3 main points that had me interested in Torpedos.

1. Pioneering Value

This is one of the first, if not the first NFT launched on the smartBCH sidechain. Being the first or one of the first gives it a first-mover advantage. It will also have a 'homeground' advantage as more people supporting the smartBCH chain in the initial stage will be familiar with it. There's an affinity to the familiar and that will bode well for the project.

2. Scarcity

We are all too familiar with this. Generally speaking, the less something is, the more valuable it will be. In the NFT sphere, Torpedos definitely fits in the scarce category.

In my chat with the owner, he mentioned that there will be ONLY a total of 500 Torpedo NFTs released in the initial stage and No More than 1000 in total that will ever be minted. These will be released through 5 generations initially with each generation having 100 NFTs. Generations 6 to 10 may follow at a later stage, also with 10 copies per generation. That's it.

Generation 1 has just been launched and at the time of writing, there were only a total of 45 First Generation Torpedos left!

3. Ease of Acquisition

The third point is the ease of acquisition or more precisely, the difficulty of acquisition.

It is my belief that the more difficult it is to get something, the greater the opportunities for those who manage to get it.

This is because, once the acquisition barrier is no longer there, it may be more difficult for you and me to acquire it. I have experienced this in some of the NFT games that I'd played. As more players come in, acquiring 'assets' has gotten more difficult due to the increased competition. This is actually a good indication for the project and for those who'd gotten in when it was tough going.

My Torpedoes Purchase

I have been anticipating this ever since I first heard about it a few days ago. Needless to say, once I found out that Torpedos were listed for sale, I proceeded to acquire my own Torpedos. It was not a straightforward process in getting my Torpedos. I'll walk through the steps involved.

  1. The Landing page

The first stop is going to the project's GitHub landing page for instructions.

The first thing you'll notice upon landing on this page are the Torpedos neatly lined up as seen in the image below:

Besides the Torpedoes displayed, you will also see the instructions on how to proceed to get one or more Torpedos of your own.

  1. The Torpedo NFT Marketplace Link

Clicking the Torpedo smartBCH NFT Marketplace Link will take you to the purchase page.

The page will look like this:

Note: "Lootbox" simply means you will purchase one random TORPEDO NFT. The Generation 1 NFTs had mint numbers running from 1 to 100. You will get any number between that that has not already been sold. It's randomized.

  1. Buying Process

Once you have decided which of the Lootbox you would like to purchase, just click on the "Buy Now NFT" button located below it. This will pop open your MetaMask wallet. Just follow the instructions to complete the purchase. Once your purchase order has gone through the chain Transaction Confirmations, it is complete.

  1. Adding the NFT to MetaMask

After the purchasing process, you will not see the Token or NFT on your MetaMask. You'll need to manually add that to MetaMask. If you're not familiar with MetaMask or adding Tokens manually, I suggest you read this article first. Once you've done that, these are the information you'll need to add the Torpedo Token/NFT to MetaMask:

On the Mobile MetaMask Wallet:

Token Address: 0x74d731274c6c4ce78e070357160255a2596da71d

Token Symbol: TORPEDO

Token of Precision: 0

On the Desktop MetaMask.

Your experience may be slightly different than on mobile. The terms are worded differently. Also, for desktops, once you have input the Token Contract Address, the Token Symbol will auto-populate.

Token Contract Address: 0x74d731274c6c4ce78e070357160255a2596da71d

Token Symbol: TORPEDO

Token Decimal: 0

You will not be able to view NFTs on the desktop version of MetaMask. This feature is only available on the Mobile MetaMask. There is another step to complete in order for you to view your NFT collection on the Mobile MetaMask.

  1. Torpedo NFT ID

Before we proceed to set that up, we'll need to find out your Torpedo NFT ID. To do that we need to go to the Torpedo NFT Wallet Manager.

  1. View all Torpedo NFTs

Once there, click on the "View All TORPEDO NFTs" and sign in when your MetaMask wallet pops up. You will then see an indicator showing you which of the 100 NFTs you have just purchased. If it points to #45 (for example), then that is the Torpedo NFT ID you'd just bought. Remember & note your number.

We next head over to your mobile MetaMask wallet to set up your NFT so that your collection can be viewed there.

  1. Add NFT to MetaMask Wallet

On your mobile, select the smartBCH account, the one you have added the Torpedo Token to earlier. You'll notice that next to the TOKENS tab, there's an NFTs tab. Select that tab.

After clicking on the "+ADD NFTs" link, you'll be brought to a page to complete two fields. The adding process is almost the same as the Adding Tokens steps earlier.

Fill in the fields as follows:

Address: 0x74d731274c6c4ce78e070357160255a2596da71d

ID: Fill in the your Torpedo NFT ID number here

For the ID field, enter the Torpedo NFT ID you have noted earlier (for the current Generation 1 sales, only ID 1 to 100 exists). In the example, we'd used 45. If by happenstance that 45 was also your Torpedo NFT ID, then enter 45 in the ID field.

Once both fields have been completed, click ADD.

(Note: You may need to click "ADD" twice)

You should then be able to see your NFT listed then. Something like below:

If you click on the NFT image, you will see the Torpedo NFT # in the pop-up. Well, that's it.

Happy Collecting & Final Thoughts

I will not go through the steps for selling as I've not done it myself. You can read up on your own at the landing page if you are interested.

I have no idea if these NFTs will be worth more in the future. I sure hope the novelty of being sort of a Genesis NFT on the smartBCH blockchain will make them a sought-after collector's NFTs, especially considering that there will NEVER be more than 1000 in existence and only 100 for the genesis Generation 1 release!

Thank you for reading and Happy Collecting!

Disclaimer: This is not financial advice. Do your own research.

Sources:

All images are screenshots by the author

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood | #ClubBrokeBCH

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

11
$ 5.02
$ 4.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 7
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

I have to read this again lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this. I saved it just in case I have done a thorough research about this.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Good luck with your research.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow how much do one NFT cost? Sadly, I can't engage on that cause the market is on red and I can't spend my money right now, I'm waiting for its pump, u was hoping for its pump atleast a week from now.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, the market is bloody red all over. I do hope we get to see some green real soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I might try to get some while early. The scarcity and first move advantage alone is a great reason to get some of those.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I thought so too but there's always an element of risk. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Three days ago I bought several cards from a game then the dip happened. I purchased all of them at almost 50% higher lols!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no. That's a bummer. That was a market fluctuation risk? Not caused by anything that happened to the game, right? Which means you'll probably recoup your 'investment'. Just need to ride out the storm.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No drops for this? 😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nope. Don't think so. If there's a drop, there won't be any left. Only 100 in Gen1.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for it ....bookmarked it but will still have my research on this...thank you mate

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes. Research is not an option. Better do it to your satisfaction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

will do mate thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks bro!!! i bookmarked it too :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers! Enjoy the read later. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bookmarked :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

LOL. That was quick.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have to save it for later, cause I want to do it seriously lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL. Good luck!

$ 0.00
2 years ago