Think oh think oh

14 45
Avatar for Jumper-01
2 years ago

Hiii happy Sunday read.kings and queens.

20 March 2022

How is everyone doing today? It is the last day of the week. Those of us resuming to work tomorrow I am sorry but the show has got to go on๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚hehehe. March is moving really swift I remember when we started this month. It seem like it was yesterday but now we are almost at the end of it.

I wrote an article some days ago about all my feelings and stuff for the month of March you can check it out via this link. The way it is now I feel like I should update that article because since that time till now a few things have changed. Like just yesterday I started to think there are certain things in my life I really want to change to suit my currently personality. So who knows maybe I would update that article or just write it when writing for the one for next month(April).

Anyways if you are African mainly Nigerians you would recognize this game โ€œtinko tinko ..โ€ it is somewhat like a moonlight play you know like other popular moonlight play we use to play when we were kids. Some of these games include boju boju( hide and seek), suwe , ojuju calabar, sandalili( standard living)etc.

You donโ€™t remember? Oh shame on you if you are Nigerian ๐Ÿ˜‚. Anyways for the sake of other cultures and people from other part of the word. Moonlight games are games we played when we were younger. It was mostly carried out in an area where all the children would meet like a village square or a public park. It is mostly done in the evening when the moon is out.

Most of these moonlight games came with unique songs in native language so as to help kids in those days to remember some of the important events and history that held out cultures and heritage.

This particular one โ€œtinko tinkoโ€ is one that we usually play all the time even during the day. It involves singing this song and clapping and jamming hands with the other player. It starts off slowly and becomes a very fast game as the game progresses. It is played by two players where the person who emerges victorious is the person with more concentration and speed. Other moon light plays can involve quite a number of persons but the main idea isnโ€™t to find a winner of looser the main idea is to have fun as a group.

So this evening I was having a discussion with some friends when one of my them was began to correct some of us about the true origin of these games. I for one doubted what he was saying because it seem like false information to me. Although it made sense what he said but I just wasnโ€™t having it.

He said quite a lot but one thing that he said that I doubted for sure was the fact that โ€œtinko tinkoโ€ was correctly pronounced as โ€œthink oh think ohโ€. His explanation was that our forefathers used this games to communicate with each other in those slavery days.

of a truth, we are yet to figure out what โ€œtinko tinkoโ€ really means but I doubt very much it means what he is saying it is.

Anyways I just wanted to tell you a bit of what moonlight games means to us African children.

For persons of other cultures and race I am sure yโ€™all have a childhood game that this article reminds you ofโ€ฆ. Let me know in the comment section what they are maybe I might know them too.

Thank you for reading peaceโค๏ธ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ฆโœ๏ธ.

copyrightsยฉ2022jumper


13
$ 4.29
$ 4.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 8
Sponsors of Jumper-01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jumper-01
2 years ago

Comments

Abeg leave my tinko tinko alone oo ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚. I never for once imagined it was think oh think oh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚na sammo oh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Remember playing a game popularly known as 'suwe'. You see all sorts of drawings,then you begin to hear. This is suwe English,this one is suwe Ghana๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚. Laslas everything na one leg up๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ yes exactly one leg up while jumping .. it was fun sha ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey nice to meet you :) Sub'd to you :)

sincerely, your bathroom pal ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yeah thanks โ€ฆ ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please don't come and ruin my childhood for me, it should remain as "tinko tinko", just like how "standard living" should remain as "sandalili", the damage has already been done ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo! Think oh think oh khe. But I love the history behind it (if it's true) I learnt something new today. Taking us back to the days when we played those moonlight games in school makes me feel like being a child once more, it was really an awesome experience. Those days were memorable days.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The best I tell you โ€ฆ kids of nowadays wonโ€™t know what they are missing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. So it was think oh! ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚

I am just hearing this after a long time of realizing sandalili was actually standard living.. itโ€™s been a long time.

Gone are the good and memorable days that may never return.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah hearing the correction to some of these things makes me feel some type of way but hey itโ€™s good to know the correct thing right ?๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure ๐Ÿ˜‚. But as free knowing the correct thing I always wish I could turn back the hands of time and make corrections ๐Ÿ˜‚.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have a lot of childhood game, that was before but now kids are too much expose to social media and they dont like collaborating outside.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly it is so sad they would never know the joy of these games

$ 0.00
2 years ago