Not all heroes wear capes

14 58
Avatar for Jumper-01
2 years ago


Images used from unsplash

14th December 2021

Let’s Talk about great men and women that have done great things in the world. People that have done things that made the world stop to applaud them. These people I respect so much it’s very hard to make a difference in the world we live today because they are so many negative forces and negative minds working night and day to make sure that suffering and oppression continues in every sense of the world.

But we don’t have to worry because in every generation there is always one or more heroes and heroines gifted to us by the almighty who have sworn to make sure that they make the world a better place. These men and women of honor do not wear capes but they did a lot of great things in their time. They are actually a lot but for the purpose of this read I am only going to talk about a handful of them .. first on my list is

NELSON MADIBA MANDELA 

If you are African or African-mixed with other races and you don’t know the name Nelson Mandela, then you probably live under a rock or you do not possess a curious mind. let me educate you 

Nelson madiba Mandela born on the 18th day of July 1918 in mvezo South Africa, was born to the Madiba clan where is father was the chief of the clan. He later renounced the clan chifetainship to become a lawyer. Nelson was know for many historic achievements during in lifetime like becoming the president of south Africa but perhaps his greatest achievement was successfully leading a resistance to the South African policy of apartheid in the 20th century. 

Between the year 1964-1982 Nelson Mandela was in prison after which he came out and won the a Nobel price for peace in 1993 along with becoming the first black south-African president in the year 1994.  I could go on and on about Mandela but I don’t want to bore you my loves so if you need to learn more about Nelson Mandela you can google him and read up. Trust me you would find his lifestyle interesting and encouraging.

Martin Luther king 

“I have a dream ..”

Another great man who was phenomenal in his life time was Martin Luther king jr. Born in Atlanta, Georgia on the 15th day of January 1929 was an American Baptist minister and activist who became the visible spokesman in leading the movement for civil rights. Martin Inspired non-violent activism, led marches for allowance and right for black people to vote. He got so many life achievement awards likes Nobel prize for peace 1964, congressional medal 2004 and even a presidential medal for freedom 1977.  

In all Martin Luther king jr. Was a hero to say many people especially people of color and even though he wore no cape he lived for the course and died for the course that to me his what a hero should look like.

Harriet Tubman 

Harriet Tubman, who was an American activist and abolitionist was a phenomenal woman. She was born into slavery in the year 1820. She had a hard life as a child from being loaned by her slave masters to another slave master at a very young age, she also suffered from being beat up by the slave master and sometimes she hardly ate only food scraps from  the table when the slave master and his family ate. 

But that never stopped her from being a phenomenal woman. She eventually escaped from her slave master and even made over 15 mission to save approximately 70 other people including her family and friends with the help of an antislavery network and safe houses all around the country known as the Underground Railroad. She also serve as a spy for the union army during the war and also as an activist in her later years for women’s suffrage.

 She was a great instrument for the saving of slaves in the earliest days which earned her the name MOSES.

One of the most amazing stories I have heard in a while was the story of the young man who saved his younger sister from drowning.

Timo Conboy

Timo conboy a 8-year old boy saved his younger sister who was drowning by calling their mum when he noticed that she drowning in the family pool. He did not only alert their mother who came and performed CPR he also called 911 and asked them to come immediately. The most amazing thing about this story is the fact that timo refuses to take all the glory for his heroic act. He claims his younger sister taught him how to scream louder to alert their mum. What a true hero and an amazing older brother.

Finally ..

MY PARENTS

I have seen a lot of heroes and heroines but my parents top them all to me. I have witnessed their heroism right from childhood up until I got old enough. They have and still always come to my rescue when I am in hard situations. It’s just amazing how they always seem to know exactly what to do and how to do it just to make sure I am good at the end of the day. I could go on and on with how great they are but trust me y’all might get bored because a lot of things they did for me are really personal and I will like it to stay that way.. sorry guys ..😂I hope my kids would look at me in the future and see a hero.

Thank you for sticking around up to this point you are the real MVP. Thanks again and stay safe.

©2021 jumper

17
$ 7.91
$ 7.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 12
Sponsors of Jumper-01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jumper-01
2 years ago

Comments

As I saw Nelson Mandela, I was already thinkinng about Martin Luther king Jr and surprisingly he was the next person you mentioned, I really love that guy when I read about his achievements.

You did good by also including your parents, you're truly wise. The truth is that they are a lot of heroes, but talking about just a quarter of them might make this your article to be over 2 hours read 😆

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly and I don’t want to bore my readers so picked 1 African 1 American 1 female 1 kid and my parents

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so spot on. Marley once said that the greatness of a man is not determined by the level of wealth he acquires but he touched the people around him positivity. Definitely, there were far more richer men in the times of these great men you mentioned,but apart from their family, no one e remembers their names ... My hero is my older brother just like timo 😀

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow that is so nice you can share your story with me I would love to hear it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm really touched by the Harriet Tubman story, she really saved a lot of lives.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

She is an amazing woman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those listed are great people,our parents top them all and care for us whenever we needed them the most.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think our parents have really tried for us and they are definitely our heroes … we should be hero’s to our kids too😂😂😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah we should be

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm really moved by the Time conboy's, that was awesome

$ 0.01
2 years ago

He is a great boy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This write-up is nothing short of beautiful

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks boss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice read

$ 0.01
2 years ago